Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Parents Lock Up 16-year-old Twin In Cage For 30 Months Over Witchcraft Allegations.

Thursday, January 23, 2014

Parents Lock Up 16-year-old Twin In Cage For 30 Months Over Witchcraft Allegations.

A 16-year-old twin locked up by her parents in a wooden cage for over 30 months on allegation of witchcraft has been rescued in Bayelsa State.
Her parents attributed their cruelty to Blessing Olokumo to  her strange behaviour, which they claimed was because she was a witch.....OMG this is so wrong.

A group, Mary Slessor Twins Foundation, which rescued her, said she was  locked in a wooden cage for over two-and-a-half years.

Acting President of the group, Mr. Tonyon Ebitei Robert, said Olokumo was locked up because she was always defecating around the family's house.
Her father, who is also a twin and a security official with the Niger Delta University Teaching Hospital in Okolobiri, allegedly built the cage and locked up his daughter to keep her away from the main house.

“She was kept like a rabbit. She was given food when it was available and was allowed to sleep in her vomit, faeces, urine. She lost weight and could have died,” Robert said.

He told reporters that the group, which is known for its campaign against maltreatment of twins in the state, was contacted by concerned indigenes of Okolobiri community where the Olokumo family resides.

Olokumo has been taken to the teaching hospital for proper medical treatment. However, attempts to speak with her father were futile as he was said to have absconded from home. But some indigenes of the community condemned the act, describing it as callous and wicked.

Robert said the group would lodge a formal complaint with the police and the Welfare Department of the state Ministry of Women Affairs.
“Criminal charges of child abduction, inhuman treatment, child molestation and failure to enrol  the child for proper education will be brought against the parents,”  culled from thisday

*Wicked parents!

32 comments:

1. Instead of them to look for solution for d child dey re lockn her up. Dts cruel.

1. Na wah o...
      Things dey happen for this world.
      Just yesterday I read about a demented woman in d us that stabbed her two children to death blaming it on exorcism.
      This isn't just a Naija thing.
      Religion has misled so many souls.

2. Hum! I don't get it, what a world we live in?parents are turning into zombies towards their own kids. Tufia!

1. "My people perish for lack of knowledge".
      Ignorance can destroy. May God help the poor girl.

4. dey shld av taken her to church for deliverance instead , but dat is a very bad thing to ur own child

1. The girl probably has a mental illness or bowel problem.....she should have been taken to the hospital, not everything is about running to church, even pastors go for check ups!

2. thank u oh, Dadashnami!!! Nigerians everything na church....ignorance will not kill them oh

5. Tufiakwa! I can't even imagine an ant biting my child, how much more this...the peak of maltreatment to ur own offspring? *spits*

6. Some pple dont deserve to have children,if you cannot take care of a child pls and pls dont bother gettin pregnant.thats why i still commend oprah winfrey .
    May God heal and strengthen her

7. So the neighbours didn't notice all of that wickedness abi? Not until rescue came, just imagine the world we live in. Please we should always learn to be out brothers keeper. As for the parents of the child dey should be jailed for life.

1. Go back α̲̅πϑ read the write up again...they Ǎ̜̣̍я̩̥̊ε̲̣̣̣̥ d ones that alerted the group when they couldnt take ℓ̊τ̅ anymore.

2. after 2 and half years? They should all be arrested..

8. Oh God! They don't deserve to have kids....Speechless

9. Ignoramus ni awon eleyi oO

10. Some ppl and their mentality.....Ignorant and wicked parents

11. Wtf,everyday 1 nonsense gist or the order,wat if she has a medical conditon dey wil attribute it 2 witchcraft.meaning my grandmother suppose get dog chain.hian o

12. I know witchcraft is real but they shd v looked for a solution for her. Dnt know why this maltreatment of suspected kids witchcraft is mostly common in calabar, Akwaibom n dis middle belt states.

13. Most of these children with strange behaviors are autistic or have other health issues. Ignorance and fake pastors will not allow us to see beyond witchcraft . God please open the eyes of we Africans. Rose

14. So becos she Deficates arnd d house means shez a witch.illeracy is sure a disease.hw wld and evil does parents are.they shd be arrested abeg.

1. You should arrested too for bad grammar.

Sumbo.

15. The parents sef chop raw winch. Wonders shall never end.

16. Till wen we Africa's learn how to love and care for witches/wizards matter go hard. Cage ur own children twins for dat.matter. I smell naija pastor involved in dis with dia fake prophecy....

1. Shut up, whether u like it or not witchcraft is real and more rampant in Africa......however we know not every case is a case of witchcraft......so like it or not pastors will always be relevant to the body of Christ....

17. This thing is rampant in bayelsa wia a sick or abnormal child is said to be posessed. I have a child that has cerebral palsy! D severe kind and needs special attention, They told me it is snake spirit disturbing d child. After him. I had 2 miscacrriages and soMe people atributed d experience to my sons presence in d house. That d spirit in d boy won't let me concieve I should dispose d child. My husband nearly ran mad wen he hrd that nonsense. Thank God for my hubby who is too educated to listen to his family members. We give our son d best k one could give a normal child. Today God has blessed us, I'm heavily pregnant and will pop soon. Those ignorant people have been put to shame. To God be d glory!

1. I am happy for you dear,
      Our faith can be tested through different means....
      A lesson to learn here,
      To God be the glory..
      Wish you a safe delivery....

18. They should lock the parents in the cage too to see what it feels like.
    Some pple are wicked sha! How can u lock up a child that came from you like a rabbit and feed her when its available.
    Thank God for the foundation and God really has a purpose for the child's life for her to have survived the nightmare for 30 whole months. I wish the girl all the best!

19. Nawa o, dere is nothing we wnt hear in ds last days. Wicked parents indeed!, so wot dd d locking up change abt her? Na now sef she go begin dsplay d "supposed witchcraft" attitude d more cos she wnt b balanced psychologically n emotionally anymore. Well sha make dem subject her parents t d same treatment, nonsense!