Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Actor And Film Maker Kunle Afolayan Debunk Fake News That He Owes A Bank N5Billion.....

Tuesday, July 21, 2026

Actor And Film Maker Kunle Afolayan Debunk Fake News That He Owes A Bank N5Billion.....

Filmmaker Kunle Afolayan has dismissed as untrue reports alleging that he owes FirstBank a ₦5 billion loan reportedly obtained to finance his 2022 film, Anikulapo......
Reacting via a video shared on Friday, he said there was no litigation with the bank and that neither he or his company owed anyone that amount...

He said
“I try not to do this, but for whatever it is worth, and also for those who are well-wishers, friends and family who are really worried about the publication of this nonsense they are spreading around, saying we’re owing ₦5 billion, I really wish“If I see a bank that will give me ₦5 billion, I definitely will take it because I’ll use it for the betterment of the country, but the honest truth is there’s nothing of such,” he said.
“Aníkúlápó, even from the film, was a co-production between Golden Effects and Netflix, and it was a clear, straightforward deal. No money is owed. No money is owed to anyone.
“There is no litigation. FirstBank, we are good friends of the bank. We’ve done collaborations in the past and we’re still doing stuff, but we don’t have any issue of any sort,” he stated.
“The people behind this are my gurus, so that’s all I’ll say,” he added.
“Thanks to everyone who has been sharing the links and the messages. We’re not owing anybody ₦5 billion. Thank you,”

The fake news went viral on X, claiming that Afolayan had been served court papers by the Bank over an alleged ₦5 billion loan obtained to finance movie Anikulapo with an alleged agreement to pay back within a stipulated time but he repaid only part of the loan after Netflix acquired the film.

It is so bad that firstbanknigeria has not deemed it important to come out and properly officially debunk the fake story but have kept quiet and allowed people to defame and cuss out their customer because it is trending the Bank name.....
The media team of that Bank eh, shame leave una dey catch portable..

4 comments: