Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Reality TV Star Sammie Reveals How He Became Broke And Fell Into Depression 1 Year After The Show

Sunday, October 26, 2025

Reality TV Star Sammie Reveals How He Became Broke And Fell Into Depression 1 Year After The Show

BBNaija star Sammie has openly discussed his battle with depression and financial difficulties after leaving the reality show.

In an emotional video posted on Instagram, he revealed that he battled depression several times while trying to adjust to life after the show.
Despite the public perception of success, Sammie said he often cried alone in his Lekki apartment, overwhelmed by the realities of life in Lagos.

“A year after the show, I lost count of how many times I felt depressed. I would sit alone in my house in Lekki and just cry. A grown man like me with beards, crying and asking God why. Some days I’d thank Him, other days I’d just break down.”
“There was barely money coming in, but I still had a life to maintain. It messed with my head,” he said.

Sammie explained that leaving university for the Big Brother Naija show disrupted his plans and left him uncertain about his future.

“I was in Lagos, trying to live up to the ‘star boy’ tag, but there was no real income,” he recalled.

He also described moments when he felt left behind as others around him appeared to be thriving.
“You’d see young guys pulling up in their G-Wagons while I will now chop my indomie, wear my fine shirt nobody will know what I’m going through,” Sammie added.

Dailypost.

14 comments:

1. Eayaa , sorry. I understand you just that most you coming to lagos are not really informed. Lekki is not the only beautiful place in lagos..

1. Wetin you dey do for Lekki? You no see small apartment to start your life in Surulere, Yaba, Ikeja, Ajah, Sangotedo, etc?

2. Sorry bro.
    I think you need to go and complete your university education so that you can have that qualification, then you take it from there.
    It is well with you.

1. Oh so he didnt finish his univ education? Hmmmmm. And I am sure no skills too. You are on a long thing. Be lamenting in your lekki apartment. Very soon you will be in one crime

3. Which season/set was this Sammy on? I can't seem to remember him at all.
    Or did he use another name in the bbn house?

1. Angel's boyfriend during Maria, whitemoney, Pere, I think Liquorose too.

4. I’m sure you thought because you were a bbnaija participant, you were now bigger than looking for a regular 9-5 job. If the fame didn’t work in ur favor, I hope u dusted ur cv and entered the job market!

1. Yes, he thought he was too big for a 9-5. I mean, there are lots of 9-5 jobs everywhere, how lazy of him to not find himself one.

5. House Rent in Lekki No Be Here Nahhh, That One Only Can Make You Frustrated
    Pele ooo ,Make Sure You Go Back And Finish Your University Education

6. This comment has been removed by the author.

7. Hmmm... This hit close to home.
    Truth is, "it is harder to remain successful than to be successful."

There was a point in my life where I could afford anything I want, that went away quickly because I couldn't do s#it to keep it happening, I drank my Garri with honor.

There is no shame in fighting your battles. Thanks for sharing.

8. Those of us who asking Sammy to go finish school, that was d first thing he did & served 2or3years ago. Go to his page & see his Nysc pics.

9. This is why you should just see the show as a place for a vacation for 3 months and go back to doing your thing before the show.