Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Antibalas Music Group Send Official Statement On Why They Missed The Lagos Jazz Series.

Sunday, December 01, 2013

Antibalas Music Group Send Official Statement On Why They Missed The Lagos Jazz Series.

They were supposed to perform at the Lagos jazz series but they couldn't make it and they sent me this press release yesterday explaining why they missed it.....Really sad,please read this.....The pictures was sent to me to show that they spent hours at the airport waiting for a flight confirmation...I asked them questions..answers below.

''Dear Friends:  We will unfortunately not be going to the Lagos Jazz Series this year. In the early hours of the morning yesterday, we mobilised the entire band and a three-person film crew and went to JFK International Airport several hours before our flight was schedule to depart.  We had all of our visas and passports together well in time for all travel arrangements to be made, and arrived at the airport to find that there were no tickets for us.  

We spent the better part of Thanksgiving day at the airport with a back-and-forth with the festival personnel, and after several hours, they were unable to secure any flights for us so we had no choice but to turn around and get back to work.  This has been a crushing blow to the band. Performing in Nigeria has been a dream since before the band was even together. 

We remain hopeful that we'll be able to get to Nigeria in the future under more stable circumstances and we send our deep regrets to all of our friends, family and fans who were looking forward to attending our performances in Lagos this weekend.  We also send our love and solidarity to all the musicians in Nigeria and elsewhere for whom this type of chaos and dis-organisation is part of everyday life and who manage to persist in making a life in music despite all of this.  

Regards,  Antibalas''

STELLA- this is really sad. 
I have one question though. Why did you go to the airport without first confirming from the airline that you were booked on the flight?
ANTIBALAS-  Early Thanksgiving morning, we got to the airport with assurances from the festival that our tickets would be waiting for us. We waited...and waited...and waited. Here are some exciting shots of us making sure all of our gear was organized and tagged at the aiport.
Antibalas (Spanish for "bulletproof") is a Brooklyn-based afrobeat band that is modeled after Fela Kuti's Africa 70 band and Eddie Palmieri's Harlem River Drive Orchestra. Although their music generally follows the musical architecture and language of afrobeat, it incorporates elements of jazzfunkdubimprovised music, and traditional drumming from Cuba and West Africa.

15 comments:

1. All ds unprofeesional and yeye organisers. dey will not do their homewrok properly before invitation rolls out. Let them keep disgracing themselves not us. rubbish

2. Ok,

Am I d first?
    Bwahahahahahaaaaaaaaa

1. @Eze...hoe d Butterflies wen dey ur tummy?

You still dey in love?

I go tell ur Billionaire husband ooo

3. ##Snoring##

Na dem saka

4. Lack of proper organisation it is a shame.

5. The Earlier Naija Event organizers /promotes gets themselves 2geda 2 Organize an event wivout embarrassing Guests @ d Airport d Better Smmmh !! Stellla d's iss very very bad its becoming a useless trend if you can't afford 2bring people to your event tell them to stay back don't put their hopes high waste their time and resources for nothing! Abeg d entertainment industry needs an over haul Sorry 2say that

1. Thank you! Same reason why Jill Scott didn't come as well. I was looking forward to seeing you..Thank God I didn't buy the ticket.

6. Even in Business we are not straight forward. Why organise a show when u can not arrange simple ticket for ur visitors. It's becoming a trend with show organiser in Nigeria. This show of shame brings bad name to the entertainment industry, last time was Wale now Antibalas who's next?

7. Instead of the organiser to pay for the tickets and make sure the headliners he put on the bill to be here instead of yeye MI as headliner of a jazz festival he's busy buying porshe panemera.Nigerians never improve on their products...last 2 years jazz series has been on point this year total sham

8. This is just sad though,the same thing they did to wale,at least promoters should be more professional .thansgiving day of all days

9. Na wah for these organisers and to think some people were abusing Wale when he had a similar situation last week organisers keep disgracing yourself you hear I hope this spreads so that foreign acts will start insisting on having their RETURN tickets 2 days in advance of the flight date and confirm this with the airline. Obviously they went to the airport without their tickets because this is something they have done before only difference is upto now they have always dealt with honest people.

10. These people keep embarrassing themselves. You want to invite foreign artists, then get your acts together. You wish to keep it local, then do just that. nawa
    NO EXCUSE FOR THIS MESS GUYS. NO EXCUSE

11. Scam in another pattern !

12. All these inept Nigerian concert organizers and promoters are going to start giving the professional ones a bad name. This is very disappointing!

13. I know this web site gives quality based posts and other material,
    is there any other web site which presents
    these kinds of data in quality?

My site - find Provo dentist (youtube.com)