Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Comedian AY Says EFCC Invited Him For Questioning Over Public Spraying Of Money

Wednesday, May 07, 2025

Comedian AY Says EFCC Invited Him For Questioning Over Public Spraying Of Money

He says

''I am grateful to God for His mercy and guidance. On Monday, I was invited by the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) regarding an incident involving the public spraying of both local and foreign currencies—an act that has been classified as an offense related to the abuse of the Naira.

I want to sincerely thank the EFCC and all authorities involved for their understanding and for granting me pardon based on confirmation that the money being sprayed is not linked to the proceeds of crime or any form of illicit funds.

This experience has been a valuable lesson, and I am personally committed to promoting awareness about the proper respect and care for our national currency.
To my friends, family, and the general public:
We all know that spraying money at public events is a practice common in Nigerian celebrations, especially during weddings, funerals, and parties. It is generally considered a cultural tradition rather than a criminal act. But let me attach some slides to this post on the DOS AND DON’T.

It is important to understand that mutilating or abusing the Naira—whether by spraying, tearing, defacing, or mishandling—is not just a cultural practice but also a violation of Nigerian law. Such acts undermine the integrity of our national currency and can have serious legal consequences.

Let us all strive to uphold the dignity of our currency, which is a symbol of our nation’s sovereignty and economic stability. Respect for the Naira is respect for Nigeria’s future.

Together, we can promote responsible behavior and foster a culture of patriotism and integrity.
Thank you.''

24 comments:

1. All these are to create an awareness again about not abusing any form of legal tender.

2. So I guess it means, if you are a celebrity, don’t abuse the Naira, so others can emulate… Good stuff!..

3. Lmao it's giving brand influencer vibes ๐Ÿคฃ ๐Ÿ˜‚
    @ how all of em give a statement after their arrest with decorum .
    Lol

1. You get it! Either EFCC is forcing them to write all these PR statements or they are being contracted like brand influencers.

2. Exactly ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š I hope they compensate them...This is indirect influencing for EFCC

4. Eagle eyes everywhere. Hmmmm...

5. Another post of EFCC invitation for questioning for spraying money is loading.

6. It's like they don't have work again.

7. Omo this thing don tie wrapper ooo.

These celebs are invariably used to create awareness without pay though.
    Goodbye to our long (though not specifically stated) culture.

Just print paper money if you must spray and give equivalent to celebrant/s in an envelope

8. Na wetin dey trend now be this. Issorait!

9. This is the second press release I will be reading online today concerning this efcc thing. First,Iyabo Ojo,now AY. Efcc,abeg face other things

10. The fear of Efcc is the beginning of wisdom

11. Is this a PR tactics to divert the tension on VDM’s arrest by his fans?

1. Exactly, can’t see the reason they decided to start talking now. Something that happened a while ago, they are just waking up.

12. It's safe to say celebs are being made to create this awareness because this can't be a coincidence. Ok o we don hear una.

13. Seems this is the condition been given to them by EFCC

14. Little wonder EFCC is trending. Let me join the PR team; don't devalue our naira....it's our own national treasure. Lol

1. Another lesson here, if EFCC invites you honor the invitation.

15. Pls you guys stop this spraying of money .To avoid Wahala .

16. Nigerians, abeg make una hear word na and respect our naira.
    Anti o chiri แปฅnแปฅ ?

17. Stop devaluation of Naira oooo

18. Stop devaluation of Naira oooo