Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Autism - All You Need To Know + LAGOSWALKFORAUTISM

Monday, March 03, 2014

Autism - All You Need To Know + LAGOSWALKFORAUTISM

Do you have an autistic child or relation?
Do you even know what autism means?

Autism is a disorder of neural development characterized by impaired social interaction and verbal and non-verbal communication, and by restricted, repetitive or stereotyped behaviour. The diagnostic criteria require that symptoms become apparent before a child is three years old.Autism affects information processing in the brain by altering how nerve cells and their synapses connect and organise; how this occurs is not well understood.

It is one of three recognized disorders in the autism spectrum (ASDs), the other two being Asperger syndrome, which lacks delays in cognitive development and language, and pervasive developmental disorder, not otherwise specified (commonly abbreviated as PDD-NOS), which is diagnosed when the full set of criteria for autism or Asperger syndrome are not met.

Autism has a strong genetic basis, although the genetics of autism are complex and it is unclear whether ASD is explained more by rare mutations, or by rare combinations of common genetic variants. In rare cases, autism is strongly associated with agents that cause birth defects.Controversies surround other proposed environmental causes, such as heavy metals, pesticides or childhood vaccines; the vaccine hypotheses are biologically implausible and lack convincing scientific evidence.

The prevalence of autism is about 1–2 per 1,000 people worldwide, and it occurs about four times more often in boys than girls. 

Parents usually notice signs in the first two years of their child's life.
The signs usually develop gradually, but some autistic children first develop more normally and then regress.Early behavioral, cognitive, or speech interventions can help autistic children gain self-care, social, and communication skills. Although there is no known cure,there have been reported cases of children who recovered.

Not many children with autism live independently after reaching adulthood, though some become successful.An autistic culture has developed, with some individuals seeking a cure and others believing autism should be accepted as a difference and not treated as a disorder.

Come out and let's fight a common course.
Join the LagosWalk4Autism on March 22,2014 at 7:30am from National Stadium Surulere to Orthopaedic Hospital Igbobi. 

Donation envelops are available,give for autism in Nigeria

Order your Tshirts early!.
Phone no.08165376463
Pin:2B54C774

34 comments:

1. Stella thank you for posting this about Autism. A lot of nigerians don't know about it. They believe a child not development as he or she should is spiritual. Ignorance is a disease. With a good speech terapy some children with autism talks. I

1. They spoke about this in my church yst *fountain of life* @ discovery 4 women, how weird!!!

2. That's lovely,i will walk if am chanced.

3. Hmmmm,
    God help us.
    I would really love to know more about this autism. I friend's son who is over 2 years can't utter a word or do things babies his age and younger can do. He still makes baby sounds.
    He has started school but nothing shows he is learning anything. He doesn't show any intrest atall. Nothing suggests he is deaf. He plays and climbs well on his own but hardly interacts with other kids his age. Even when other kids try to play with him, he pushes them away.
    His mum is so worried, I have tried my best to reasure her that all is well and that the boy might just be a slow developer who will pickup soon but the poor lady no wan hear, she is freaking out. I adviced her to go see a Pediatrician but she is scared of what they might tell her.
    Please can someone tell me what could be wrong with him.

1. Your friend should please take her son to see a Pediatrician ASAP.
      2 yrs and can't utter a word? That's strange.

2. Let her go see a Paediatrician...the earlier,the better! All the best to your friend.

3. Pls tell ur friend to stop being afraid and think about her child. The sooner she goes to a good specialist,the better. I've read that if its caught early, the changes of managing it is better.

4. Dear Genny, let your friend take her son to see a peadiatrician immediately. The earlier the better my dear, it could be anything and it could also be nothing. All the best!

5. I am really excited about this concept. An eye opener to all those who believe some kids are possessed or bewitched due to thier developmental delay(s).

Another thing that really bother me is the fact that most Nigerians are unaware of CPR.
    A simple technique that can save Lives.

