Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Hypocrisy Of Giving The Igbos A Bad Name Over ''Obi Of Lagos'' Controversy

Thursday, September 11, 2025

Hypocrisy Of Giving The Igbos A Bad Name Over ''Obi Of Lagos'' Controversy

The internet has been on fire in recent days over reports that some Igbo community leaders in Lagos are planning to install an “Obi of Lagos.” Many Yoruba voices have called this a provocation, and some have even issued threats of retaliation.

THE HYPOCRISY OF GIVING IGBOS A BAD NAME OVER “OBI OF LAGOS” CONTROVERSY – FACT: Oba Yoruba in Enugu Exists — So Why Not Obi of Lagos?

The internet has been on fire in recent days over reports that some Igbo community leaders in Lagos are planning to install an “Obi of Lagos.” Many Yoruba voices have called this a provocation, and some have even issued threats of retaliation.

But let us pause for a moment and look at ourselves honestly.

Is it really strange for an ethnic community outside its homeland to crown a cultural leader who represents its interests? Or is this something the Yoruba people themselves have been doing for decades in Hausa, Igbo, and even northern minority territories across Nigeria?

The truth is that Yoruba communities across Nigeria routinely install their own traditional heads, often called Oba Yoruba of [City] or Sarkin Yorubawa. These Obas represent the Yoruba community, settle disputes, and serve as cultural custodians — not sovereign rulers over indigenous people.

Let me give just a few examples of Yoruba Obas outside Yorubaland who are currently sitting on their thrones today:

• Oba Yoruba of Kano – HRM Dr. Murtala Alimi Otisese (Vice Chairman, Council of Yoruba Obas in Northern Nigeria)

• Oba of Yoruba in Enugu – Alhaji Abdulazeez Adebayo (installed August 2024)

• Oba of Yoruba in Awka, Anambra – Alhaji Abdul Olahan “Ezechinedu” (third Oba of Awka, coronated Nov 2022)

• Oba Yoruba of Sokoto – Alhaji Abdulfatai Olayiwola Coker

• Oba Yoruba of Zaria (Kaduna State) – Barr. Ishaq Bello

• Oba Yoruba of Funtua (Katsina State) – Alhaji Murtala Sani Adeleke (Chairman, Yoruba Obas Council, 19 Northern States + FCT)

• Oba of Yoruba in Abuja (FCT) – Oba Dr. Olusegun Salau (Chairman, Yoruba Traditional Council, FCT)

All these Yoruba Obas are fully recognized by their host states and their indigenous rulers. The Hausa have lived peacefully with them. The Igbo have lived peacefully with them. And life has gone on.

So why then do we suddenly cry betrayal and provocation when Igbos in Lagos — who have lived, traded, and paid taxes in Lagos for generations — decide to crown an “Obi of Lagos” as a cultural symbol of their community?

We cannot have it both ways. If it is legitimate for Yorubas in Kano, Enugu, Sokoto, Awka, Abuja, Funtua, and Zaria to have their own “Obas of Yoruba,” then it cannot be illegitimate for Igbos in Lagos to have their own “Obi of Lagos.”

The point is simple:
• These titles are symbolic, cultural, and community-based.

• They do not usurp the authority of the traditional ruler of the host land (whether Emir, Obi, or Oba).

• They serve to unify migrant communities, not divide Nigeria.

Let us be honest with ourselves: Lagos is cosmopolitan. It belongs to Yorubas historically, but it is also home to millions of Igbos, Hausas, and others who have built their lives here. Denying them the same cultural expression we enjoy elsewhere is pure hypocrisy.

Instead of fanning ethnic hostility, we should embrace this as part of our Nigerian reality: every group seeks cultural identity wherever they live.

So, before we call Igbos enemies for crowning an “Obi of Lagos,” let us remember the long list of Yoruba Obas we already have across Igbo and Hausa cities.

Peace begins with consistency. Justice begins with honesty.

Written by Dr. Ope Banwo

17 comments:

1. Is this even supposed to bother anyone? Why are we worried about irrelevant things when we have pressing issues

1. Please help us address the pressing issues

2. Have Yoruba's ever installed a Yoruba Oba in igbo land? and if they decide to do so how will igbos feel about it.

1. You seem very dull .
      Oba of Yoruba in Enugu, Oba of Yoruba in Awka is a joke to you. In as much as this is a super irrelevant issue, you need to log off the internet and read. Imagine rushing to comment without reading what Stella posted.

