Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: First City Monument Bank And EFCC

Wednesday, May 01, 2013

First City Monument Bank And EFCC

This is what NATIONAL ENQUIRER BLOG is reporting ...

The dirty fraud is casting aspersion on the integrity of the Otunba Subomi Balogun owned First City Monument Bank-FCMB, a financial institution reputed to be the first ever indigenous merchant bank in Nigeria.

According to one of the anti-graft agency`s officials who confided in National Enquirer, the fraud might earn the management of FCMB a negative connotation, if the agency eventually found it culpable of the sharp practices being alleged by one of its customers, Mr. Segun, the CEO of Eri-Ere Investments Limited.

Though the FCMB management we gathered is said to be making frantic efforts to save face as one of its representatives-Temitope Akintayo who heads the Adeola Hopewell branch of FCMB has offered everything humanly possible to the investigating officer at EFCC just to twist the case against the complainant, it is at this point that bubble is bursting amongst the anti-graft operatives.
As the story which is being handled by the CTGI department (Counter-Terrorism and General Investigations) of EFCC goes, the CEO of Eri-Ere Investments Limited, Mr. Segun who`s the complainant in this matter, sometime ago was offered to insure his company and after assessment by the joint managements of FCMB and AIICO Insurance, Eri-Ere was given an annuity of N75m (an annual amount to be paid periodically).
We further gathered that, having agreed on this plan, the FCMB management when perfecting its papers and handling over to AIICO-their partner company to finalise the insurance policy for Eri-Ere Investments, the figure changed from N75m to N50m, and for God knows what later transpired, Eri-Ere`s insurance was later doctored and drastically reduced to the tune of N10m going by the books of AIICO-that clause is still a mystery at the EFCC headquarters on Awolowo Road, Ikoyi, Lagos.
The innocent CEO of Eri-Ere Investments wouldn`t have known what happened to its insurance but for an unfortunate armed robbery incident which affected one of its branches in Igando, Lagos last year, 2012. The robbery incident prompted Mr. Segun to demand for a possible replacement of some of its losses from AIICO since he`s running a policy with the company and to his chagrin, he was informed that his aggregate limit is just N10m which only covers one of his branches.
The EFCC is still digging and your darling Enquirer is following with keen interest, we shall give you details of how one of FCMB lawyers allegedly forged a certain document from the Corporate Affairs Commission in order to save face and the clandestine movements of their representative, Temitope Akintayo to clear the mess.

In our facts finding mission, we got in touch with the head Corporate Communications of FCMB, Ike Kalu and this is what he said, “ it is true that something like that happened but it is one of our departments that`s handling it, however we would rather not want to issue an official statement because the matter is still being investigated by the EFCC. From my own point of view, I discovered the customer in question is one of our clients and am told that`s what he normally does as he`s heavily indebted to us and other banks, in fact, his account with us has been frozen as we speak, thanks”. Ike Kalu told us on a final note:

13 comments:

1. normal nigerian wash wash business,everyone is guilty from fcmb to mr segun,all na wash,don't be suprised if na mr segu arrange the robbery self wan come claim insurance wey e no pay premuim for na him bank say otio no way,we doctored your books for you just to cover your insurance as stipulated by the law.them all they do am all the big bussiness,banks and insurance people all dey do am ,na wash wash thrust me i know.

2. How can corruption be eradicated and best practices established when EFCC investigates and tries its cases in the media? This has to stop. A lot of damage is done when things are not properly done. Do not go public until all the facts are gathered. This has to Change. Complete the investigation and then charge them to court before going public.

3. hmnn...am not even going to adjust my glasses to read this piece.
    FCMB? hmnn...gist for another day

4. ITT. INTERNATIOAL THIEF THIEF.

5. ITT. INTERNATIOAL THIEF THIEF.

6. Mr segun is guilty he leaked the jist to the press, for a man who has bad history with other banks? the man is a criminal and must be taught a lesson, funny enough criminals know the law and have a way of twisting around, he must have been the one to come to the press to look for sympathy.

FCMB is not totally clean for a bank that celebrates mediocrity, how else do u you explain staff rise to the top by proxy an example is Felicia obozuwa who has been serving both father and son for years.

Stella you need to shine a light on this ijebu diabolic bank.

7. stella u have to post my comment oooooo, i maintain that there will always be issues with the bank and its customers as long as people rise to the top in that organization by proxy e.g Felicia obozuwa.

1. For ur info, Feliciano is a really brilliant and intelligent lady. Whether she sleeps with Oga or not is not an issue here. Is she performing her job functions positively? Yes. So pls take several seats already!

8. Clifford Omenogor1 May 2013 at 22:42

What has the issue on ground got to do with Felicia Obozuwa? If you have issues with Felicia say it rather than hide under different guises to attack an innocent person.

9. FCMB; they always seem to get into trouble but get out of it quickly. Remember the case of Uju Murphy's ex-husband?

The owners are well connected and when they blow their white powder especially oga in his white agbada, trouble disappears and they become clean again. I hate Nigerian family banks. There's only an extent you can rise to, because the plum posts are always reserved for their sons and daughters who'd rather be high on drugs than being in the boardroom. Check all family banks. There's a trend. Even Diamond isn't exempt. What are Oceanic people doing now? Next thing they will enter politics. Vermin the lot of them.

10. There's something shady about this Mr. Segun's story. I suspect he got caught and he's trying to play some trick

11. Rubish FCMB rocks

12. Fcmb rocks!!!!!!!!