The magic of cinema took center stage as the Nollywood Film Festival Germany (NFFG) and the Nollywood Europe Golden Awards (NEGA) concluded in grand style after two days of unforgettable storytelling, creativity, and cultural celebration.
The opening ceremony, held on August 8 at the prestigious Deutsches Filmmuseum, set an inspiring tone with the world premiere of the highly anticipated film “KARMA”, produced by Cultural Ambassador and festival curator Isaac Izoya and directed by Dr. Henry Obidi.from Left: Ambassador CG Dr. Yakubu Dadu PhD, Prof. Ptephania A.A Alofuokhai-Ghogomu JP, Charles Inojie, Elder Ajibola Antonio and Event Curator Isaac Izoya Cultural Ambassador _ Presenting NEGA award to Charles Inojie
The event drew an eclectic audience of filmmakers, actors, producers, critics, dignitaries, and film enthusiasts. The red carpet sparkled with eminent personalities, including Ambassador CG Dr. Yakubu Dadu of the Nigerian Consulate General, who led the diplomatic delegation; Dorothee Wenner, Berlinale and Box Office Around The World board member and Head of AAMA; Svetlana Svyatskaya, Head of Film, Visual Media, and Digitization at Frankfurt’s Kulturamt; Benjamin James, former Assistant Coach of the Nigerian Super Eagles; and Dr. Okoro Akinyemi, Head of International Advocacy for Human Rights and Anti-Corruption and President of Africans in Diaspora UK among many others.
“KARMA” – A Moving Story of Justice and Redemption
Directed by Dr. Obidi, KARMA captivated the audience with its gripping narrative, powerful performances, and stunning cinematography. The film explores themes of love, deception, justice, and redemption, set against the struggles of undocumented immigrants.
The impressive cast brought together Nollywood and German talents, including Alex Usifo, Ngozi Ezeonu, Sarian Martin Oruene, Isaac Izoya, Marie Cloos, Sophie Stelker, Chioma Akuezue, Melisa Ngongang, and Festus Ekhator. Following the screening, the cast and crew received a standing ovation.
Festival director Isaac Izoya emphasized the mission of the festival in his remarks:
“This festival is a celebration of the power of film to unite, inspire, and challenge perspectives. Karma embodies the depth and diversity of modern cinema, and we are proud that our festival has become a gateway for Africans who now look forward to Frankfurt as an annual cultural holiday destination. We remain committed to promoting intercultural integration in Frankfurt and beyond.”
The evening also featured the screening of The Masked King, produced by Francis Ohazulike and Joshua Cassidy, and directed by Patrick Uduak-Obong. The film, filled with suspense and dramatic tension, thrilled the audience and drew excited reactions throughout the screening.
Ambassador CG Dr. Yakubu Dadu praised the festival’s opening:
“There is no better way to kick-start a festival than what we witnessed today. I am proud of Ehizoya Golden Entertainment e.V. for projecting Nigeria’s image positively to the world.”
Day Two: NEGA Gala Night – Glamour, Music, and Celebration
On August 9, 2025, the spotlight shifted to the Nollywood Europe Golden Awards (NEGA) Gala Night, hosted at the spectacular Goethe University, Frankfurt. The prestigious event celebrated outstanding achievements in Nollywood, honoring trailblazers who have inspired creativity, innovation, and excellence.
The red carpet buzzed with dignitaries and cultural icons, including Ambassador CG Dr. Yakubu Dadu, Ms. Svetlana Svyatskaya, Prof. Ptephania A.A Alofuokhai-Ghogomu (JP), Dr. Moses Ogun (President of NIDO Germany), actress Simba Cassie Kabwita from Lusaka, Dr. Emeka Ani, and London-based Dr. O. Akinyemi, among many others.
Music, Awards & Unforgettable Moments
The evening featured electrifying live performances from Influence Akaba (Nigeria), Stella Pius (UK), Endibanton, Ni-German Queen of Germany and Sister Blessing (Germany) and DJs Stone & DJ Rock, who kept the audience on their feet with vibrant energy.
Award highlights included: Guests enjoyed a seamless blend of heartfelt speeches, award presentations to some of the biggest names in the industry that were transported to the venue with white Limousine namely:
Funke Akindele – “Nollywood Highest Grossing Movie Director”
Charles Inojie – “Nollywood Outstanding Philanthropist“
Rita Edochie – “Nollywood Evergreen Veteran Actor”
In his opening remarks, Ambassador CG Dr. Yakubu Dadu called for a minute of silence in honor of fallen entertainment heroes, before praising Izoya’s cultural contributions:
“Isaac Izoya deserves nothing short of a national honor for promoting Nigeria on the world stage since 2002. We at the mission will continue to support his aspiration to showcase Nigeria’s cultural heritage globally.”
Speaking on behalf of the award recipients, Charles Inojie noted:
“Ehizoya Golden Entertainment has done single-handedly what governments should be doing. Supporting this vision benefits Nigeria, Africa, Germany, and Europe at large.”
The gala closed with an electrifying after-party performance by Influence Akaba, leaving Frankfurt buzzing.
Reflecting on the two-day festival, renowned critic Madam Tina Omoragbon (aka Mama Sharon) praised the event, saying:
“Oga Izoya, this is certainly one of your best events ever. I remember DJ Stone pushing me into an Uber, but don’t ask me how I managed to get to my bed. I enjoyed myself to the fullest and even came home without my shoes. Thanks to your team for putting such a show together.”
Madam Faith Ogoigbe (aka Pocket Lawyer) also shared her excitement:
“After watching Karma at the opening ceremony, I knew you were ready for a great event this year. I even called Dr. Henry Obidi, the director in Nigeria, to thank him for a job well done. As for today’s event—wao! I have no complaints. I had so much fun and I’m already looking forward to next year. May God keep us alive.”
Adding his perspective, Dr. Moses Ogun, President of NIDO Germany, said:
“I truly had fun, and I’m hopeful for a collaboration between NIDO and your organization to take this event to another level next year.”
First-time attendee Dr. Emeka Ani also commended the festival:
“This was my first time at your event. His Excellency invited and encouraged me to attend, and I did not regret a single minute. We must join hands with you to elevate this festival further, because you are doing the work of Nigeria and deserve full support.”
A Legacy of Culture and Excellence
From the moving premiere of KARMA to the glamour of the NEGA Gala, this year’s edition reinforced Frankfurt as a hub for cultural exchange and cinematic excellence.
Festival curator Isaac Izoya concluded with a powerful reminder:
“We dream to change the world through film stories. Though we lack capital for film productions, we will keep pushing with the hope of getting supports from somewhere to actualise our dreams. Our motto remains: The Show Must Go On!”
Good to know
ReplyDeleteNice one 👍