Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Basketmouth Speaks On The Rape Joke That Went Viral....Says There Should Not Be A Limit To Jokes.

Saturday, January 11, 2014

Basketmouth Speaks On The Rape Joke That Went Viral....Says There Should Not Be A Limit To Jokes.

Basketmouth is in London and he sat down with Adesope Olajide of Vox Africa to speak on the rape joke he cracked on facebook that went negatively viral a few days back.

On Rape Joke Controversy: 

“Definitely I am sorry about what happened. The people that it offended…I won’t say the people that misunderstood but the people that it offended. It’s not like I left Nigeria because of that, I already booked my ticket since three months ago.
It limits me though. Now it limits the type of jokes I’m going to be cracking right now. Sadly, every joke hits people the wrong way. If I crack jokes about food, there are people in third world countries saying, ‘Why is he cracking jokes about food? Have I chop na?’ They will just go on twitter and say ‘This guy should stop cracking jokes about food, I haven’t eaten’.”

On topics that are off limits:

“No. If you’re a comedian, you have the power to crack jokes because the truth is humour has no limits. You can crack jokes about death, living, anything you want to crack jokes about.
Humour has its own education that sends a message. Everything is funny. Everything in life is funny, there is humour in everything that we do. Society actually structures one. For me, the only thing that limits me is if I go for a church event I won’t crack any joke that has any X in it. Then if I go for an event where everyone is drinking and drunk with their wives, I’m not going to be cracking jokes about Noah and Solomon, I have to crack a joke that suits them. I crack my jokes according to the audience. So that’s my limit. I limit myself according to the audience, but when it comes to jokes there shouldn’t be any limit. But because of the culture and everything, you have to respect the fact that people might find it offensive and just hold back.”

On people finding jokes offensive: 

”The truth about jokes is no matter what type of joke you crack there are people in the audience that won’t find it funny. People get offended for different reasons.  Wale Gates was telling me about a joke he cracked about his wife and how someone was upset and said, ‘Why would you crack a joke about your wife.’ And he said ‘Look, she’s my wife. If anyone is going to be upset, can you let her be upset?’ And she heard the joke before and she wasn’t upset. People take jokes in different ways, unfortunately everybody made it look like it’s the first joke that I’m cracking. I cracked a joke about “Two things involved” and it ended up being a positive angle and nobody talked about it. The only joke that people like that I’ve cracked right now is about me dying. I cracked a joke about my funeral and they loved it.”
culled from bellanaija

*Basket mouth don start to leak again ooooh...abeggy oh,make una hear am very well..
nah talk like this turn this man to millionaire!...LOL

26 comments:

1. More of you Bright.
    I love you.
    King of comedy!

2. Please u guys shoul leave this matter na! Everbody in nigeria knows basketmouth is a comedian, his just making one of his jokes! Abeg make una no dey rewind matter we don throwe te te!.

3. Jokes are serious issues said on a lighter note..

4. You have learn your lesson now..

5. He has /had a right to crack the joke. People just wanted to do oversabi and mock him..in my opinion nothing was offensive about it..its just a joke..na wa for Nigerian ojere

6. The truth be told. I didn't see dt joke offensive. Ppl shld knw he is a comedian he can joke wit anytyn. It was a joke dey shld get over it. Doesn't mean he encourages rape

7. Basketmouth for president!

8. Any oda Basket mouth is a counterfeit! Luv u jare!

9. there is nothing offensive about the joke jareeh, they just want to talk miii,basket mouth leak more ,aim your die hard fan

10. It is just a joke. Take it personal @ur own risk

11. I love u Basketmouth,u are def d best!but let this rape joke issue be cos yes u F**kedd up.there should definitely be limits to joke whether u like it or not and dat rape joke was uncalled for!itt sends a wrong impression to d youth of today dat have excess adrenaline and live by what celebs do and say!its like u saying rape is an option and a no biggie'.

12. Of course there shld be limit to jokes. Dts the problem with our folks, most aren't civilised. Haven't u read abt a comedian in a certain country dt was killed after he made a silly joke? U don't joke abt sensitive issues. Rape is on the rise in 9ja n we are trying to curb it. Same vulnerable women come out here n say a joke is a joke n shldnt have limit. Hell no! We won't condone any of their silly n vulgar jokes against women anymore. If he lived in Colombia, he Wuld have been dead by now.

1. Exactly! There should be a limit to jokes, imagine if he had said that joke infront of an audience and there was a rape victim there. How about someone jokes about raping his wife or killing someone in his family or kidnapping his kid, let's see if he'll say it's just a joke. #rme

13. I was shaking my head until I read your comment; Anonymous January 11, 2014 at 2:16 PM. You are a voice of reason.

If all jokes are open then is it okay to joke about paedophilia, incest, Prophet Mohammed and LGBT? As a parent I don't want to hear any paedophilia jokes.

There should be a line that should not be crossed.

14. Basket mouth didn't even invent that joke, that joke went viral on facebook sometime last year but as the people that we are in Nigerian....we love to make people accountable for all misfortune its a shame!

15. There are some things you don't joke about, rape is one of those things. Thank you.

16. Rape is armed robbery of the soul and mind.

Irreconcilable, irrevocable and Infinite damage to a woman, man or a child.

That is no JOKE!

*I still LOVE Basket mouth*

17. If you are a Lady, and you don't find that Joke offensive, then i'm sorry to say this,You are a moron. There are things you don't ever joke with. Rape is bad and should not be something to joke about. The types of Ladies we have in this naija. SMH.

18. His response to the criticism is what annoyed me.. he could have handles it better..

19. Its jst a joke naaaa, see no reason y he should b tackle severely...if thats the case then all commedians should b.....still the best

20. This guy really try sha. . . Hin get time well well; if 4 sey na me hin resemble, who for send wuna?

#MeekHEARTEDbright

21. Oh com'on people... There was nothing wrong with the joke. He neither encouraged nor endorsed, but only described a situation. And depending on context, jokes can be made about practically any subject. Besides, there are several rape jokes that nobody has found offensive. There's this one of a call girl going to report that she found out she was raped after the cheque bounced. Would you say that that was in bad light?