Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Benue State Govt Bans Compulsory Extra Lessons In Schools

Tuesday, September 08, 2026

Benue State Govt Bans Compulsory Extra Lessons In Schools

Benue State Government has banned compulsory extra lessons in schools across the state as students resume for the 2026/2027 academic session.
The Commissioner for Education, Margaret Adamu, announced the directive on Monday, stating that schools must not force pupils or students to attend lessons after regular school hours.

She added that PTAs seeking to organise extra lessons must obtain approval from the Ministry of Education, while participation must remain voluntary.
The commissioner warned school proprietors and administrators that institutions found violating the directives would face sanctions.

8 comments:

1. What is that thing they want to teach them in extra classes that they could not teach them in the normal classes. Even during holidays that kids are supposed to rest, they will still bring up.classes while oyinbo kids go on vacation, teachers will be telling our own kids to be looking for X upandan inside equation. All the X and Y I found when I was in school, I never see wetin I go use them do in the real world.

2. Good one. As far as I'm concerned, it’s just another form of extortion. The same goes for summer coaching, my children have never participated in either. Children need time to engage in other valuable activities outside the classroom.

3. Great news 👏
    Why mandating students to do extra lessons in the first place?

4. Other states should adhere and forcing them not to use textbooks of their siblings is exhausting and financially draining...let's go back to the old days of books Sharing and still keeping it clean

5. As a teacher, I totally agree with this. Most private schools engaged in it to get extra funds, and to me it's not necessary. Parents to any learner that performs below average can decide to get a personal tutor for them, I hope other states will take a cue from this.

6. The graduation party you people banned, they still did it ooo.