Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Drama King Teejay's CORNER

Saturday, November 22, 2025

Drama King Teejay's CORNER

A man who goes to a negotiation table on an empty stomach, runs the risk of accepting what's not right.

One advice I gave myself was never to be broke to the point of not having what to eat at home. There's something being hungry does to one's life. When one is very hungry, you can never concentrate or think rightly. You'll settle for anything just to feed. A friend once said to me, a man who can't feed himself can't become a millionaire in the sense that he won't have the right frame of mind to operate or think business properly.

Whenever I notice I'm running out of foodstuff at home and there's fund, I quickly restock so my kitchen won't be empty. I love cooking and eating at home, it saves money and my health from food poisoning. Last week, I did some foodstuff purchases that will see me up to January next year. Even if I don't have money on me, I'm certain I won't go hungry. Comfortably, I will cook and eat, then go out and hustle for money on a filled belly.

If you can conquer hunger and can comfortably feed, best believe there are things you won't tolerate or condone from people and family even if you don't have money yet. I remember doing jobs way lesser than what I would ordinarily have accepted just to feed. Ever since I understand the importance of buying foodstuff in bulks, I no longer settle for less when it comes to negotiations I'm not comfortable with.

You don't need to break a bank in foodstuff bulk buying. Let's say you have 250,000, 150,000 or even less whether single or married with children. Don't just buy food ingredients only when you're about to cook. You'll spend more by doing that. With the amount I mentioned above as a family or individual who don't live extravagantly, you will make good use of it at the kitchen.

With the recent drop of food prices, you can get a bag of rice at maximum sixty thousand naira which will last you up to three months depending on usage. You do so on beans maybe four to five painters. Get some tubers of yam, potatoes, two painter of crayfish, a basin of garri, half basket of Onions, pepper and tomatoes. Grind and store perishable items very well. Get some dried fish, stock fish cut in bits to be used one or two at a cooking.

Not done yet, get a painter or two of custard or maize and prepare it for pap usage. Add beverages and noodles to the list. When buying all these, make sure you go to bigger markets or preferable to those trailer parks where food are brought in large quantities from the farm and sold to retailers. You'll get it at a good price compared to buying at the streets or smaller markets.

If I had included the prices of each purchase, you'll see and agree with me they're not more than the 250,000 I had mentioned above. Even when managed very well, 150,000 can also get you along as a single person.

The good thing is that, in the next couple of months, you'll be able to save more money from salaries or business profit knowing you aren't spending heavily on foodstuff, maybe just on protein and vegetables.

1 comment:

1. Teejay, with all this knowledge wey you get, you go gree marry so? Which one come be painter again? Me wey don marry sef I no know wetin be dat.

I consider being broke an affliction of sorts really. I stop having appetite for anything. Food or mekwe inclusive.