Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Govt Unveils New Sch Curriculum With Focus On Digital Skills, AI, Entrepreneurship

Friday, September 05, 2025

Nigerian Govt Unveils New Sch Curriculum With Focus On Digital Skills, AI, Entrepreneurship

Nigerian government has released a detailed breakdown of the newly introduced National school curriculum a with a strong emphasis on digital learning, innovation, and entrepreneurship.

‎Presidential aide on social media, Dada Olusegun, shared the full subject list for Junior Secondary School (JSS) and Senior Secondary School (SSS) on Wednesday via his X handle.

‎He confirmed that the curriculum, launched on Sunday, August 31,2025, will take effect from September 2025.

‎At the JSS level, compulsory subjects will include Digital Literacy and Coding alongside Mathematics, English, Integrated Science, Social Studies, Languages, Creative Arts, and Physical and Health Education.

‎For SSS, the curriculum expands to include Programming, Artificial Intelligence, Cybersecurity, Foreign Languages, Environmental Science, and Digital Entrepreneurship, in addition to advanced Mathematics, Sciences, Social Sciences, Arts, and Research/Project Work.

‎According to the government, the reform aims to equip Nigerian students with 21st-century skills and prepare them for the demands of a competitive global economy.

‎The Nation

19 comments:

1. Nice on the face of it. But where do you get the teachers? There are not enough people with basic and competent programming skills who will even consider teaching in secondary schools.

So we are back to square one.

1. You are asking of teachers, you’ve not asked for the computers for the practicals. If you see computer lab, na private school. How many govt schools have computer lab with functional computers? I believe teachers aren’t the problem, the system churns out computer science and computer engineering graduates every year, and not all of them get white collar jobs.

2. So you think ? @Dogedity

Anon 12:00 when last did you visit a govt sch ?

3. Teacher, may be you are talking of lagos. I am a Kano indegene, go to instagram and look up pictures that were posted about Day Science secondary school, then the ones posted about Birnin Kudu secondary school. Then come back and still ask me when last i visited govt sch. BTW my sister is a teacher in a govt school, those kids don’t even have chairs. They sit on the floor and it is 2 classes sharing only one classroom. They share the board too. So i know what i’m telling you.

4. Sigh !!!
      14:06 you want that school seen and immediate transformation take over. Let someone or staff do a docu video and post on the internet. Make it go viral. The govt. Will wake up to it's responsibility. Haba mana ?
      Just a suggestion 🥺

5. No, i am not talking of immediate transformation, what i and other commenters said is that, we hope the govt schools will be equipped with functional computer labs. The govt should not just dish out policies, they should first put measures of compliance in place. The money is there, they should equip the schools first. But you tried to discredit my stand by asking when last i visited a govt school, as if it is not something that is in the open for everyone to see. MOST GOVERNMENT SCHOOLS DO NOT HAVE WELL EQUIPPED FULLY FUNCTIONAL COMPUTER LABS!!.

2. Long over due, but thank God it's finally being implemented pheww !!!
    Time to equip students with the needed skill and tools with whats obtainable outside .
    This is a Welcome development 👍🏻

3. This is excellent.they should look into university too.

4. Hope government will provide and equip computer labs for government schools.

5. This is a good development.

6. This is nice. As a teacher, l need an upgrade too.

7. CEO Empress

This is Commendable

CEO Empress

8. They finally listened. Dr Olumide has been hammering on this for a long time. He even did a series Redefining education. Pt 1-3.

9. Beautiful initiative but they should start by equipping schools especially public schools with the necessary equipment for this, most of them don't have computer labs.

10. Even the computer science they teach is half bake