Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Lawyers In Nigeria No Longer Allowed To Use 'Barrister' As Prefix

Saturday, August 01, 2026

Lawyers In Nigeria No Longer Allowed To Use 'Barrister' As Prefix

The Supreme Court of Nigeria sent out a press release on July 13, 2026 directing litigation staff, legal practitioners, court registrars and lawyers to discontinue the use of the title “Barrister” as a prefix to their names in all official engagements.
So, how should Lawyers be addressed? Simply as 'Lawyer' or Esquire (Esq)???

14 comments:

1. Lawyers please come and explain what this means.

1. This is basic common sense, you don't need a lawyer.

What you should be asking is someone with basic common sense should explain to you.

Me I can explain but you will pay. Monkey cannot work and baboon will be chopping.

2. You are a big fool

2. Another person will come in future and change what this our new president of Supreme Court Mrs Kekere-ekun said.
    So for now they will write their names and put Esq at the back I e Fresh petals Esq. or write Lawyer Fresh Petals

3. Tor. Unto the Lawyers then 😊

4. Me that was dreaming of becoming a lawyer, so I can put barrister, honourable game mistress on moniker

5. She's very right.
    We too like title 🤪🤪🤪
    Imagine Now
    Tea Nk 🤣🤣 how does that sound ?

6. Always been ridiculous

7. Lawyer Fairlady or Fairlady Esq. Una doh

8. Replies
    1. They will answer Mr and Mrs they dont have two heads.🤪🤪 Rubbish

9. Barrister is basically same as Lawyer. Barrister being American, Lawyer British.

The Observer

10. Very good. I like it. That title "barrister" on their names makes dem feel too proud while drafting increament on rent. They will type all the grammar ontop increase and then end it with barrister.....They think the title on a letter will make one scared. Nonsense. Lol.