Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Author Chimamanda Talks About Being Criticized For Birthing Children Via Surrogacy

Friday, May 02, 2025

Author Chimamanda Talks About Being Criticized For Birthing Children Via Surrogacy

Author Chimamanda Adiche has talked about handling criticisms from some feminists on her decision to birth twin boys through surrogacy.

While speaking during an interview with media personality, Chude Jideonwo, she stated that she feels there's a societal pressure on women regarding fertility and she wanted to challenge those norms.

In her words;
"So the reason being that they think you cannot rent a woman's body and they argue that its dehumanizing, I think it can be, it matters how it's done, I think it can be done ethically so the same people would say a woman can do whatever she wants with her body so there's a contradiction there.So I think that was what all the noise was about.

My boys are so precious to me, I hated that anything about them would become politicized so on one hand I wished I hadn't said that but on the other hand, there's no way am going to lie and claim that I had babies that I did not birth myself, I just think it's wrong and am hoping that if anything good should come from this, it's that more women less ashamed of talking about reaching motherhood through non traditional means.

I feel that many women who has also had babies born by surrogates should go and hide for nine months or people who adopt babies and go and hide because our society is so judgemental and I don't think that's good for anybody so I think my daughter and my babies are the greatest gifts I've been given so zero regrets"

28 comments:

1. Same society that frowns on women that birth their children through CS, claiming on is 'normal delivery', and the other isn't.

1. That is whybthe opinions of low thinking IQ challenged people don't count

2. Never knew she had her twins through surrogacy.

3. If I have plenty money, I don't mind surrogacy with what I witnessed in the labour room and postpartum.
    Every one should do what works for them.

4. those judging you cannot even put babies in your womb, they don't even know how babies are conceived. Which ever way a person can experience motherhood/fatherhood they should free them please. You don't know what they have been going through before that decision. Please enjoy the birth of your babies and ignore world people.

5. You never born wahala, you born through surrogacy wahala. That's why most people dont talk about this in the open because some Nigerians haven't grown to the extent of accepting ART.

6. I don't understand the noise. Birth your children how you want it Before the noise was about birthing through CS. they have moved now to surrogacy. We would be alright last last.

7. When you put your life out there in public especially in this street of social media where you meet the good,the bad and the ugly. Be ready to for critics and unsolicited advice.

1. You have said it all. If you know you don’t want people to poke nose in your affairs, then take your affairs, however infinitesimal, off the public. Simple.

2. Whay is this saying? Even women not on social media get asked the ridiculous questions about "normal delivery"!

8. Giving birth through Surrogacy is not bad, as far as all due Protocols were followed and the right Agency was used.

It becomes Evil, when it’s done undercover and not through the right Channel.

The right Document should be Signed and the Mother should’ve been counseled before and after giving Birth… I do wonder sometimes how the Mom that carried the baby/babies for9 Months feels about permanently giving out the baby.

There was a Movie that addressed all this, it started Osas, Shaffy Bello.
    It was indeed an Eye-Opener, the Surrogate Mom went to Court over the baby she relinquished, because she saw how cute, healthy the baby was and think she lost her Husband and it triggered her.

It’s a Psychological Induced Movie.

It gave a Deep Perspective about Surrogacy

9. The public or social media should not determine how we live our lives, especially when it has to do with our decisions for growth and positivity.

10. What is God's mind about surrogacy?

Regardless of the fact that it is science, God is Love and He derives joy when He sees us smiles.

A lot of people have done surrogacy and it failed, which some did and it was a success. This affirms that it is still God that made it work.

Amanda, You don't owe anybody any explanation.

1. mary mother of Jesus was a surrogate mother.... Jesus was put in her by the Holy Spirit... surrogacy is not bad at all...

11. Those criticising really need orientation and enlightening.

1. Many Nigerians have average or low IQ, unexposed and very loudly ignorant

2. Many Nigerians have average or low IQ, unexposed and very loudly ignorant

12. You've not given birth, neither have you gotten any woman pregnant, yet you're criticising those who had their babies via surrogacy or ART. Nature will make an example of you.

13. those that criticize you are those from the ancient days who don't believe in change. those who think that things will always be the same. life has evolve. don't mind em

14. Whatever works for any woman. It's not cheap and also comes with psychological issues.

15. It is only in my country you will see people judging you for whatever you decide to do with your own body. If I have money like Amanda I would opt for surrogate mother to carry baby for me.

16. She always talk like she is not aware of the society she lives in and like the things happening to her have not happened before to any other woman. I’m not sure why she is always come off so shocked when other women have come out and stated their own experiences. She gives elitist vibes and I hope that I am wrong.

1. Thank you. Same way I feel about her. She comes off as a perpetual victim. Look at me, I've been wronged, I went through this and that when millions of women go through that every day. It's like she think she is special. We are all unique in our unique way. If she didn't want people to react she should have kept it to herself.

17. Amanda is your life choices so you owe nobody explanation enjoy your twins

18. Majority of the people who criticised her will be women .

19. In life, not everything should be said out easily to a third party. Much more on the wide and wild street of social media.

Now not just us who didn't know about it does but even the innocent boys would one day read about this mess.
    I COVER THEIR SELF ESTEEM WITH THE BLOOD OF JESUS CHRIST.

20. Surrogacy is about taking advantage of poor women, who because of their financial situation accept such.

1. @20:40...You say what??? Low!!