Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: United States Demands Extradition Of Nigerian Fraudster Micheal Abiodun Bakare.

Saturday, December 14, 2013

United States Demands Extradition Of Nigerian Fraudster Micheal Abiodun Bakare.

Justice Department of the United States of America (USA) is relying on the extradition treaty between her and Nigeria to get Michael Abiodun Bakare back on her soil to face multiple criminal charges of conspiracy, money laundering and stealing of over $20 million (N2.6 billion).

Bakare is presently being detained at the Awolowo Road, Lagos office of the Economic And Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC).

Bakare is wanted in USA on indictments already filed before District Court in the district of Maryland, on charges of conspiracy bank fraud, interstate transportation of money obtained by fraud, conspiracy to commit money laundering, money laundering, aiding and abetting.

A warrant for his arrest was issued on May 24, 2004, by the district court.

There was an extradition treaty signed between USA and Great Britain in December 22, 1931, made applicable to Nigeria on June 24, 1935, which was later gazetted with the Federal Republic of Nigeria Extradition Decree of 1966.

Abiodun Bakare a.k.a Abi, Muyiwa Jones, Mike Jones and Bernard Jones, according to the Department of Justice, is a leader of a group of individuals who committed bank frauds in various states in the USA.

To carry out their scheme, the gang obtained certain documents, including cheques, social security certificates, driver’s licences and credit cards of unsuspecting victims.

Kafayat Folashade Harris, currently in detention in the United States, is suspected to be the anchor-leg of the gang. It was learnt that she used her employment with a Maryland dental outfit to obtain confidential information on the bank account of members, credit cards etc of rich clients who visited the clinic.

She would then pass the same to the gang leader, Bakare, to use in defrauding the victims through a complicated inter-bank movement of funds.

To cover their tracks, the gang was suspected to have used addresses of vacant residence or addresses of unsuspecting individuals as mailing addresses.

They deposited forged or stolen cheques to withdraw funds from the accounts so opened into another equally dubious account in another state using Automatic Teller Machines. Specifically, they transported the proceeds from the state of Virgins to Maryland. They use the money to purchase U.S postal money order at the post office in Maryland or used the fraudulently obtained credit cards to purchase merchandise, which they allegedly shipped to Nigeria.

The Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) had kept tap on the gang for sometime and on May 5, 2004, Secret Service Agent, James Cancannon attempted to single handed arrest Bakare. It almost cost him his life. Bakare resisted the arrest and jumped into his car. The secret agent attempted to block him, but the suspect almost ran his car over the agent. The agent fired his service pistol at Bakare and slightly wounded him. Bakare escaped from the scene in his car and eventually fled to Nigeria.

Meanwhile on Thursday, September 28, 2006, crack agents of EFCC who had been on Bakare’s trail following a report by the government of the United States, eventually cornered him in Lagos and detained him at the Awolowo Road, Lagos office of the anti-scam agency.

In a twist of event, President of the Nigerian Bar Association (NBA) and lawyer to Bakare, Mr. Olisa Agbakoba (SAN) slammed suit No. FCH/L/CS/838/2006 against EFCC and the Attorney-General of the Federation, asking among other things, for a declarative order that the arrest of Bakare without warrant was unlawful and a violation of his fundamental rights to liberty, freedom of movement and life as guaranteed under section 35 of the constitution.

He also asked for an order that the arrest of Bakare for the purpose of extradition for alleged crime committed in the USA, without following the due process as stipulated in the Extradiction Act is unlawful and a violation of his personal liberty as guaranteed under 1999 Constitution and the African Charter on Human and People’s Rights.

Subsequently, Agbakoba asked for an order directing the immediate release of the applicant by the EFCC. He argued that Bakare was arrested without a warrant of arrest and "unjustifiably" detained and that a written statement was extracted from him in the absence of his legal representative and that EFCC and the Attorney-General of the Federation have refused to release Bakare on bail or arraign him before a court of competent jurisdiction.

He urged the court to grant the unconditional release of Bakare as what EFCC was akin to a holding charge awaiting the Attorney-General’s application for extradition.

Lawyer to EFCC, Mr. Seidu Atteh, opposed the application, arguing that Bakare was indicted by a court in United States District of Maryland for fraud and committing an assault on a Federal agent, secret service agent James Cancannon, aiming his automobile at the agent and attempting to run him over.

Atteh said a warrant for the arrest of Bakare was duly issued by the United States District Court for the District of Maryland on May 24, 2004, but could not be effected because Bakare fled the USA before he could be interdicted.

