Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Drama King Teejay's CORNER

Saturday, August 23, 2025

Drama King Teejay's CORNER

It's very annoying when you see grown up persons say things provoking and irritating at the same time. Sometimes you really wanna give them a knock on the head to register your displeasure and how unpleasant their statements are to the hearing.

Few weeks ago, I was seated in an environment where I was charging my phone waiting for someone I had gone to see. Some group of young men where all seated and discussing when a young man among them changed the discussion to women. 

In a bid to prove his masculinity, he went on to say how he's treating the lady currently dating him. He said so many things ranging from how he gives her little money to prepare a meal and how he intentionally refused buying her an android phone but torchlight phone even when he has the money for it. This lady lives with him and goes to work every morning most times trekking some distance. He justified not giving her transport to work or spending much on her with the reason that, he's trying to see her reaction(s) if she's a wife material or not.

That statement irked me to the point I didn't know when I involved myself in the discussion. I interrupted and questioned him. I asked him, is relationship meant to be a punishment, slavery or a thing of joy? He didn't answer but went on to spew further trash. I asked again, if you can do better in a relationship and you intentionally chose to treat a partner this way, to you isn't that wickedness?

He argued saying it's not wickedness but to know if she's a woman to be married. Then I asked the one that hit home. Would you be happy if your sister is treated same way like you're treating your woman? I saw the displeasure in his face and the confirmation in his words that I shouldn't ask him that kind of question.

I left him with these words and if ever he has a conscience, he will think over it by the time he got home that day. I told him, ''You're not a good person. Intentionally gaslighting your woman to see her reactions as to throw her away after months or even years of knacking her, is damn manipulation. A woman you kept at home enjoying 'wife duties' yet you treat her this way just to see if she's marriageable, Oga you're wicked.'' When I said that, two other guys agreed and supported me. I left them and stood away from them pretending I was busy on my phone.

While standing pressing my phone, I thought he would be quiet and sober, reflecting on what I told him, he went on to prove his kind of person saying, the only woman he had ever spent on very well, her kpekus suffered for it. It was at that point I understand his mentality and he's the kind of person that sees women as piece of shit.

Undoubtedly, there are good women out there with values that colours our world. Taking advantage of a woman's meekness and loyalty to you shouldn't be a thing of pride. One day, someone better will show up and she'll eventually draw a comparison.

10 comments:

1. But you almost tested Glory too, to know if she's a wife material here
    Kikikik

2. If I talk now,the women supporting women group would come for me and wail all over my comment.Make I just zip my basket mouth dey look...

1. Do you really care?

You don't have to let anyone silence you here. Beside, we all mustn't align on opinions here. That's the beauty of commenting.

3. I don't want any man to take me for granted. That is why I'm taking my time to even start a relationship.
    Ya Allah all I asked for, is a stress free man.

1. From your mouth to God's ears. Your prayers will be met and surpassed dear.

2. Sex before marriage is a big no! That's why I am working hard and smart to make my own money

4. I don't totally blame the man, I blame the women who allow him treat them like trash because they want to prove they're wife materials.Yeye man like him.

5. She’s working so what stops her from buying her own android? Why does she need to cook for him consistently with the little money he gives her. She enabled and she’s happy staying there therefore I cannot advocate for her

6. My understanding of the way emotional affiliations work is based on the principle of reciprocity in love and relationships, which is simple but often ignored: give what you want to receive. It’s about reflection - your partner should be able to see in you the same qualities and values you demand from them.

If you desire kindness, you must show kindness. If you long for respect, you must first respect. Reciprocity is the rhythm that keeps a relationship from limping. Without it, one person bleeds while the other feeds.

Now, looking at the encounter Teejay shared, the young man in question like many of his kind embodies the very opposite of reciprocity. He wants loyalty, devotion, “wife material” behaviour from his cohabiting girlfriend, yet offers her humiliation, deprivation, and manipulation. Would that be love or a power game?

And when you strip love of reciprocity, what’s left is dominance and endurance, not a symbiotic ship. He does not reflect the qualities he expects. Instead, he mirrors suspicion and cruelty, then tests her to see if she can survive it. This is the root of so many failed relationships today, by extension marriage: people asking for gold while offering dust.

Let me further sharpen my point: our greatest flaw is not just failing to reflect what we want, but enjoying the imbalance when it favours us, until it’s turned back on us - the deeper problem is not just a lack of reflection but also entitlement.

Many know they are not giving what they ask for, yet feel entitled to receive it because of cultural conditioning, gendered privilege, or sheer selfishness. Reflection requires humility; entitlement requires nothing but greed.

So yes, reciprocity is the missing bone. But both genders cry of being used, yet many themselves weaponise affection to extract, control, or measure worth.

Relationships thrive where two people are mirrors to each other, not where one is a mask and the other a mirror. Where there is no reciprocity, there is only exploitation veiled as love.

And out of desperation or persistent pressure, more women endure conditional love - even when they know its optics are bad for their self-worth.