Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Praise Jah... Rainmaker,Majek Fashek Is Now A New Creature.

Tuesday, July 09, 2013

Praise Jah... Rainmaker,Majek Fashek Is Now A New Creature.

The iconic musician who has been battling alcohol and drug addictions for sometime has finally given his life to Christ. The troubled entertainer who tantalised us with hit songs like Send Down The Rain, Holy Spirit, I&I Experience and so on publicly embraced Christ on Sunday, June 23, 2013. 

This was at the Christ Miracle Church Mission, situated at Iyasuna Crescent, off Ishola Bello Street, Ojodu, Lagos. The church is being led by Prophet Peter Abiola Adebisi, JP. The Edo born musician had attended the church's 7 Sundays of Anointing for Breakthrough Service for the first time, and got converted. Members of the church were thrown into joy afterwards. In fact, nearly all of them rejoiced with him. Especially when Majek was handed the microphone to do a song. The song he chose to sing for the congregation was one of his classics, Holy Spirit. And as he did tears of joy streamed down some of the members' faces!

YES International! could however not ascertain whether or not the Reggae music king in Nigeria has been regular in church since then. Or even whether some ministers from CMCM have been following up on him lest he backslides again. Majek Fashek, obviously in his 50s, about two decades ago, dominated the Nigerian music scene. A total musician, he could sing, play the guitar and also the keyboard. 

Starting out as a member of the Jahstix band, his debut album, Prisoner of Conscience, catapulted his career and life to the zenith. Then, he was still with the defunct Tabansi Records and had Architect Aig Igiehon as his manager. He crossed over to Sony Music – and while there recorded albums like I & I Experience – featuring popular numbers like Mama Dede, Majek Fashek Inna  New York and so on. His wife, Rita and one of his sons, Randy are believed to still reside in America from where his addiction problem is believed to have begun. Now living from hand to mouth, Majek has been a shadow of his old self since his return.

12 comments:

1. damnnn from that picture, he looks so terrible. what is this???

so emaciated! kai! na wa o!

*quickly closes page*

2. Once I hear Prophet, I run away.

3. All Glory be to Jah. Nna this pixs no be for here oo
    . May his conversion remain permanent.

CP (space) show biz blog of the year (space) Stella Dimoko Korkus send to 33121.

4. This comment has been removed by the author.

5. Big lessons for youngsters who are into weeds,see hw a successful musician crumbled,no thanks to excessive smoking of stuffs.......all those wannabes.

1. U̶̲̥̅̊ beta kip ur mouth shut,if U̶̲̥̅̊ dnt av anytn 2 say. Ppl don D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ smoke Weed b4 U̶̲̥̅̊ nd Ȋ̝̊̅̄ whr born,S̶̲̥̅Ơ̴̴̴̴̴̴͡ cari ur preaching go bush. If weed N̶̲̥̅̊☺ Ǥõõϑ,y some countries legalize am. Weed is Ǥõõϑ,addiction is bad.
      Even Doctors sef N̶̲̥̅̊☺ fit tawk say,weed bad cuz D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ kno d medicinal value in it.
      Me go evaly D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ smoke my weed,bt na 4 low-key oº°˚˚˚°º,my family nd gf dnt kno Ȋ̝̊̅̄ smoke sha oº°˚˚˚°º. Dodorima

6. Storyyyyy! Majek gives his life over and over again, he will now start asking for money to indulge himself. We don carry am go church we Don taya.its the same pattern. I see him almost every Saturday. Story!

7. Na so. Na today? Majek has been "giving his life to Christ" for the past 14 years or so. All na wash. Drug and alcohol indulgence are the worst things that can happen to a man or woman and doesn't just go by "giving your life to Christ". If he wants to be clean, I mean REALLY clean, let him go into Rehab and at the same time turn to God. He should stop soothing his guilty drug-abused-ego by lying to himself and the church, when he won't be able to deal with any forthcoming emotional breakdown on his own without renewed indulgence. NO ADDICTION GOES OVERNIGHT BY GIVING YOUR LIFE TO CHRIST. Majek, be wise.

8. Stella, dis ur caption na Pure!! Surely, majek is now a new creature...Scarecrow! 4 dat em pix, viewers' discretion is advised. 4 healthy Adults only! Hehehee!

9. This is what we call o'no ndu onwu ka nma! I pray he recovers completely sha.

10. Majek himself is a prophet. Listen to the lyrics of all his songs and you will understand my point. Very gifted man just wrong priorities from the start. Hubby and i still discussed his case over dinner sometime last week. He sure needs help and follow up not writing tributes when he finally dies of addiction.