Men will always be men I said to myself.
One Sunday morning I was cleaning my environment when this widow came. Unfortunately, my neighbour wasn't around. She dropped a message to me for him that the next time she'll come, she will get him arrested. I asked what happened? She narrated how he came to her shop and bought goods worth thousands of naira over three months and yet to pay. He kept on dribbling her. I assured her I'll talk to him and make sure he settle her.
She left.
When my neighbour came back, I informed him about the woman's visit and what she had said. He laughed and said I shouldn't mind her. Her annoyance was as a result of the cancelled marriage agreement.
I told him not to say such. Business is business, he should look for a way to settle her whether marriage or no marriage. He promised to do so which he never did but secretly parked out one night even before his rent expired. I later found out people he was owing at the neighbourhood were much hence the reason he parked out at night like a thief.
One morning I was traveling for a job, I was stopped on the way by this woman complaining she's yet to get her money from him. I took her number with a promise I will call her within the week and If by then he hasn't paid her, I'll give her the money.
I said so for I believe by then I would have received payment for my job. My neighbour intentionally don't wanna pay her. She also knew he's dating another woman and they are planning marriage already.
The woman cried that morning to me saying she is very sick and needed money to go to the hospital for treatment. Immediately, I called my neighbour and as usual, he promised to pay her that very weekend.
At the weekend when I called her, the line was switched off and remained so for days. I stopped calling. I called my neighbour and enquired if he had done the needful. He flared up saying I shouldn't disturb him and ended the call.
At the expiration of my job I came back and met this woman's shop locked. The number was still switched off.
Last month I was scrolling my phone and came across her number and decided to try it again. It rang and a young male voice was heard at the other end. When I requested to speak with the woman that has the line, I got the most shocking news of her demise.
I felt so weak.
The young man who had spoken to me is her son. I asked how and when. He told me she was sick. That same sickness she complained about eventually took her life. When I dropped the call, I called that neighbour of mine and asked if he's aware that woman is late? He said yes someone told him.
I asked if he eventually gave her the money? He said yes. I wouldn't know. Only God knows the truth. I really felt it hearing about her demise. I didn't get to see her again. I wish I had the money at the time and helped out.
Life so unpredictable...
Sometimes I don't understand how someone will conveniently owe a person that trusted them in times of need and helped out. Even when you have the money to pay back, you chose not to. Yet you expect nature to be kind to you. The universe is a great rewarder. Everyone will eventually reap what they have sowed in this life.
Life so unpredictable...
Sometimes I don't understand how someone will conveniently owe a person that trusted them in times of need and helped out. Even when you have the money to pay back, you chose not to. Yet you expect nature to be kind to you. The universe is a great rewarder. Everyone will eventually reap what they have sowed in this life.

Chai! May her soul find rest. I don't believe the guy paid her before her demise, he personally would have called you to tell you. Definitely, everyone will reap whatever they sow.
ReplyDeleteMay her soul rest in peace
ReplyDeleteI just feel for her and her little kids.
ReplyDeleteAnother set orphans made in this harsh world and harder country with a very harsh economy.
ReplyDeleteThe world is cruel to orphans whose parents were rich before demise not to talk of orphan of poor parentage.
Teejay, this is a very sad story to sit with. Painfully as it is, you acted as a witness to a slow-motion tragedy. Because you were close enough to see where it was heading.
ReplyDeleteYour former neighbour chose deception. That’s clear. But you didn’t stand outside it either. You stayed in between - making assurances you didn’t carry through, while depending on someone you already knew couldn’t be relied on.
His actions were careless. Yours weren’t neutral either. You stepped in briefly, then stepped back when it became uncomfortable. That’s where your conscience is biting from. You saw her vulnerability. You saw his avoidance. And still, you let it drift.
A man who moves on easily and treats his obligations as an irritation isn’t likely to develop a conscience on his own. That part was never in your control. But your response was. Her death may not be yours to carry. But your choices are. Please, look at them clearly.
Next time, be exact. Don’t make promises you may disregard or not keep. If you decide to get involved, follow through. If you can’t, say so early and step away cleanly. No halfway positions.
Right now, what is still within reach is to contact her son. Do not ask if the debt was paid; assume it wasn't. Assume it wasn’t. Honour what you said you would do - in full, or as much as you realistically can - and send it directly to her children.
That won’t undo what happened. But it will close your part in it properly and quiet your mind. Responsibility isn’t about how deeply you feel it. It is in what you do when it becomes inconvenient.
Assistant chatgpt, you know you do not have to write an essay everytime to be seen as smart, right?