Hmmmm.....
STAND ALONE NARRATIVE
ADVICE NEEDED
Good day house.
Stella, please post. I will love to hear the opinions of others and also take corrections
I was hired on a 6-month contract and had a seemingly good rapport with my immediate superior. Though my role was to support her, she pushed almost all project work to me. I never complained, even when it became overwhelming.
A few weeks ago, one of our partners requested a document. As usual, she handed the task to me. It was demanding and took days (and nights) to complete. She told me on Monday to finish the work that day and share with the partner who requested for it. On the deadline day, I stayed late to finish and sent it directly to the partner, copying her and others.
The next day, the partner asked for a meeting to understand the document better. I informed my superior, and she told me to schedule the meeting.
Coincidentally, our senior bosses from HQ visited that same day, and it was my first time meeting them. During project discussions, my superior kept deferring questions to me, which made it clear I was handling most of the work. I asked her if she would present the task to the partner and she asked me to present the document to the partner since I worked on it.
So, I did present it. It was lots of data and they set up a projector for me (which we all did not see coming). She thought they would "criticize" the work but they applauded it and told me to do some corrections.
I was able to answer all the questions, including some she couldn’t. Our HQ bosses and some partners were in that meeting.
Later that day, she called and said, “Next time, let me see data before you share it,” even though she had instructed me to send it. Then, she accused me of giving our HQ boss "eye signals" to tarnish her image, which I firmly denied. I still apologized and clarified it was a misunderstanding. She called again to tell me how that same Oga does not like her.
So, during the subsequent presentations, I would do the adjustment on the work, and she would present while I sat at the back. But sometimes, they ask her questions she could not answer that she would still have to call me from that back to rescue her.
Since the first presentation I did, she has been passive-aggressive, making snide remarks like, "Na you be the data madam now," and sarcastically calling me “madam, ma"
Interestingly, she's stopped pushing work to me and now handles more tasks herself. I also noticed she’s had several meetings with HQ since then. And after each meeting, she comes back giving me attitude.
Last week, HQ called me for a bigger role and asked if I could combine it with my current contract. I agreed and told them I would inform my supervisor, which I did.
She said she’d also notify our project leads. But since HQ's visit, her attitude has changed. For example, I keep her informed and follow her go-ahead, yet if things don’t go well, she blames me. This happened again recently, and I had to point out that I had informed her beforehand.
Please, how do I maintain a peaceful working relationship with her until the end of this project?
I paused my career for two years due to childbirth and returned to take a contract role—even though I’m capable of more. I was the best graduating student in my first and second degree but if you see me, you won't know until I deliver and present some tasks. Despite this, I’ve remained humble and only focused on my growth while I put my all, stretched forth and back to the success of this project.
I believe the issue started when HQ saw the extent of my work and likely recommended me, which led to that call from the team.
Today, she asked if they had gotten back to me on the proposed role, and I simply said “No.” My partner asked that hope she has not gone to spoil it and honestly, I won't have issue with that cos all I needed was to jumpstart my career again which I have done.
Although, due to her recent attitude, I’ve decided I won’t update her anymore.
Please house, advice on how to relate cordially with her without dimming my light and capacity.
Thank you.
First Off- stop updating her on your activities!
You will not have peace with her again no matter what you do, so i advice that you ignore her totally and if HQ employs you, ask for another branch from where she is.....Remember that it is what it is....
You sef use cunny sense on this matter .it's very obvious hence her animosity towards you . It'll teach others who use people to do their paid work .
ReplyDeleteThey no dey do humble or good girl in Nigerian corporate world oo. Ehen. Accord her respect and face front. No be she be your God
ReplyDeleteRelate cordially fire. OP, no one reaches the top just by being nice. Sometimes you have to be ruthless in taking advantage of emergent opportunities. Let's face it, she was using you to make herself look competent in your organisation. Instead of her to do everything to make sure you are a solid ally of hers, she is choosing confrontation and jealousy.
ReplyDeleteShe needs you and will keep needing you if she wants to have a long future in your organisation. But the choice is yours. I prefer mafia style approach to office politics since I know the good guy always carries last.
Follow up with HR and see what comes of it. Ignore her needless pettiness
You are right about work place politics. I think everywhere in the world, people are reading the “48 laws of power” by Robert Greene. Hence the game people play at workplaces. It is getting ridiculous to say the least and costing organisations a lot in time and resources.
DeletePoster, I will say, do not play politics with her, your work ethics and your standards are being noticed, bosses are not stupid, they are also playing the game and they know high achievers. If you play workplace game, you have become one of them and there is no end to it.
You don’t need to play politics at work. Be professional, be respectful, be confident and above all be competent and unique. Don’t be a doormat. Always advocate for yourself and stand up for yourself when the need arises. That way, you can get away with not playing the politics to some extent. Moreover, they will soon get use to your strategy and leave you alone.
You did nothing wrong, follow SDK advice and you will be fine
ReplyDeleteBe neutral
DeleteAvoid her
But greet her
Be neutral
DeleteAvoid her
But greet her
Dear Poster,
ReplyDeleteWelcome to the world of office politics and where everyone wants to answer ''Oga'' but they don't want to through the 9 yards....See never you dim your light because you feel it's blinding to others....I must commend you for your professionalism and work ethics; a lot of employees are okay with presenteeism and giving their bare minimum to work....You also did a good work to carry her along...
