/* Fatchilli Ad Code Start*/ /* Fatchilli Ad Code End */ Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: DOGS Corner

Sunday, February 22, 2026

DOGS Corner

One of the best realizations a man or woman can come to in life is the early realization that some people we keep around us are only around because of what they stand to gain or benefit. 

Sometimes a person doesn’t love you or treasure your association for real. They just know you are a good person so they keep you around.

As much as I don’t do New Year resolutions, mirroring back the same energy, intent, interest and affection anyone shows me, remains my goal this year. I am tired of feeling used, I am tired of being there and having no one be there for me. No na! I no be Jesus apprentice.

Most times, I feel bad for not picking up the phone to call up and check on people. But then I realize, the phone works both ways! They ain’t checking up on me either. I was the one who placed the last call across. Because that’s who I am. I care, I value association and relationships not because I stand to gain anything but because I believe basic human decency demands that.

Remove the benefits and see who stays!

I did that for a while now and I noticed my circle has gotten smaller and extremely so. Am I bothered? Heck no!

Before the economy took a hit, these were guys always looking for a handout and foolishly, I was always obliging them. Not because I had too much but because I believed what are friends for if not to inconvenience each other? Somehow though, na me everybody dey inconvenience, me I no fit inconvenience anyone.

So I find myself mostly holding an empty bag. I have a need and everyone comes up with an excuse. Something I never gave them. 

Mutually beneficial relationships is the goal. I remain a good person, that will never change. But if you no look for me, I no go look for you. If you no spend on me, I no go spend on you, if you no call me, I no go call you.

I will show intent and active pursuit initially and you better return same, else to the curb you go. Even Baba God wey dey heaven send us Him pikin to come die, if we no follow am back and dey loyal, Him arrange better hellfire keep. 

Me, I no get hellfire but I get distance and boundaries.

Enough with the monologuing sha.
If you have anyone that has been there for you at anytime, anyone that has gone through hoops and difficulties to be there for you, anyone that has made one or two sacrifices for you, anyone that has shown you genuine intent, mirror the same back. Don’t assume they know you have good thoughts towards them. Back up that good thought with action. 

Don’t remain a sponge or a basket that absorbs and returns nothing. No one should keep bearing the weight of a relationship or friendship alone. A good turn, a good deed, deserves another but where that is not momentarily possible, genuine acts that show affirmation or value, make the difference.

WOW.....Reading this changed something in me, Thank you!!!

22 comments:

1. I look forward to your column Dog

I have given a some people long legs. I am introvert, so cutting people off is easy peasy, I go just dey my dey, make them dey their dey

2. Great peice bro,

May I also add this, though not on the exact point you've made.

One thing I have learnt in life is that, people change and when they do, I don't just condemn or forget about the good times and memory about them. I still remember there were times they were once good to me.

Whatever did happen to them and their later action(s) won't change the fact they were once good to me.

©️ TEEJAY

3. Beautifully written i enjoyed reading this piece and you're right.
    It is so relatable and I've made some decisions concerning this.

4. You just mirrored my current situation for some time now. Everybody just dey your dey. No time for fair weather friends
    Thank you doggy for these wonderful piece.

5. I like this piece. Not everyone has the spirit of reciprocity.

6. This is a really beautiful writeup. Kudos👍

7. Well said. Don't only be at the receiving end, always give back. Support who support you and dey for who dey for you.
    I've lost many friends cos of this. I will always be checking on them but they can't return the favour.

8. That’s me💯…story for another day..life happened to me and through that I was able to know my genuine friends…it is well✌️

9. Thank you Dog. I have a friend like, always there and vice versa. He is the kindest person I've come to know in my life

10. People attach differently. When you want to revenge all your good, you may be fencing people who didn't ask you for anything, didn't call but will come through if asked instead of assumed.

Introverts, people in a loop, who have to keep their heads down for now, and other such as them don't find this keeping in touch easy but they care.

Don't make a cult object of yourself. Even those who you helped before may genuinely not have at the time you are looking to cash your rewards.

11. This is what have been doing for a while now. Honestly, I feel good. Pararararan!

12. Thank you Dog. Just the right kicks that I needed.

13. This is a good read.

I love to give people some grace but when there seems not to be some adjustments after some time, the energy and investments in the relationship will have to be mutual and not one sided.

14. I wish there's a like button so I can like your posts before reading them.Great piece.Well done