Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Yoruba Folks Please Come And Educate Us ...LOL

Friday, December 06, 2013

Yoruba Folks Please Come And Educate Us ...LOL

Today is yoruba lesson day...learn some words and learn to appreciate how words can have different meanings so that the next time a yoruba persons uses these words on you,you will ask what they mean before you jump to conclusions.......

The word 'OKO' in yoruba refers to privates and other things but if you dont know and someone walks up to you saying ''how is your oko'......you might flare!..lol

so start learning.

Yoruba mums produce the best range of slaps: 
Igbati, 
Ifoti, 
Ifoju,
Igbarun, 
Iforun, 
Ifakun, 
Iladi, 
Abara,
Igbaju,

These slaps will make you think you were adopted. 

Igbati will make you correct your wrong lesekese! 

The beauty of Ifoti is you will confess your sins on the spot. 

Ifoju, makes u see your father and call him your mother.

igbarun, is for temporary reset on your brain.

Iforun will make you snitch on all those who committed the crime with you without hesitation. 

Ifakun has a unique function. If you were Hungry, immediately you'll be filled up, and if youu were filled up before, hunger comes back immediately.

Iladi will make you pee in your new pants! 

Now Abara is the worst.. This will make you do all of the above at once! 

Igbaju is the king of all. It gives your brain factory reset, that is it returns your settings back to the way you were born.

*Abeg if this post doesnt interest you,waka pass  and no vexs,you hear?

107 comments:

1. Abara is the one my mum was good at....ha ha ha ha!

1. Ogun(inheritance)
      Ogun(charm)
      Ogun(god of thunder)
      Ogun(medicine)
      Ogun(20)

2. *ogun- war
      *ogun-sweat
      *ogun- it's long
      *ogun- a state in Nigeria

#proudlyyorubagirl...!

3. @sexyboocalher ,u forgot to add Ogun-sweat....are u divine favour on bbm?

4. Lmaooooooo.. "Oko"= dick, penis

5. Stella, u be real kolo! Na ifoti fit kill. The vibratoon na die.

6. @bitchplis...LMAO. Uv got sharp brain mhen!!!

7. Hahahahha, I so luv d yorubas. Dier way of life no get fotocopy.

2. SDK, I don over laugh on my seat that people are wondering if am okay. Nice one dear.

Tolu

1. I got lotsa ifomu ifoju igbarun while growing up made me who I am today'''' grateful

3. There is something called 'AMIN OHUN' = tonation marks!
    Its the do-re-mi sounds!
    Its wat differentiate words.
    Igba - time
    Igba - calabash
    Igba - garden egg
    Even me can't use d tonation marks, even doe I dd it back in second sch.

Am so bored!
    So so bored, dat...
    If I vex, I fit stat to dey climb trees.

1. Wa gba yii! The amin ohun is key, it helps to determine what a word means.

2. *igba-#200
      *igba- a kinda fruit

#proudlyyorubagirl...!

3. *igba-#200
      *igba- a kinda fruit

#proudlyyorubagirl...!

4. @pink shell...igba - 200

5. Igba- fruit (garden egg)

Igba- 200

6. Yo pinky. So omo Yoruba ní è. Oya send you pin make I start to dey keep you company. How can you be bored when am still alive.

7. Ogun:( Medicine)
      Ogun:(Charm)
      Ogun:(war)
      Ogun:(state)
      Ogun:( God of Iron)
      Ogun:(stab)
      Ogun:(twenty)
      Ogun:(sweat)
      Ogun:(property)

4. Love dem yoruba peeps....dey rock!

1. Ore-Friend
      Ore-Cain
      Ore-Gift(could also be a name prefix)
      Ore-Town
      Ore-favor

2. Hahahahha, I so luv d yorubas. Dier way of life no get fotocopy.

5. Am not Yoruba but I find the post interesting.

Make I learn dia language small.. tired of saying 'mi ogbor Yoruba" esp when I go to the local market to buy food stuffs.

Oya...teachers of the langua, make una come o!

1. @BLOGLORD, do you have a job at all? Pls go and breast feed ur baby. Get a job bitch!