Atteh said he had confirmed from the Attorney-General’s office that an extradiction request had been received by the Attoeny-General and that he (Attorney-General) had resolved that the matter be filed in court in line with the procedure laid down under the Extradition Act.

Atteh argued that the issues for consideration by the court are whether there is a valid complaint of crime against Bakare, which justified his arrest and detention. He submitted that the fundamental rights of a citizen are not absolute.

In his ruling, Justice Mohammed Shuaiby said, "it is beyond any pre-adventure that the applicant (Bakare) in the instant case was arrested and detained based on a complaint that he has committed an offence in the USA and that a process of his extradition is on course. Thus, the applicant is a fugitive criminal within the meaning of section 21(1) of the Extradition Act; Cap 125 LFN 1990. A fugitive is defined to mean one who flees; used in criminal law with the implication of a flight, evasion or escape from arrest; prosecution or imprisonment.

"The law is also trite that by virtue of section 10(1) (F) of the Criminal procedure Act, any Police officer may; without an order from a magistrate and without a warrant; arrest any person whom he suspects upon reasonable ground of having been concerned in any act committed at any place of Nigeria, if committed in Nigeria, would have been punishable as an offence; and for which he is under any enactment in force in Nigeria; liable to be apprehended and detained in Nigeria.

It is also apparent that the first respondent is pursuant to Section 6 of the EFCC Act empowered to collaborate with government bodies both within and outside Nigeria in carrying on its functions. Specifically the 1st respondent that is EFCC, is responsible for dealing with matters connected with extradition, deportation and mutual legal or other assistance between Nigeria and any other country involving EFCC.They as well maintain a liaison with the office of the Attorney General of the Federation and other federal agencies involved in the activities of the EFCC.

In the light of the above and considering the uncontroverted averments in paragraphs 12 and 15 of the counter-affidavit; the arrest of the applicant is permitted by law. And on the face of the clear and unambiguous content of extradition (United States of America) Order 1967; the procedure leading to the applicant’s arrest does not in my respectful view offend any law. It is also significant to note at this juncture that the provision of Section 6 of the Extradition Act merely states the procedure for surrender of a Fugitive Criminal and Powers of the Attorney-General thereon.

It does not contemplate the powers of the police officer (inclusive of the officer’s of the 1st respondent) to arrest and detain person(s) reasonably suspected to have committed a criminal offence or prevent him from committing a criminal offence.In any event, it is not the extradition application that is before this Court but a complaint respecting the arrest and the detention of the applicant.Thus the applicant’s contention that the arrest and detention is akin to a holding charge does not hold waters because the arrest and detention in the instant case is legally rooted. The applicant in the circumstance cannot rely on section 6 of the extradition act.

I have held else-where in this ruling that the arrest and detention of the applicant is for the purpose of bringing him before a court in execution of the warrant issued in United States of America and also based on reasonable suspicion of committing an offence in United States of America which offence(s) are also punishable in Nigeria. That being the position; the Applicant’s arrest and detention is in-according with Section 35 (1) of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria 1999 and thus the Applicant’s contention that he ought to be taken to court within 2 days is a clear misrepresentation of the law.

In the light of the above and considering the surrounding circumstances of the case the arrest and eventual detention of the applicant is justified in law.Consequently, the application is without any merit and is hereby dismissed.Apparently dissatisfied with the ruling, . Agbakoba has lodged an appeal at the Court of Appeal, in Lagos.He has also written to the Chief Judge of the Federal High Court, asking that the matter be transferred from Justice Shuaibu’s court to another judge.culled

55 comments:

1. Biodun bakare,son of oluwalogbon motors?

2. Yes. The EFCC Is very right. For once I am proud of our justice system. No prejudice. When they want to work they work...at least this will encourage the United States authority to have little faith in us. good step in the right direction. Kudos

2. Is this the same Shade Harris mentioned in connection to Femi Obat?

3. The case has gotten to Naija? Case closed with plenty bribe. US Govt should forget it!

4. Not that i am lazy or dumb or anything,normally i would have read all that long history but this?! Criusly?

So b o r i n g! If the guy is found guilty biko he should go to jail,period.

1. This yoruba people and their stealing character, giving this country bad name everywhr. Pls him and all involved should be jailed ASAP.
      All the yoruba voltrons over to una..I knw u guys will not talk but if na another tribe now this coment section for don full dey throway.

