The governor, speaking at a defection rally held in Uromi, headquarters of Esan North-East Local Government Area, on Friday, told the former Anambra governor not to visit the state without informing him, warning that he (Obi) should take whatever happens to him in the state without his clearance.
Governor Okpebholo’s warning sparked reaction from Nigerians, especially Peter Obi’s OBIdient support base, condemning the governor for allegedly declaring as ‘persona non grata’ in Edo. Also, notable politicians like former Vice President Atiku Abubakar and the Labour Party frowned at the statement from the governor.
But Okpebholo, at an event attended by FCT Minister Nyesom Wike on Tuesday, said he has no regret for what he said to Obi, adding that he has the responsibility of protecting the lives of both Edo citizens and visitors.
"I’m not going to talk much. Even when I said I don’t talk, just one word, one sentence; everybody was crying. I simply said, it was advice ‘don’t come to Edo without telling me.’ Was I chewing hot yam? Do I need one plus 3 to make my sentence? Do I need to read an Encyclopedia for people to understand what I am saying?
My job is not only to work for Edo people. My job is to save the lives of Edo citizens and visitors coming into Edo. If telling him to notify as the Chief Security Officer of this state is a crime, so be it. I have no regret about it. I repeat it: ‘Before you come into Edo state, notify me.’ It’s not a threat,” the governor said.
Tribune online
Governor Okpebholo’s warning sparked reaction from Nigerians, especially Peter Obi’s OBIdient support base, condemning the governor for allegedly declaring as ‘persona non grata’ in Edo. Also, notable politicians like former Vice President Atiku Abubakar and the Labour Party frowned at the statement from the governor.
But Okpebholo, at an event attended by FCT Minister Nyesom Wike on Tuesday, said he has no regret for what he said to Obi, adding that he has the responsibility of protecting the lives of both Edo citizens and visitors.
"I’m not going to talk much. Even when I said I don’t talk, just one word, one sentence; everybody was crying. I simply said, it was advice ‘don’t come to Edo without telling me.’ Was I chewing hot yam? Do I need one plus 3 to make my sentence? Do I need to read an Encyclopedia for people to understand what I am saying?
My job is not only to work for Edo people. My job is to save the lives of Edo citizens and visitors coming into Edo. If telling him to notify as the Chief Security Officer of this state is a crime, so be it. I have no regret about it. I repeat it: ‘Before you come into Edo state, notify me.’ It’s not a threat,” the governor said.
Tribune online
Mtcheeewwww
ReplyDeleteThis new "cherrif" sef
Is this the same D7 governor?
ReplyDeleteThat couldn't pronounce N1.5m.
DeleteNa im
What will happen to him that won't come from you and your thugs? What would happen to him that didn't happen all through the months he campaigned touring different states in the last election?
ReplyDeleteThese are the kind of people we have as leaders in the Nigerian state.
Arrogant governor Goan sit one place
ReplyDeleteIt is not your fault mr governor. Which Lives are you protecting?
ReplyDeleteLittle opportunity don make you dey act like lion. You wey them dey package.
Indeed, safe the life of the person you hate. Olodo waec
ReplyDeleteThe love for Peter Obi is giving these incompetent rogues high blood pressure. This is just the beginning. No peace for the wicked.