6. Now to other meaning

Ojo - Name of an individual

Oko - Stone
    Oko - Hoe
    Oko - Dick

Oro - Kind of a fruit

and so onnnnnnnnn

Tolulope

1. Tolu forgot to add:
      Oko- Farm
      Ojo- name of a person
      Ojo- Rain
      Ojo- Day
      Ojo- a timid person.
      There are more, just can't remember right now and the pronunciations are very different. I wish we could send in short voice notes.
      Proudly yoruba!

7. Where is my learning book?hhehehehe

8. Ojo-Name, Ojo-Fear. Oko-Penis, Oko-Arrow, Oko-stone, Oko-Hoes. Oro-Reward, Oro-Bad thing, Oro-Straight.

1. "Oro -reward" is wrong wealth is d right meaning.
      Oro- word
      Oro- weak

2. Oro-wealth not reward

3. Ojo (painment)
      Ojo (resemblance)

9. Lol at igbaju! Na dat one I chop pass. Yoruba pple! Una too mush. Ten kisses in d air for u.

1. Igbaju and abara combine together, I collect and till today, I nor fit steal again, I nor dey touch wetin nor be my own oh! Chei d combination nor get part 2, ur head go be like say they give u epidural

2. Oh Sterra Of lyf, I hardly comment on blogs and it's my first now here this is my best post of the week from me to u thanx 4 making me Laff after reading some other post on anoda blog dat made me sad.. Thanx Alot

10. Never knew Ojo-Coward. Lovely write up Sterra.... Omo Yoruba ni me o

11. Lol... Stella I see dat u love yoruba a lot.. Dat's gud tho! Dose words n their meanings plenty sha. D diff btw dem all is d mark/accent on top
    *oko- stone
    *oko- vehicle
    *oko-husband
    *oko- d**k
    *oko-hoe
    *oko-farm .. Dat's all I know 4 oko

For ojo
    *ojo- name
    *ojo-rain
    *ojo-coward
    *ojo-day
    *ojo. Dats all 4 ojo dat I know

For oro
    *oro-masquerade
    *oro- name of a place in kwara st
    *oro-word
    *oro-pain
    *oro- poison

Thanks. #proudlyyorubagirl..!

12. Reigning Queen your head is there!! Abara that will sound like thunder on your bare skin!!

You go just confuse and wonder if na she born you!!

Nice one Stella

13. I luv u Stella. U r d best

14. D banj said oko yato soko. Penis pass penis.

1. Yes ooo in dbanj is voice oko yato si oko. I:e penis get levels, taste mine and be blessed..... FILEE

15. Yup, the spellings are the same but the pronounciation are the different for some, that's where "ami ohun" comes into play. You pronounce based on the intonation marks on top of the letters or in line with the context of the sentence. For e.g. "Mo n lo si oko". Even if there's no mark on 'oko', its not likely that the "oko" here is penis so you use common sense and know its "Im going to the farm".

But some might be confusing sha. E.g "mo ni oko nla" can mean "I have a big farm" or I have a big penis"

But 'obo" means only one thing. No ambiguity for the Pussy.

1. Hmmmm lots of yoruba tisas on SDK. hhahaha

2. obo meaning its finished.

16. I don laff tire . Na ifoti oloyi i don receive from my papa and abara from my mama but as for me na iladi idey give my children anyone wey no i hear word

17. Awo - plate

Awo- cultist

Awo - guinea fowl

Ati bebe lo....

Iwo - you

Iwo - poison

Iwo - etc

Owo - money

Owo - broom

Owo - hand

Owo - a city in ondo state

Owo - you looked

(";-_-;")

18. This is very interesting. I suggest those that study Yoruba should please educate us on this. Pronounciaton of each word in yoruba depend on the tonation mark and what the discussion is based on.
    Do not really have good understanding of the tonation marks, but I know we have ami oke, ami Isale, ami faagun etc. The word Oko could mean
    Oko(hunband)
    Oko(hoe)
    Oko(Dick)
    Oko(car)
    Oko(stone)
    Oko(farm)
    Ojo(day)
    Ojo(coward)
    Ojo(rain)
    Ojo(baby boy born with umbilical cord round his neck)
    Odun(year)
    Odun(very sweet)
    If say Baba mi ni oko nla, believe me this will be misconstrue to be my father has a big dick, whereas I only meant to say that my father has a big farm.