I was watching a Nigerian movie on youtube on friday, the lady fainted and the next thing they did after pouring water on her was UNBELIEVABLE!

Her mother brought Hot Grounded pepper for her Vagina. WTF!

She woke up dancing and yelling. Excruciating!

CPR is much, much, much easier and pain free.

6. Give her the contact above,so she can talk to the right people,it could be anything,the earlier she detects the better.

7. @Genny I think her son case is a sign of autism. She need to take him to the hospital for proper diagnosis and treatment, it is even getting late she also need to learn how to handle the situation early. Sad .

8. Genny Baby

Nothing is wrong with your friend's son. He is just differently able. . .

But 2 years is a good time to start necessary intervention and support so if you let me know how to contact your friend or you we can get the ball rolling.

Regards

9. Im glad people are creating awareness for Autism. I know a family where the only son is autistic and its so disheartening. Even at adulthood, he still uses helps to do everything, the mum had to put her life on hold for him but thank God their father has a comfy job.

10. Autistic children need special care and attention,there are specially trained teachers that usually home school them and help manage the disorder....heard if properly managed the symptoms decreases as they grow!

11. Genny.u v told her d ryt tin to do.d child needs evaluation by a pediatrician.u say he plays nd climbs well on hs own.its a plus..does he play wt d mum.wat kind of baby sound does he make.he cant pronounce dada or evn mama.d parent shld ask frm their folks if they takes tym b4 talkin cos it can b genetic.does he have any kind of facial looks dat s saggy.mts korkus has gvn d insight of autism.if u nid more info.browse for it nd tell ur frnd d earlier she takes d child to a good hosp d beta for her cos at d tail end she wl still find out weda positive or negative.she shld brace herself

Young Forever

1. @YF,his facial features are perfect, he is a handsome boy.No he can't prononce the usual dada and mama, inshort he can't prononce anything, he doesn't even bother to try.
      He still makes sounds like a 7 month old baby.
      I have given his mother this link.
      She now knows she really has to see a Pediatrician fast.
      Thanks to all that responded, we are greatful. God bless you all.

12. Autistic children too deserve som luv; d walk is a right step in a right direction. Awareness is key.

13. Genny, the baby may be autistic or may not be. But let her put the baby on cassein and Gluten free food. She should also get him a speech therapist. Then pray, God is in control. Rose

14. These children are often more intelligent with high IQ.if well managed they won't depend on you for life

15. Now all of u are formin showin lov. Am preety sure a lot of girls will abort dia autistic babies if dey discover within 3months of pregnancy dat d babies are autistic. Witches.

16. Stella, if you agree, can we use this platform to raise fund for them? Its laid in my heart to reach out to them cos they are unique and blessed.

17. Hello Genny,

Tell your friend to take her son to see a paediatric ENT specialist,ASAP.
    I am sure there is one in LUTH,assuming she stays in Lagos.
    My son was not talking at two years and i almost freaked out of my body. I was not even convinced he was hearing well.
    I took him to see lots of specialists, conflicting results but there was a sign that dude was not fine. The last specialist said they could see nothing wrong (with positive results to tests that had been negative in the past) and we should just go home and try to restrict him to one language.
    Weeks later,we experienced a miracle and the man has started talking and talking well. His vocabulary is still less limited than his elder sibling was at his age but I understand that each child develops at his own pace.
    Let your friend see a specialist immediately and assuming she is a believer in God and his miracles address the issue with fervent prayers.
    I await her testimony.

18. Genny, I just typed the post about my son above.
    One more thing, she should seek several opinions before coming to a conclusion. We have seen kids diagnosed as autistic developing into normal adults or even teenagers.
    It is a slightly complicated thing to diagnose.

19. I don't even know why I am commenting in bits. Apologies. At 2,my son could not say anything and had no interest in even saying any.
    He could not say his name,much less mummy and daddy. You could call him and he will not recognise.
    Kai!! Thinking of it now, na major miracle dey my house so. Now even with his limited vocabulary, he disturbs the whole house and insists on having his way.
    Baba God,I thank you plenty showing up suddenly in my son's life.

