Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Govt Should Stop Giving Actors Money - John Okafor Says

Friday, March 21, 2014

Nigerian Govt Should Stop Giving Actors Money - John Okafor Says

POPULAR actor, John Okafor has decried the absence of adequate structures in Nollywood.
Also he criticised the recent visit of the Actors’ Guild of Nigeria to President Goodluck Jonathan, which did not appear to go down well with some people who queried the motive in the first place.

For these critics, the actors only went to grab a ‘piece of the national cake.’ And though the actors concerned have since defended their decision to pay the President a courtesy visit, popular Nigerian comic actor, John Okafor, popularly known as Mr. Ibu, is still not pleased.
According to the actor who rose to prominence after his breakout role in the 1997 movie, Agony, where he portrayed an imbecile, the Federal Government has yet to set its priorities right with regard to Nollywood.

“The government should stop giving Actors’ Guild cash, because we don’t know how to handle it. Some people will go to the office, process the money and squander it and we (actors) never benefit from such goodwill.

“If they (government) can give us a structure or land, we (actors) can go ahead and secure funds from investors to build five-star hotels and other facilities on it, because it will be a tourist haven. We can bring the Nigerian Censor’s board into the same arena.
“How can we be paying N50,000 to have one movie censored and then generate N5m from over 100 movies produced in a month and yet there aren’t any structures in place for Nollywood? “With such amount of money, government should be able to cater for us. If this is done, the industry will make a giant stride.”

Besides the lack of infrastructure, Okafor also drew attention to what he described as an ‘ugly trend’. “Homosexuality is very rampant in our industry and it is one thing that aggravates my anger many at times,” culled

35 comments:

1. Thumbs up mr IBU! A big applaud to that, I never knw u get sense like this....lolsss, Nicholas Anelka talking.

2. Roles can be deceptive at times! Whoever told me Mr Ibu is this smart in reality, he raised pressing points that calls for attention.

3. Their visit 2 villa was shocking 2 most pp xpecially bcos pp were not well represented, eg. Nobody frm Calabar guild was represented, mbuk

4. Hahahahaha as i read along,i kept laughing hard,what he said makes sense though, but thinking-of his characters in his movies actually did not allow me get his message,BC when John is serious in his movies,someone at the corner is laughing at him out loud.
    Mr IBU,get this fact;we don't build institutions that last long here,because once you are building, another person is coming to demolish efforts, we are not one people.

5. dat hausa girl that blogs21 March 2014 at 09:10

Ride on mr ibu,I love u for saying d truth. ibinabo n co hope u guys ve heard,seeking for your personal interest . Bunch of eye service pple in nolly wood.

6. Well said..this their so called visits is becoming very annoying

7. U head is there mr ibu

8. The least of our problems in this country.

9. Spot on Mr IBU! Tell them.

Nigeria and Nigerians has lost its bearing. People are past caring, positivity is no longer an option, negativity and immorality is now the easy way out.

Can this world just end?

10. Ogheneneme biko. God help nigeria

11. Government should sponsor the industry, instead of presenting a trojan horse to individual actors

12. Can someone pls explain wat dis dude is trying to say pls?

1. U really don't understand or u'r trying (too hard) 2 b stupid?

13. Ibu talkam! Anybody wey i pain, make him com answer u back. Oloshi dem. They've collected & still denies they weren't there 4 money. Btw all those things u mentioned, i don't fink they're d most important in Nigeria right now. They're more delicate issues u guys should encourage d govt 2 embark on.

14. And governors should stop patronising the women sexually and paying millions.

15. He sure made some sense. Instead of giving them cash, the FG should set up infrastructures and facilities that would move the industry forward .

16. He is entitled to his opinion but I think he is making sense.

17. Replies
    1. Who is your dear?

2. Shut up anon, ghetto irritants like u come here to run ppl down with ur low sense of humor. Ss

18. Most Nigerians can't be trusted with money.

19. Gbam! Gbamer!! Gbamest!!!

20. Well said John Okafor a.k.a Mr Ibu.
    We shud even b able t boast of film villages in major cities in Nigeria. Being d 3rd largest film industry in d world no b moi moi dey shud b structures on ground t boost our film industry; we r getting dere anyways!

21. WHY DO I DISLIKE THIS MAN SO? HMMMNNNNN. I CAN'T. SPEND. ONE. MINUTE. OF MY. LIFE. WATCHING. HIS. MOVIE.

1. Why won't u dislike him illiterate like u. Look at your messages capital letters (shouting) and full stop on all sentence. Did u go to night school?

22. True talk mr okafor. By now we should have a Nollywood not only in name but physically in a place

23. True talk! but wait o 50,000 2 censor 1 movie serious money na hin federal govt dey generate ooo yet una dey produced yeye movie 4 us

#sholamatty**

24. GBAMEST! Mr Ibu has spoken.
    Wise words.
    So na only for home video you be Mumu???
    Thank God!!!!

25. Ehya..I feel Ʊя pain Mr. Ibu...you are the change we need..never voice down

26. Gbam! EVE E UME

27. So he wants money to build five star hotel and have perpetual income on the taxpayers back for what? It would have been better for him to request the funds be used to setup a health and life insurance policy for them, so if they come down with a terrible disease at least they wont have to bother the public for funds. If they die their families would have some form of benefit to receive and they should also pay into the policy as well.

Common Nigerians want light and water, and this man want five star hotel and tourist venture with perpetual income. Him no better than the government.

28. So this guy get sense like this? Very impressive. Well done Mr Ibu.
    Long distance relationships- Yay or nay.....share your views on omalichaspeaks.blogspot.com

29. Anon 6:26 atleast he wants something for the industry

U what do u want for ur family
    If u don't like what he said go and sleep

30. All u criticising ibu r plain stupid! What's ibinabo Fisherman or what's that her name again clamouring 4 nollywood? Nothing but her personal pocket n contacts. Ibu has a plan n goal instead of govt dashing out money let dem b encourage of d bigger pics. All our govt does best is on dash n wasting money on frivolity. *SEE