19. Pink shell; very well said. Did that in Secondary School Yoruba.

20. Oro- word
    Oro- Pain e.g oro iku

Igba-- garden egg
    Igba- 200
    Igba-- time
    Igba-- calabash

21. Depends on ur pronunciation and context it was used

22. obo -monkey
    obo -omo baba olowo (davido)
    obo -pussy.

23. LOL... Abara was my granma's best. God bless her soul

24. Opolo-brain
    Opolo-frog

25. This made me laugh really hard, everyone turned to look @ me @ the. Bank

26. When I was younger and I offended my mum, na egba oju orun be my food.. She'd wake me up and make sure I chop my cane. I'd cry myself to sleep.. Funny how she told me not to do same to my kids.

27. Iso- (Re Mi)faart/Mess
    Iso-(Do mi) Nail
    Iso-(Do Do) market/bustop
    Iso-(Do re) tie e.g Eran iso (tied goat)

28. SDK u haff killl me with laugh ooo I just can't stop.
    Abgara! Kai dat one naim hot pass but as per igbo gal my Nnem no use any of d above ooo na just slap she use

29. SDK u haff killl me with laugh ooo I just can't stop.
    Abgara! Kai dat one naim hot pass but as per igbo gal my Nnem no use any of d above ooo na just slap she use

30. SDK u haff killl me with laugh ooo I just can't stop.

31. SDK u haff killl me with laugh ooo I just can't stop.

32. Owo - hand
    Owo - broom
    Owo - respect
    Owo - a town in Ondo state.
    Erin - Elephant
    Erin - Laughter
    Erin - Four
    Erin - Grind it
    When pronouncing, It has different tonations. When its written we put tonation marks, that's how we differentiate the meaning.

33. Owo - hand
    Owo - broom
    Owo - respect
    Owo - a town in Ondo state.
    Erin - Elephant
    Erin - Laughter
    Erin - Four
    Erin - Grind it
    When pronouncing, It has different tonations. When its written we put tonation marks, that's how we differentiate the meaning.

34. Stella don kill me with laff ooº°˚˚°Âºoo .
    Oko - penis, oko- stone, oko- hoe, oko- husband,

35. Rotflmao.... Stella u have thrown my entire household into turmoil(laughing turmoil that is).... Thank u for this, now I feel cold in this hot afternoon.... Ldsmbfo !!!!!!

36. Igba-calabash, igba-time, igba-fruit,

Oko-vehicle, oko-husband, oko-hoe, oko-dick, oko-farm

Iya- mother, iya- suffer

37. Yea,,,back to yoruba class.....lol

38. Given my F9 in waec, lemme try. Ami ohun as indicated determine how a word is pronounced. Do Re Mi. Try to hum them. Eg. Olamide (re mi re mi), Dapo (do do), Stella (mi do), Bukola (do mi mi). Also, there are 2 letter O's in the Yoruba alphabet. O as in the Oyinbo o and o as in orange which is written with a dot under the o.
    OKO:
    Oko (mido) - car
    Oko (domi) - blokos
    Oko (rere) -husband
    Oko (remi) - hoe
    Oko (dodo) - stone
    Oko (rere) - farm

1. @oluko faweeli ti ko le fi ami is ori oro. Oko-car(re do)...oko-blokos(re mi),odas are right

2. Lollllllllll. Hence the F9 inspite of Mr. Oke and my mother's Ilotis that left your ears hot as in cartoons with steam pouring out. Abara, ifoti, iloti and elbows were her stock in trade. Her assistants in alupa were orogun and igbale and occasionally, bata. Yoruba mothers! I hail.

3. But considering her own grandmother favoured squishing children in a corner with her gargantuan bum and beating them into submission, my mama learned from the best. My grandmother relied on the ever trusty pankere and igi tutu. The secret of igi tutu is the freshness. It doesn't break mid-beating.

