Mothers can really be something right?

Late last week, I realized that I hadn’t checked up on my mom for a number of days. I then called her to hear her voice and to inquire about her general wellbeing.

It was a fairly normal conversation and nothing out of the ordinary. All of a sudden, she paused and her end of the line was silent. Thinking that it was a network glitch, I terminated the call and redialed her number.
After repeated rings, she picked. From her voice, I could sense she was crying. I inquired what the matter was but got no response. After what seemed like an eternity, she let out a wail of sorts, screaming;
“She is dead! She is dead!”
“Mama who died?” I asked. “Who died mama?” still nothing.
Her sobs became more uncontrollable and my mind was beginning to panic. She cut the call and didn’t answer my repeated effort to reach her again. I was in a bind. I placed calls to my siblings and they were all fine. This further compounded my worry. I still tried calling my mom but got no response. My night was a torture and I could not sleep. I managed less than an hour of it. The worry really got to me.
The next morning, I went about my day with the heaviest of spirits. Nothing my wife tried to do could cheer me up. I had a meeting with a client scheduled for 10am but my mind could not focus so I cut the meeting short. Leaving the meeting venue, I mustered courage and called my mom again. This time, she picked. Her voice in a higher spirit than it was the previous night. I listened to her chit-chat patiently and at the end of it, I asked again.
“Mama, who did you say died?”
The question seemed to throw her off for a while before she replied.
“Esther. Esther died.” I tried recalling which of my aunts on both sides of the family was named Esther but I came up short. I then asked her who Esther was. Her reply?
“Oh, Esther is my goat. She has been with me for 6 years.”
I think that’s where I lost it.
“Mama, are you serious? You were crying because of a goat?” I said incredulously. Her reply was even more mind numbing. Apparently, she had formed something of a bond with that goat from what I gathered. I couldn’t believe that this woman put me through all that emotional roller coaster because of a goat. Goat that she should have simply butchered and assigned to its rightful place in the pepper soup pot as soon as it began showing signs of being unwell.
I simply told her that I was going to leave her for God and ended the call. Later in the evening, I shared the whole thing with my siblings and we had a laugh over it. I was later informed that she has a name for practically every animal in the house with her. Even down to the chickens.
“She is dead! She is dead!”
“Mama who died?” I asked. “Who died mama?” still nothing.
Her sobs became more uncontrollable and my mind was beginning to panic. She cut the call and didn’t answer my repeated effort to reach her again. I was in a bind. I placed calls to my siblings and they were all fine. This further compounded my worry. I still tried calling my mom but got no response. My night was a torture and I could not sleep. I managed less than an hour of it. The worry really got to me.
The next morning, I went about my day with the heaviest of spirits. Nothing my wife tried to do could cheer me up. I had a meeting with a client scheduled for 10am but my mind could not focus so I cut the meeting short. Leaving the meeting venue, I mustered courage and called my mom again. This time, she picked. Her voice in a higher spirit than it was the previous night. I listened to her chit-chat patiently and at the end of it, I asked again.
“Mama, who did you say died?”
The question seemed to throw her off for a while before she replied.
“Esther. Esther died.” I tried recalling which of my aunts on both sides of the family was named Esther but I came up short. I then asked her who Esther was. Her reply?
“Oh, Esther is my goat. She has been with me for 6 years.”
I think that’s where I lost it.
“Mama, are you serious? You were crying because of a goat?” I said incredulously. Her reply was even more mind numbing. Apparently, she had formed something of a bond with that goat from what I gathered. I couldn’t believe that this woman put me through all that emotional roller coaster because of a goat. Goat that she should have simply butchered and assigned to its rightful place in the pepper soup pot as soon as it began showing signs of being unwell.
I simply told her that I was going to leave her for God and ended the call. Later in the evening, I shared the whole thing with my siblings and we had a laugh over it. I was later informed that she has a name for practically every animal in the house with her. Even down to the chickens.
I tried keeping up with the names my siblings were mentioning. I do know for sure that when I visit for the Christmas break, I’ll expect to meet Angelina, Chilama and Dickson; two hens and one cock mama has kept around for a while now. I look forward to making their acquaintance.
Which reminds me, we are exactly 105 days to Christmas from today! O! to be a kid again for the magic of it.
Lols ππ you and your Mama no go kill person biko,see the practical suspense π
ReplyDeleteWhen you reach home for Xmas don't forget to greet Angelina and Chilama for me π€£π€£π€£
I am an animal lover. I love this column ππΌ
ReplyDeleteSo funny bro...
ReplyDeleteGood read. Calling our parents is something we shouldn't neglect or take for granted, for we may not have them with us forever. sometimes, I still wanna hear my Dad's call like he would always do at the weekend.
Le salaud Denis Lam est le COO de FRCI
ReplyDeleteBless her heart
ReplyDeleteI have heard of people who form bonds with animals not just dogs and cats.
In secondary school, this girl started crying and wailing cuz she got a call from home that one of their goats died, it was my first time of hearing such, they teased her about it, till she graduated.
My son's God father gave us his dog to make 404 during one of my kid's dedication, it was very old.
People were just rushing the dog meat, I made sure no to eat it
Gifty
Lol π this reminds me of when an uncle named his goats mercy and alex..when alex died he couldn't even bring himself to slaugther or eat it..now mercy gave birth 3weeks ago..he name the kids oscar and leo π€£
ReplyDeleteHahahaha π€£π€£π€£
DeleteWhen our dog died, we buried it, we don't eat dog meat
DeleteAre You Serious π€£π€£π€£
DeleteThis is funny π
DeleteThis was so unexpected π
ReplyDeleteWhen my cute dog Tracy died, I couldn't bring myself to eat anything, it was a very sad period.π, I still think about her sometimes tho.
ReplyDeleteHonestly dog owners can relate, the death of an animal hurts as much as the death of a human
DeleteChaii Sorry
Deleteππππ
ReplyDeleteOur mothers eh, very unique and wonderful ππ
I wore a smile reading this column today.
Keep up the good work sir
White people take days off whenever they loose their dogs.
ReplyDeleteHahaha π
ReplyDeleteThe kids and I always name the chickens . They stay long like a year or two and become our pets and when killed we no dey chop no only oga dey chop am . The last was Prince charming, lived with us for 3yrs. Oga wanted to kill it since we no gree, last month he did when no one was at home. Nobody ate it with him.
ReplyDeleteI cried and grieved for months when my dog died, my precious ekueke, I still miss her till date π’
ReplyDeleteEveryone in my household cried, that was the first time I knew what grieve was
My Mind Just came Down As I Hear Say Nah Animal oo
ReplyDeleteAhhhhhhhh Mama π€£π€£π€£
Blessed are those whose parents are still alive.
ReplyDeleteMother's and their drama, this is too funny to read π€£π€£π€£
ReplyDeleteπππ
ReplyDeleteSee as i dey smile
Well done Dog
Very funny πππ
ReplyDeleteAnything I rear,I don't eat.I either dash out or only Oga go chop am if e don mature.
ReplyDeleteMy caucasian by name Diva died last year after being sick with parvovirus.It broke me,I was attached to the dog,she was extremely loyal to me.Kai it was a very sad time for me,I didn't cry though but I understand being attached to an animal/pet etc.
Thank God she's fine. I like the fact that you reached out to her. We all need to make it a habit to call our parents from time to time.
ReplyDeleteAs for the animal loving aspect, I can't relate. π Na to chop the ones I know how to concern me.