2. Read what you wrote, slowly. Oba of Yoruba in Enugu, NOT Oba of Enugu. There is a huge difference. The greed and envy for the SW of SE knows no bounds.

3. Exact same thing they are doing in Ghana and the Ghanaians asking them to leave Ghana

1. Una mates for Nepal dey busy dey protest against bad governance, una dey here dey mumu una selves

2. Fan please lead the protest

3. I should lead the protest while you scatter it with your tribal war. Onye isi nmebi

4. The last actual opportunity at a revolution in Nigeria in 1966 was betrayed by some Igbos who after they all agreed to kill corrupt leaders only killed the non Igbo leaders, conveniently leaving Zik, Opara, etc while they killed Ahmadu Bello, Balewa, Akintola etc. SE are the real betrayers. Yorubas and the SS have been fighting for civil rights in Nigeria under every regime.

4. APC never overcome that landmark defeat for Lagos gubernatorial election . Elupee beat them hands down reach bourdillon daz y dem dey vex.

1. Bragging is the trait Igbos are well known for. LP’s win in Lagos defeats your gaslighting accusation of tribalism against Yorubas. You have “perfect saint Obi” 98% in all SE, we did not. We gave both PO and Atiku Lagos and Osun. Who is the tribalist? Gaslighting and propaganda don’t work again. Yorubas are awake.

5. I don't think any Yoruba with any sense of propriety and sincerity should oppose crowning a traditional leader for the Igbos in Lagos. However, I notice the titles for Oba's outside Yoruba land is "Oba of Yoruba in Awka, Anambra", Oba Yoruba of Funtua, etc. It sort of clarifies the position and doesn't leave room for threat of the Yoruba's usurping the traditional Obi or Emir (Seriki) of the land. Maybe the Igbos can consider wording their title like that too? "Obi Igbo of Lagos", "Obi of Igbo in Lagos"
    Obi of Lagos sounds as though it's at par with Oba of Lagos, no?

Anyway, kowa de nasa. To each his own. Far as I'm concerned, these fights are unnecessary, but what do I know?

1. Don’t mind them. The whataboutism reeks of envy and they constantly gaslight Yorubas while the Igbos are the most clannish, the most tribalistic ethnic group in the whole on Nigeria!

They constantly call Yorubas betrayers; you can only betray someone who is your friend and the only documented history of betrayer is that of late Victor Banjo who his friend Ojukwu betrayed and killed, and Brigadier Ademoyega who joined his Igbo friends naively thinking they were fixing Nigeria only for them to cleverly exclude the SE leaders in their murderous adventure in 1966.

The ethnic agenda is so horrible they fought Nigeria for a Biafra that was 50% NOT their land, cleverly avoiding Igbo nation but always shouting Biafra to take land belonging to Kalabaris, Ibibio, Ijaw, Efik.

The Ahmadu Bello tape of 1960 captures who they are as a people. From Ghana to SA to Lagos they have no self awareness and always gaslight other people with “developer” false narrative after failing to develop their own area!

Why the obsession with titles if not low self esteem? There are audio tapes circulating where they called Yorubas lazy, adulterers etc as if those things are absent among the lazy importers! Importation is a lazy approach to setting up a business and the hardest working, richest business men are not traders but those who founded institutional businesses from Nigeria’s Dangote, Rabiu, Adenuga, Ogunlesi to Zuckerberg, Elon Musk etc.

Check the list, Igbos never build real corporate businesses, they thrive in dysfunction and chaos and hate regulations and laws. That is the only way they get rich. In chaos.

2. Rhodes, you are RIGHT!

6. Go and read Nigerian newspapers from the 50s you will realize they have been envious of Yoruba proximity to the Atlantic and trying to corner Lagos for a long time! Zik actually wanted to be premier of the Western region and govern from Ibadan in the 60s and was upset like an entitled bigot when he was stopped from colonizing Yoruba land. They are greedy and bigoted by nature. Yorubas don’t mind an Obong of Lagos or Sarkin Hausawa of Lagos etc. Those ones are not territorial but SE is greedy and not content with their homeland because it’s very small and love claiming what belongs to others. In 30 years time if he is allowed, they will twist the history of Lagos and claim equality with the Oba of Lagos. The pepper they showed the SS minorities is there.

7. People are just fanning tribal hatred. The Igbo tribe is too passionate about their root to want to drag land with the Yorubas. The can reside anywhere but they know where their home is. Igbos are not like Fulani Nomads who establish home wherever they get access.