39. Stella u don mara, food nearly came out of my nose as a result of laughter, nice one

40. My mum's 'Abara' those days is superb,u can't help but roll on d floor.,who u be? Wa gba aswear. I love 'yorubas', I pray to marry a yoruba man,dat will mean dream come thru for me.

41. Speaking of igbati, stella have u watched dat miley cyrus_ wrecking ball remix?? By Naija boyz
    Hilarious! Y'all watch and give me feed back. :-)

http://www.hoodplug.com/video/miley-cyrus-wrecking-ball-african-version/IjQQ6Wc8#.Up5TvMmPLht

42. This comment has been removed by the author.

43. igba- when
    igba-fruit

44. Lik my british son will say omo yoruba ni mi o swagger. Am Proud to be yoruba thanks stella

45. ikom girl in lagos6 December 2013 at 15:09

*tears streaming down my face*
    my boss dey look me as i dey vibrate for laughter. sai! StoDK. this is the funniest post ever. oya! comments keep rolling

46. Biko,all I wanna know in this Yoruba thingy is what it means when someone is called 'amebo oshi' & 'oshisco' on blogs.

1. Amebo is tatafo
      Oshi mean rubbish
      Oshisco is rubbish

47. Biko,all I wanna know in this Yoruba thingy is what it means when someone is called 'amebo oshi' & 'oshisco' on blogs.

1. Amebo - Gossip (asin the person - .e.g. u r a gossip) oshi - rubbish

Means stupid gossip (refering to the person not the gist).

Oshisco is still oshi asin rubbish or nonsense...

48. Nice one @Stella,chai cnt forget my mom´s abara back then,the thing would enter into ur akinyemi egungun and ara hahahahahahahaha,oga ju and it was such a deterrent measure that u dare not misbehave or misyarn again,those abaras reformed me and i would forever be grateful to my mom for that. We also have some words that sounds same way but has different meanings,e.g ako-meaning shakara or yanga,ako-meaning male specie of an animal or any living thing.

49. Am I right on des: ise=work, ise =poverty

50. Being a kid then, whenever i offend my mum, i always make sure i stand at a distance of her arms length + allowance of 3 inches to avoid d ifoti. God bless my mum for those categories of slaps, they helped me shaped dis responsible adult

51. Mo ra Dodo ni Ido
    Moje Dodo ni Ido
    Mo tun fowo Dodo
    Po mo ni Dodo
    Ni Dodo

Proudly Yoruba

52. Obo is also a monkey.....see

53. Obo is also a monkey.....see

54. @Ozone baby, Amebo means a gossiper, oshi means rubbish, but the oshico is a way to make it sound polish.

55. Abara dey chase demons out of the life of a person. if u chop am well well and you misbehave later in life. your case is beyond redemption.

if my mum bless me with abara to da (correct abara), my brain will temporarily go blank and will lost sight briefly. sharp sharp my sim card will reset itself.

56. What about big dick, smelly pussy, gay, lesbians, suck my dick, eat my pussy, and what about please fuck me gently. .........lol

57. Obe baba bo
    O ba obo oba
    A o ba baba be oba
    A o ba bee

58. U're too funny Stella!

59. @ Mrs Julia.O.CEO....May God bless you for that hilarious video!..laughed so hard that I started to feel warm.....the snow has been killing me since yesterday..http://www.hoodplug.com/video/miley-cyrus-wrecking-ball-african-version/IjQQ6Wc8#.UqKDj3-9KSO
    Thank you!

60. Ewa - Beans
    Ewa - Beauty
    Ewa - Come here
    Ewa - You came
    Ewa - You didn't come

61. Mugus!!!!! Dnt u all knw dt dey hv different pronunciations and intonations to indicate d meaning????? Dey r spelt d same way,but most of d pronunciations r different......I'm nt evn yoruba...............you're welcome!

1. You must be a fool for calling people mugus, must u come here to display ur studipty? And what makes u feel pple don't know they have different pronounciations? If u don't have any contribution to dis post, kindly jump and pass and stop displaying ur stupidity...

62. Lmao I remember my dads iko(knocks) bt d igbarun 4 back of my neck na him worst d thing will give me vibration inshort tears will just come rolling down...my pupsie slap me once and the next day I had ear infection,the scar of d surgery is still there till today