Nigerian fashion designer, Veekee James recently spoke about how her mother raised her and her brothers alone after their father died.
Veekee said she lost her dad when she was about five years old and Her mother decided not to remarry or date anyone but focused completely on taking care of her children. Veekee said she never saw her mom with any man and the only time her mom did not sleep at home was when she attended church night vigils.
She said her mother worked very hard as a tailor in Ajegunle, Lagos and sewed clothes to feed and support the family and even taught Veekee how to sew. Veekee James said this skill and her mom’s advice that she should not follow men but stay focused, shaped her into the successful woman she is today.
Thursday, July 23, 2026
7 comments:

Wow! Such a devoted and lovely mum,may God continue to bless her for you Amen🙏
ReplyDeleteWhen you train them well you enjoy at last but if not...
May God help all our parents anyways beacause sometimes it's not easy sef
Good mothers know the value of instilling discipline in their children.
ReplyDeleteOne thing is being advised, another thing is taking the advice. I’m glad she listened to good counsel.
©️ TEEJAY
This story is a reminder that sacrifice, hard work, and godly values can leave a lasting legacy.
ReplyDeleteTrain up a child in the way he should go, and when he is old he will not depart from it. (Proverbs 22:6)
God bless your mum
ReplyDeleteShe may have had one or two or more men after their dad's death but decided to keep them away from her children. They may have met only during the day and kept it a secret.
ReplyDeleteIt was her choice and it was okay, at least it saved the children from seeing different "fathers"👍
I don't believe she stayed without a man for over 25yrs cos Vicky is over 30 now
As for Vicky not following men, did she forget some of her old posts?
There was one post where she lamented how she worked and gave money to a boyfriend to set himself up in a new location where he got a job, only for him to dump her when he got to his new location.
Nice one.
ReplyDeleteHaba Oga/ Madame! How can just sit in your comfort zone and know what a widow did. ( inu na ulo mara ihe Ekeoha zuru).
ReplyDeleteYou think because s** is food for you , that it is like that for everyone else? Don’t you know that there are people who don’t even think about it as soon as they lose their partner.
Let me tell you, I have an aunt that her husband is Imp. She doesn’t get it outside either. They did an IVF and have 2 lovely children. They are born again Christian and she has never cheated on him and never told anyone.
It was on his sick bed, when he was about to die that he told his/her family the secret. The woman is well respected everywhere. She said she avoided totally because of the spiritual implications of indulging in it, especially with someone that is not your husband.