A Nigerian born taxi driver, Kolawole Erunkulu, 45, has been sentenced to six years in prison in the United Kingdom after he fell asleep behind the wheel and caused a fatal crash.The incident happened on August 17, 2025, when Erunkulu’s Audi left the road and struck 59 year old Philip Dray, who had parked at a lay by to rest.
Investigators later discovered that Erunkulu, who lives in Bexleyheath, had driven for 53 hours over three days, with only about seven hours of rest in total.
Footage from inside his vehicle showed him briefly dozing off before the crash. His car hit Dray and continued moving for around ten seconds before stopping.
Further investigation revealed that Erunkulu had worked a 12 hour taxi shift with only short breaks before the accident.
He pleaded guilty to causing death by dangerous driving in June 2026.
In addition to the prison sentence, the court banned him from driving for eight years. If he ever wishes to drive again, he must pass an extended driving test.
Wednesday, September 02, 2026
12 comments:
.jpg)
Now he can get all the rest he needs. No matter how demanding your bills you cannot put safety on the back burner. It's sad that a person who was actually doing the right thing lost their life to someone who wasn't. Hopefully everyone learns something from this tragic story.
ReplyDeleteSo sad!
ReplyDeleteDOZZYBEST.
Na wah oh❗️why didn’t he stop to take a short nap when he was tired & sleepy? see the damage he has caused cos he choose not to attend to nature? Working several hours without rest is you slowly killing your body
ReplyDeleteChose **
DeleteAbeg nau 🤲
Ha!
Chai,watching the video,you can see how,exhausted,he was. May Philip's soul,rest in peace. 🙏🏿😌
ReplyDeleteAnd was the chai all about? Is that the main focus? A careless person killed someone and you're saying Chai. Very silly of you.
DeleteLet's learn to take care of ourselves as we chase money,,ended up causing another family pain and ending his taxi career
ReplyDeleteAnd ofcourse Nigerian men have found a way to blame it on the wife
ReplyDeleteYou are obviously foolish, where was the wife blamed ? Everything na gender war for ur uzlezz self.
DeleteIf you had sense, you would have asked questions! Oponu, oloshi! The people in ur lineage are the foolish ones
DeleteUr entire lineage till those unborn foolish, oponu oloshi.
DeleteWaka 🖐️.
So sad.
ReplyDeleteOverhustling is never a good thing. See how this has affected an innocent person.