/* Fatchilli Ad Code Start*/ /* Fatchilli Ad Code End */ Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigeria's Soft Drinks Allegedly Linked To Cancer Burden

Friday, April 17, 2026

Nigeria's Soft Drinks Allegedly Linked To Cancer Burden

This is a must read, especially for those who love to drink 'minerals' very two minutes.....

'The Coca-Cola you drink in Nigeria is unfit for consumption in the UK.
In 2017, a Nigerian business man won a court case against the Nigerian Bottling Company after UK authorities refused to let him import Fanta and Sprite produced in Nigeria into the UK due to excessive benzoic acid and sunset yellow levels unsafe for human consumption.

Products like Coke, Fanta, and Sprite contribute to Nigeria's cancer burden.
Benzoic acid is a chemical preservative used in many soft drinks and acidic foods to prevent spoilage from bacteria, yeast, and fungi.

It ultimately forms benzene, a known carcinogen, especially when combined with vitamin C and exposed to heat or light.

Maximum levels of benzoic acid in soft drinks are 150 mg/L in the UK/EU and 250 mg/L in Nigeria.
However, independent tests of many Nigerian soft drinks have found levels as high as 300-400 mg/litre.

Nine years after the historic judgment, the drinks are still sold openly in Nigeria without warnings, and most Nigerians remain unaware of the benzene risks and cancer risks they carry.

With no requirement to warn consumers, most people do not know the risks.
Anyone can be exposed, but children are especially vulnerable because they drink more sodas and have smaller bodies.

According to independent laboratory tests, Nigeria’s Fanta contains EU banned synthetic dyes (Carmoisine E122 or Allura Red E129).
They were found in Fanta Strawberry, Fanta Orange variants, and other local soft drinks.
Demand transparency because everyone deserves to know what is in their drinks''.

Credit: GST via X.

11 comments:

1. I saw a picture online where noodles sold in California carried a clear warning that they can cause cancer. Ultimately, anything processed has greater carcinogenic properties as we are beginning to find out.
    The occasional indulgence is fine. Don't just make a habit out of consuming processed foods and drinks.

2. Hmmmm
    Make Una Come Buy Zobo Drink ooooo
    Chidex Zobo Is Healthy And Available

1. My darling 👍 sometimes we don't know the value of our zobo & kunu dem 🍹

3. Hmmm.
    There is someone I know that drinks a bottle of mineral with every meal. I wonder if they are still doing that up till now...... I hope not.

1. My neighbor dey this table
      Every meal and snacks one bottle of American Cola

4. HF Beddings towels pillows blankets water resistant bed covers handbags throw pillows honey etc 0907230039117 April 2026 at 14:19

Let's all learn to discipline ourselves. Went for an event recently, and someone left her table and started calling the soft drinks on our table and stuffing into her handbag. I just shook my head in pity and looked away. 😂

5. May God heal me from coke addiction.

6. For those who still drink them.
    I don't remember when I took coke&fanta last.

7. Na wah oooo
    I will reduce the way I drink Sprite and Coke...

Odi egwu really.