B4 u all start cosing hausa and the igbos, u all should have a rethink dat they are not the only people in naija.

2. Igbo people and their ritualistic character. First class ritualist, xmas is around the coner, they will start kidnapping people to use for rituals like the one caught in Agege last week.

5. Loool. This one pass you abi? Stella. As you know put your own comment. They should hand him over to US abeg

6. His family connection to IBB must have gotten him off the arrest. Whilst Sade cannot return to the US for fear of facing the charges and going to jail for the third time.

1. Lai Lai no connection is getting him off this one. He will be extradited. With private jet sef

2. Third time ke?

Even after this, she won't stop.

The thing dey her blood.

3. So dis bitch is an ex convict? No wonder she's perfect in scheming, CRIMINALS!! God doesn't like Ugly you'll surely pay back

7. Tribal comments will land.

8. GEJ: make we wrap country na

Obama: I dey crazeee??!!!

9. i don't think nigeria has ANY treaty with usa...we do it illegally here

1. Oh yes we do. Especially with the EFCC and NDLEA. Its just that we've not been doing it the right way for obvious reasons. Same treaty was what got Lanre Shittu extradited years ago. And a few others.

10. He will be extradited. America has spoken! Agbokoba save your energy.

11. I do not support cutting corners, fraud or any form of corruption. However, this extradition thing is really not the way forward for Nigeria. Imagine, the extradition law decree was signed between the USA and Britain was signed before Nigeria got her independence yet the so called law still applies on us even as an independent nation. Is the Nigerian government capable of asking for an American to be extradited to Nigeria over a crime he/she committed in Nigeria before fleeing to his/her country? The answer is obviously NO. We will still remain slave to these so-called "super power nations" if we continue this way. Make the guy face him court case for him fraud.

Memphis, I await your comment

12. Oga o. Abeg, how much does he really need to live a decent and comfortable life? Must he live an ostentatious lifestyle? Everything boils down to greed. Greed, greed and more greed. Na dem sabi. Pity he is a Nigerian.

Folks, please, how can I recover my google and yahoo mail accounts? Someone hacked into it yesterday and I wouldn't have known if not that friends called me and said they received mails that my enemy was involved in a fatal accident. Abeg, help a sister and please, if you receive any mail from me, do not open it cos it may be a virus. I can't even remember the answer to the security question on yahoo cos I opened it 13 years ago.
    Thanks in advance.

Oluyomi Odukoya

1. You have not started!

Your work email will be hacked into next.

Madam busy body basketmouth! Why not ask Ghost Jeff? Hehehehehe. Ghosts have started attacking you. Ija aye lo ri yen.

13. isn't that funny thieves, and fraudsters who fled the U.S to Nigeria are considered big boys and girls in lagos and abuja. Why don't you all who like to "tap into blessings" tap into this criminal's blessings. Country full of criminal who want to reap where they did not sow. At the same time destroying lives. The better turn that fool to the U.S before nigerians get their asses kicked. oh oh to late nigerians are seen around the world as the scum of the earth.

14. Make una mind una business biko

15. Terrible mug shot,looks rather like his obituary!
    He should be extradited asap and sentenced life without parole for all I care,enuf for all these pple adding badness to nigeria's name(well we are already renowned for badness sha),but they shouldn't make it worse jare.

16. Naija peeps,we are always involved in shady deals and corruption is our friend.which way Nigeria?

17. Ah ah,what happin? Stand up nigereya. .Produced by bunmi davis.

18. Let him go and pay for his crimes.
    Since he had the nerve to steal, he should also have the nerve to stay in prison

19. Nmmmmmm what can I say but thank you for all the prayers you offered may almighty God reward you in million fold you made this BD happen with all your wishes and prayers. Thank you my friends

20. Nmmmmmm what can I say but thank you for all the prayers you offered may almighty God reward you in million fold you made this BD happen with all your wishes and prayers. Thank you my friends and blog family. Mrs Iyke-martins

21. I culdnt read evrytn all.I hate hearing bad stuff abt nigerians,t brks mi hrt

22. I didn't bother readin everytn.cal me a dunce or wteva,na u sake

23. N̶̲̥̅̊O̶̲̥̅̊. Comments jux passing by

24. Such a shameful act. And to tink dat his lawyer still has a guts to speak. I for like to slap dat lawyer face. Msshheewwww!