20. I have a 21 year old autistic younger brother and even though he was correctly diagnosed when he was 3 years old, he didn't have a lot of schools or facilities available in Nigeria to handle his situation and my family has home schooled him for the majority of his life and even those teachers were less than mediocre at best, then you have people that assume he is a wizard; incorrigible family members and friends that have taken advantage of him and his immediate family members.
    Thankfully we are speaking about it now.so we can be informed and hopefully there's a niche market for services for Autistic children and their families

21. thanks stella. i have a brother with this defect and it breaks my heart coz he hasnt gotten the necessary treatment. my folks are so annoying when it comes to his matter.
    taking him here and there for one prayer or the other!
    yea i know prayer is important but he would improve if taken to the proper place. sometimes i just fink we are punished for something because i had a good job ild just handle the matter the best possible way.

its well.
    i need this t-shirt asap

22. thanks stella. i have a brother with this defect and it breaks my heart coz he hasnt gotten the necessary treatment. my folks are so annoying when it comes to his matter.
    taking him here and there for one prayer or the other!
    yea i know prayer is important but he would improve if taken to the proper place. sometimes i just fink we are punished for something because i had a good job ild just handle the matter the best possible way.

its well.
    i need this t-shirt asap

23. Hhello house. .it really breaks my heart to ķnow that people arent still aware bout this very serious and complicated developmental disorder in Nigeria. .I am a behavioral therapist and I work strictly with children on the autism spectrum. What we preach is early intervention..we all know that children have developmental milestones I.e from 0 - 18months..please if u notice ur child isn't developing as he shld, seek for help and dont wait till he is 5years old cos it is very dangerous..please if u need help you can go to THE LEARNING PLACE CENTER , 18, CHRIS MADUIKE DRIVE LEKKI PHASE 1 LAGOS. .they help children on the autism spectrum discover that there is ability in disability..

24. @anon March 3, 2014 at 4:56 PM you are the real wicked witch.

25. You all need to know more,
    Join the walk,come march 22,2014. Take off: national stadium surulere @7:30am
    Ends: @ Orthopaedic Hospital Igbobi.
    Call or ping for the Tshirts or pick up @ the venue that morning,it's 1 thousand naira each.
    Giving your time,leg and voice,even showing your face alone means a lot,its all part of the donation.
    AUTISM is a disorder NOT a disease or 'DEMONIC.

26. Early is better! Many years ago when my team and I began alerting Nigerians that autism cases are present and those affected are not being picked up early enough when intervention yields faster and enduring results; a well known medical doctor warned me to stop scaring the public....that autism is a very rare condition and in fact Oyibo wahala! He was right, but only in 1940s!!! Then We designed Tshirts with the tag "Autism is in Nigeria" and organized a road walk for autism. I think this was a year before the UN declared World Autism Awareness Day beginning 2008.

A lot has happened since then : more schools accepting kids with autism; more centers springing up; more Therapists and professionals being trained; more parents speaking publicl and supporting one another; even banks and other corporate individuals now stand up for autism. There is however, a lot of autism illiteracy around and you too can make a difference!!

Never adopt the'wait and see' attitude, take action once you notice your child is not meeting milestones ; showing unusual symptoms and importantly if any regression or loss of previously acquired skill (such as loss of speech)is noticed. As soon as I find time, I would love to post the contact details of service providers that I know. A group of concerned women, The Wow Divas recently published a directory with autism organizations and autism friendly schools around the country. Copies of that publication will be available at the venue of the walk.

Autism and it's entire spectrum are indeed the fastest occurring childhood disorder.

27. We believe that all children deserve to be loved and understood and platform for us to learn about Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD). We all make up the community and excluding anyone makes us incomplete. JOIN THE LAGOSWALK4AUTISM 2014. Autism awareness. Be a voice to children with special needs. Sat. 22nd. March.. 7:30am (National Stadium - Igbobi)... I WILL BE THERE... YOU?