Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Happy International Children's Day To The Nigerian Child

Saturday, June 01, 2013

Happy International Children's Day To The Nigerian Child

“Children are the world's most valuable resource and its best hope for the future”
John Fitzgerald Kennedy (American, 35th US President)

It's great to be a kid! At least, it should be, and that's the idea behind International Children's Day. It is a day dedicated to promoting the rights, health and happiness of kids everywhere.
Today the world over,as the rights of children are recognised and respected,I am sad to say that this is not applicable in Nigeria!

My pikins woke me up today and screamed ''Happy International Children's day''...I was shocked because i didn't even know that they knew when or what the word means...I didn't even know it is today.

The rights,health and happiness of the Nigeria child has been sacrificed at the altar of greed and only the children of rich understand what that word means.

Please today is a day especially set out to show children what love is all about...those of you parents abusing your children and giving flimsy excuses,please stop it!

Our children are the future of Nigeria,the earlier we start equipping them,the better it will be for them...and us!

My son wants to be the Bundeskanzler of Germany and he says it every time you ask him what he wants to be when he grows up...Lol.
lets help our kids build their dreams starting from today.

Its a pity that the Nigeria government has done nothing to better the welfare of the Nigeria child,all they do is steal money to better the lives of their families.
In the western world Children are paid stipends by the government every month until they are 17yrs of age!
Why is the Nigerian government so disconnected from the Nigerian child when they an do so much to help?
.....and one wonders why people who can afford it are running abroad with their children?

May God help the Nigerian child!

Happy international Children's day to anyone who has ever known the unadulterated love of a child!

Whats your take?

ORIGIN OF THE INTERNATIONAL CHILDREN'S DAY
The International Children's Day (ICD) is said to have originated in Turkey in 1920 and later in Geneva, Switzerland in 1925. It was a coincidence that two very important events took place on 1st June 1925. The first was the World Conference for the Well-being of Children in Geneva while at the same time the Chinese Consul-General in San Francisco gathered a number of Chinese orphans to celebrate the Dragon Boat Festival. Since both these incidents had the idea of child welfare at their core, 1st of June began to be celebrated as International Children's Day thereafter. However,  it was largely restricted to the communist countries and continues to be restricted, even after the atrophying of communism.

There is often little public awareness of International Children's Day. Most of the nations in the Western world, the Middle East, Africa and the southern hemisphere have their own particular so called "Children's day", which they celebrate during different times of the year. However, International Children's Day has acquired an important place in the agenda of United Nations and its concerned agencies, especially UNICEF (United Nations International Children's Emergency Fund).

3 comments:

1. Never Heard bout this before.,From me its Happy International Children's Day to Every child in Nigeria.. Let's show love to them no matter how little we tag it. individually,Collectively, Let's celebrate them cos they're special.

2. Nigerian government to begin payment of stipend to kids? that will be the day!
    happy international children's day to ma cuties jare...both of you are my divas and superstars! mwah mwah! mummy loves you guys silly!

S to D K, ngwanu! big kisses to your kids and take one small hug for yourself.

3. Happy international children's day to my cuties, Alex munachi nd Nicole kamsiyochi u guys are my evrytin luv u both... #hugs nd kisses#

And 2 every Nigerian: u shall overcome cos God luvs u