25. Is this not Shades husband and this small girls baby dad. Mariam Gidado?

1. Baby dad? Mariam Gidado? She says she is married. So she is just a baby mama and for a big criminal like this. Kikikikjkjk. That girl is a big liar. I fear for her lie. I have heard before that she is a big jazz chick as well. Lagos big girls, make unu fear them mbok! Fake life, fake marriage, big thief baby dad. Let the US hold am so she can take them to where the man is when she travels. Kikikiki

26. Hmm sterra this guy is a Lagos big boy. If you see what he owns you will bow. He is a big womanizer. Though he and shade hustled for this money in a shameful way, he chased her away from her own home after she cheated in revenge. And moved in one desperado. Got that one pregnant and that one lives with him but claims wife. I really pity shade. All this for a man, and then you end up thrown out like dirty. These Lagos girls na die o Stella. Anything for money, imagine anyone fighting with this woman for her man. I think Abby's secret would have been kept if he did not create such a scandal by treating shade so badly. Abby forgive your wife, you are a big cheat. You shouldn't be creating scandal around your name or making noise because of all the skeletons in your closet. This woman did all for you. That baby mama will dump you as soon as you are caught.

1. You said huustle together defrauding people of their life savings? Lazy twarts! U said Shade cheated in reveng? Shade dat was married and seriously sleeping around until God reveal her, how can u live wit a pathological liar? A woman dat was to go to Ijebu for a party with her married cousin but boarded a plane to Abuja to go fuck another drug lord but ran out of luck wen she forgot her Phone and d air hostess called her last dialed number which happen to be her husband, he got hold of d phone and read not only d abuja guy erotic msgs about how well he enjoyed her in bed but more from other men. She wanna live big live style without any income why won't she be looking for rich men to maintain her high taste? Abby is as bad as sade so how do u expect 2 alagbaris to trust each other?

2. "You really pitied Shade" why? So bcus Muyiwa funds Biodun dat makes him a rich man? Asked the lazy Shade wat she thinks Abby as in his name since you claimed dey gathered money together, useless wicked woman if not dat she went to sleep with Femi Obat and trying to penetrate his family I'm sure dis Biodun story won't come out, better drop our family name and be proud to answer ur fathers name, olojukokoro Ole!

3. Choi. Muyiwa funds Abby lifestyle? Choi, choi, choi. See gist. So the guy no get shishi. I suspect he owns the money and invested it in Muyiwas name. So when yawa gas he won't lose. I hope the authorities are hearing all these. Otherwise what do you claim he did with all the money he stole. If I hear. Where did muyiwa get such money. Even oluwalogbon is faded glory. That is why they all attach to Abby because he feeds them

27. Na wa o. Some girls will be doing big girl up and down. It is common cheap credit card fraudster they are baby mama for. See gist biko.She claims she is married

1. Married but fucking around like a pig, lol! Her head office is on Awolowo road ikoy where Azu constantly bang her for outdated designers and acohol in exchange! Does a norma person sniff their nose regularly if not a drug addict? She's fucked up bcus she's seriously hooked on drug and acohol, She need help before its too late

28. Something you don't do in USA, kill or try to kill law enforcement officers and he Didn't try to kill just any but a federal one that had to shoot at him to protect himself. He will never be a free man, even when he is 90 they will get him.

29. Biodun doesn't ave any investment to his name all na wash wash, tank God for Muyiwa his older brother, Sade is not a realistic woman that's why at her old age she's still living a make believe life dat one day she'll meet a mega mugu dat will turn her millionaire, the only sure thing dat comes to you without work is OLD AGE! Biodun didn't hold her brain and legs she should use them wisely

30. Thief marry Thief Lobatan! Shade is a thief trust me she'll steal from you to gift someone else can u imagine? You need to see the way she dresses very tacky ghetto like, Stella abeg bring correct gist not dis lazy fools dat believe in defrauding innocent people

31. Why all thus hate comments people who you call your friends are the ones saying rubbish here, am sure if abbey ask anyone of you out now you will jump on the offer.
    Anyone who gate or try to bring the next person down will get their own soon trust me. Its called karma.

1. Shot dat stinking mouth of yours fool! Abby talks too much himself how did we know exactly wat his ex wife did? He was narrating in details! Shade on her part is a betrayer, she always run her friends down whenever she feels dey getting more attention and favour, they both nuisances,

2. Anonymous 10.02 I'm not sure you no dis fraudsters at all, can you imagine their combination? I pray the curse on dem doesn't transfer to their children, wicked lazy couple!