Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Banks To Flag Transactions Above ₦5m Monthly Under New Tax Law

Wednesday, July 09, 2025

Nigerian Banks To Flag Transactions Above ₦5m Monthly Under New Tax Law

From Thursday January 1, 2026, Nigerian banks will be required to report all customer accounts with monthly transactions exceeding ₦5 million to the Federal Inland Revenue Service (FIRS) and other tax authorities.

Any account with ₦5 million or more in total inflows or outflows per month will be flagged and the Banks must submit monthly reports of such transactions.
This requirement is part of Section 30 of the 2025 Tax Reform Act, aimed at boosting transparency and tax compliance.

12 comments:

1. Which kind wahala be this?

2. Tinubu won use tax kee everybody..
    That's the only thing that comes into him and his other dullards heads when he thinks of generating income..
    All the monies we no see anything them take am do..

Make Una no worry sha

3. What does this mean ?

4. What does this mean ?

5. And there’s me that people are always keeping their money with me 😭

6. Seems I’ll join winners and redeemed pastors and create a tax haven in Panama

7. People will start keeping money at home. Hope they'll do same to thiefing politicians.

8. @Fair Lady:

Cashless regime is the next move.

9. It happens in most sane countries in the world. In the US, if you buy something for more than 10k whether you pay with cash or card they flag the IRS. It doesn’t mean they will come after you, it just means they have a record so that when you file taxes and lie your yansh is there for them to open