However I want to ask; did you send an email to her attaching the project informing her that as discussed, you will now forward the projects to her superiors as advised? Always sending emails for even verbal conversations and copy whoever; trust me it is going to save you in the future...
Here are some of the steps I will advice you to do going forward.
1. Document all your achievements, projects in a separate file and keep your cool...Make sure she has no access to them...
2. Don't be fazed by her passive-aggressiveness towards you; she didn't believe you would wow everyone...Continue maintaining your professionalism.
3. She is very much aware of HQ activities; so you have not been communicated officially via memo or email...Let her know that you don't have any updates; you don't have to be brutally honest here....
4. You deserve the promotion because you put in the hard work; don't allow her get in your way & she can't spoil your chances.
5. Be yourself always and keep praying that God gives you wisdom to navigate the murky waters of the corporate world...
6. Allow her take the 'Glory' on some projects and be very tactical here...You can mention some of the inputs that she gave into making the project a success while you are still there.....
Congratulations in advance! I am certain you will be transferred or you may even head a new unit in your organization.....Don't downplay or second guess yourself, you deserve this and success all the way.....
All the best....
The problem is not you, it’s her and there is absolutely no amount of relating you can do to change anything. This is an issue of competence and you are showing her up for lacking competence. This is no fault of your own, she likely got the job through connections and did not take the opportunity to improve her knowledge and capabilities, getting comfortable. Even with placements into positions one is unqualified for, they need to learn the work and learn it well.
ReplyDeleteJust continue to be polite and do your tasks, but do not miss out on any growth opportunities to please her. Your name is being spoken in rooms where you have not entered yet, so shine on.
You're right about stopping the updates. I don't wish for you to take her job,cos she's already threatened. Broaden your work search outside that environment please.
ReplyDeleteOffice politics is real, guide yourself wella
ReplyDeleteWork space
ReplyDeleteDog eat dog
She is not your friend
I repeat she is not your friend
Nobody in your office is
Even the the people that hail you
Duck your head
Do your work
Go home
Don’t go telling anyone the issues you have with her
Don’t go explaining to anyone in your office
I’m glad you got what you set out to achieve
That in itself is a win
Shaaa don’t eat carelesslin the office or leave your office open
Don’t entertain personal questions
Don’t over share or over smile
The heart of man is desperately wicked
God protect you
The angels surround you
The sun shall not smite you by day neither the moon by night
that relationship will never be the same again cos she is already threated with your achievements. She feels you will take her position the reason why she stopped giving you task and do them herself. Just stop updating her with your proposal from HQ till is time to move to HQ, make sure you request for another branch to stay off that your boss.
ReplyDeleteYou are doing well, make sure you do not discuss about her or how she assigned tasks to you constantly or her recent attitide to you in your place of work. You have to watch what you say, your friends and what you tell her. Just stay on your lane till she calls your attention for assistance. Jealousy is a dangerous thing, do not forget your daily prayers.
No matter how you try,she can never like nor applaud you cos she's jealous and afraid HQ might recommend your work and you may suddenly be above her. in cases like this, she may even tell lies about you to your bosses so you may appear unprofessional and unqualified.
ReplyDeleteQuit telling her your plans and pray, though you may be surrounded by frenemies but God have ways of handling situations like this.
HE will turn the tables around and make a public show of them.
When it come to work place wahala, wisdom and tact is required . You need to prioritize your wellbeing and career goals, at the same time you need to maintain a peaceful working relationship with your superior. Focus on your work and set boundaries. Continue to communicate and seek her input when necessary but if her behaviour becomes unprofessional, address it calmly and assertively. And since she has started blaming you when things go wrong, start to document your interactions, keep a record of your conversations, tasks, and decisions to avoid misunderstandings.
ReplyDeleteYou need to prepare for potential outcomes too, which may include the end of your contract or changes in your role. Goodluck.
Always pray asking God to break her wings , that girl is evil and she could harm you out of jealousy. Don't fight her, but learn to stand on your right when necessary, play your part and allow God to do the rest work of taking her out of your way. Say the prayer in your heart every day and anytime you remember how she treats you and one fateful day you would be surprised at how God would handle the issue in the best way you could ever think of. That's how I handle issues and it works so well.
ReplyDeletePoster, whatever you do, make sure that all communications with her are written and not verbal. This type of colleague can implicate you if she gets that chance.
ReplyDelete48 laws of power....never upstage your master openly. In this case, you will need a high level of emotional intelligence and strategic thinking. Do you work professionally and avoid anything that will lead to blame or confrontation. Also find a way to get posted to a new team/supervisor or an independent role. Know this and know peace.
ReplyDeleteThe Don.
See better chronicle now only 18 people commented. If it was about illicit sex or bad marriage una aproko for reach 100. This goes to show the quality of discussion the average Nigerian brain can contribute meaningfully to.
ReplyDelete@Anonymous 13:11.
DeleteHow do you expect people with zero professional experience to contribute to discussions bordering on office-work politics?
The chonicle and blog visitors comments are enlightening.
Some people here are self employed with zero office work experience. (Solopreneur), so it is better people keep quiet on matters outside their dday-to- experience.
Edit: day-to-day