Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Actress Regina Chukwu Explains Why She Has Not Remarried After Husband's Death..

Monday, May 05, 2025

Actress Regina Chukwu Explains Why She Has Not Remarried After Husband's Death..

Regina Chukwu had a recent Interview where she was asked why she has not remarried since her husband died and she said
''Well, traditionally, I am still married. After his death, I was given a condition that I could only have my children to myself if I remained married to my husband. That is, if I try to remarry, my children will be taken away from me, which I never wanted, so I had to hold on to the condition.''

Interview Excerpt from Daily Sun

30 comments:

1. Wow! I understand your husband's family reasons but your kids are adult now....I don't think that authority can hold now.
    All the best beautiful mama.

1. Useless tradition. She should go ahead to re-marry. do they want her to engage in prostitution?

2. No, the family had absolutely no reason or excuse for doing that, that's nonsense, no cap!
      Two people made kids, one died, and then you threaten to take the kids away from the one still alive if he/she marries?
      These families dey Sabi who to try their nonsense with.

3. The family never had the right to lay down any conditions.

2. Wow!! That's not a nice condition to be placed in by her in-laws. Very unfair of them.

3. Wow.. very selfish condition

4. That’s a stupid tradition why is an educated woman like her scared of such an archaic tradition. Legally what right do they have to take her kids from her. Unless they are still providing financial support for the kids which would cease if she remarried but no tradition should stop a woman from remarrying she deserves to be happy too.

1. There is a principle in law called repugnancy test. Any custom or culture or tradition that is repugnant to natural justice, equity and good conscience will be struck down. If she had gone to court , the court would not have hesitated in striking down this useless culture.

2. I mean!!! Even if they were still providing for the kids, isn't that a way of indirectly taking care of their son in absentia? It should't stop her from getting married again, so long as the children are being well taken card of by her.

5. What kind of Barbaric Custom or tradition is that?

I hope if the case was reversed, the Man would also not remarry??

Pro LOKE against Feminism, this is the perfect Example.
    Feminism is the advocacy of women right( Gender Equality)

6. This Kind Tradition Na waooo
    Am Sure If the Table Were Turn
    Oga go done Marry Sinceeeee
    May God Help Women o..

7. Wow? What a tradition? 😠😠😠

8. Lagos Mainland Girl5 May 2025 at 13:38

Surprised that still do that in this day and age

9. What kind of wicked tradition is this?

10. Why are these conditions never given to men? Lady, go marry anybody you want, even you must know such conditions are not for any other reason than to enforce patriarchy. Pissed me the hell off!!!

11. One sided tradition. Na only God go safe Africa women's evil tradition.

12. Very stupid and selfish tradition.
    Reggie baby your kids are grown up now and you can marry if you still want to. Nobody will come between you and your children.

13. Traditional that deals only with the women.

14. What kind of traditions is all this for crying out out, but they can allow you to have partner and be fornicating

15. What kind of nonsense condition is that? And to think she also accepted. Were the family responsible for the upkeep of the children?Even if that was the case they are selfish and wicked. If she were to be their daughter will they wish that upon her? I feel sad and annoyed reading such inhumane treatment of widows.

16. The universe always favour MEN.

1. I am sure you have never stepped out of Nigeria before, otherwise this comment is non sequitor

17. All these barbaric traditions used to enslave women...
    But her kids are grown up now.

18. She does not know her right under the law.

19. So what is the meaning of till death do we part? What kind of tradition is this?

I just read something similar on Facebook.