Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Onyeka Onwenu Allegedly Assaults Woman And She Has Petitioned The Human Rights Commission!

Monday, March 10, 2014

Onyeka Onwenu Allegedly Assaults Woman And She Has Petitioned The Human Rights Commission!

Onyeka Onwenu,singer,politician and currently Director-General of the National Centre for Human Development has been accused of assault by a business woman, Mrs. Olajoke Adesipe.

The business woman, who sells textiles, said she was a yearly tenant, adding that her current tenancy would not end until December, 2014.
The petition reads in part, “On January 21, 2014, I heard that the DG might likely eject me even when my rent is still valid.”
Adesipe said she got a letter to vacate the premises within three days on January 28,2014, adding that another letter was served on her on February 4, in which the centre threatened to go to court.She explained that she wrote a letter to Onwenu on February 6, and sent her a text message three days later seeking an audience. She said the DG gave her an appointment for the following day.
Adesipe said she met other members of the management team at Onwenu’s office and she narrated her story.She said the musician apologised and said that a formal apology letter would be written by the centre to her.

She added that Onwenu said she should vacate the shop and promised that she would be relocated to the shopping complex within the premises.
Adesipe said she insisted that she would vacate the shop on the condition that she would be given an allocation letter.

“On February 13, I got a call from Onwenu asking why I had not moved out of the shop and I told her that nobody had given me an allocation letter for the new shop as she promised.
“She said if I failed to move out by February 14, she would send for the State Security Service to chase me out.“On February 14, I was at the centre early. I heard that Onwenu, in company with her security personnel, had forced my shop open. I ran there and saw her supervising the forceful ejection without any prior court or police order,” Adesipe stated in the petition.She explained that she took pictures of the scene with her phone and Onwenu directed that her phone be confiscated. She said in the struggle for the phone, she was beaten and dragged on the ground, while her cloth and bags were torn.

The Legal Adviser, Women centre, Mohammed Suleiman, however, explained that Adesipe was not a legal tenant of the centre.
He explained that she occupied a part of the auditorium, which she was not legally allocated though she paid N100,000 to the management of the hotel in charge of the hall.Suleiman said the centre asked Adesipe to relocate to another shop because President Goodluck Jonathan was visiting on February 14.

He said, “She was allocated shop 0.11 at the Oyibo Odinamadu Mall, but she complained that she would prefer a shop on the ground floor.
“The DG directed that she be given a shop downstairs and she was given shop 0.10. She also declined to take the keys.“It was apparent that she wanted to create a scene  during the Presidential visit. The security directed that her ware be removed and the instruction was effected.” culled from punch

46 comments:

1. Haba! They went too far nau, why confiscate her phone on top that beat her join? They should have dialogued this out! The woman is someone's mother and wife for crying out loud.

1. If they abused her physically it is very wrong and unethical. And for that I resent Onwenu. She being a woman should know better. However, this woman sef seems like a stubborn woman. In her own words, she stated that on first contact, Onwenu was apologetic and even offered to appease her officially. Hence she was asked to vacate the store and be given a different one. Which is fair enough. And if what the legal adviser is saying is true, that she was offered 2 stores but she declined, and also that she's an illegal tenant because she was sublet the store, then Adesipe didn't respect her self either. She should have complied, given that they offered her alternatives. Not that she was thrown out outrightly. Now she may end up losing the privilege given her abinitio. And lose the remaining of her illegal tenancy agreement.

2. Why are most Nigerians frustrated and agressive?

With love,
    AB/AM

1. Never heard of anything good about this Onyeka. I heard from so many sources that she's wicked, selfish and stingy. Let her contest till tomorrow;she won't win

3. Why will the woman want to creat a scene, will GEJ dash her money? Abeg Oga look 4 another story biko we aren't buying this one

1. Princess Charming10 March 2014 at 17:04

Oh pls which scene is she creating here? Someone treats her in such manner, and you expect her to go mute?

2. Princess charming go n read wat the legal adviser said n come back n read wat I wrote again.

4. stella you see why i say most nigerians are the same. later they will be complaining of government. put an average nigerian in power, and he/she will do worse. nigerian government and nigerian people, dem no get any difference, na the same people. mschew. they should pay the woman back her rent before they evict her.

1. Princess Charming10 March 2014 at 17:06

What do you expect, as she don dey govt position. Smh for some Nigerians

5. Things dey happen. Absolute power corrupts absolutely.

6. I always knew Onyeka had a mean heart, rubbish! After dem go say dem dey fight n do rally for d gal child,hissssss

7. I don understand dis post

Madam onyeka don turn omonile?

1. My friend u can't be typing nonsense n making pipo laugh out randomly in a crowd,next time put warning b4 comment

2. Lmao @ omo onile.....they went too far though. She should have stopped the assault.
      Single moms, it's not the end of the world....Find out more on omalichaspeaks.blogspot.com

8. Hmmm, Our very own Onyeka Onwenu why naaah! You are supposed to be a role model and a defender of womem's rights. How could you, for whatever reason, supervise the man-handling of a fellow woman? Haba! and the irony is that it happened at the women's development center which is supposed to be the symbol of woman empowerment! Nooo that is so not right.Please as your number one fan I appeal to you to eat humble pie and apologize to the said lady immediately. Remember oh... "One love, keep us together..."

1. Princess Charming10 March 2014 at 17:07

Thank you! One million likes.

9. It reminds me of when my grandma had obstinate tenants thrown out. That family didn't pay rent for close to a decade, con dey give attitude join.

10. Hian! Orisirisi. Whose report should we belive?

11. I think she was right to as for a formal allocation letter. If she moves without formal allocation now, after that would be another problem.

What is it with Nogerians and aggression sef! Everything they would use force. What if the woman died when tegu were beating her? And what right does have to seize her phone and destroy her bag?

Woman rights my foot. So what's she fighting for then? What if The President is coming, so the world must come to a stand still abi?

That is why I love Fashola. Very humble man. I was at an event recently and he was there, you won't even believe the Governor was there. Everybody was soo free, even ordinary me parked not too far from he's car. And the man was gisting with cleaner whole he was there.
    You attend an event and let The President be there, they will first block all network, you won't be able to call or receive calls. And once he arrives like this they will block the road, u'll park 2km away and walk down. Plus see searching to access the place. He's security will practically touch your private part in the name of searching you!

This country ehn.....

12. I've not heard any good stuff about this lady from people who know her,Onyeka I hope this story is not true my dear elegant stallion.

13. Princess Charming10 March 2014 at 17:00

This is absurd and demeaning...like seriously? And to think I had so much respect for this Onyeka Onwenu is questionable. Even if the said tenant wasn't a legal occupant, why in heaven's name will she watch them drag a wife, someone's mother on the floor c'mon... "Women, we re our own enemy" What happened to dialogue or probably going to court? DG Onyeka Onwenu this is unethical...you should be charge for damages!

14. we are too quick to judge in this country, I dnt think someone who wil apologise to you even without knowing u, gave u an appointment to see her easily will be that mean to you if something didn't go down wrong. I think she was very choose wth the kind of shop she wanted. and she refused the first n second shop given to her. so in dis case madam u hve implicated urself by telling us the truth in part and denying that u were allocated shop.
    common sense is common

1. Anon 5:03pm,u made good point. If d said woman didn't ova step, d show won't ve happened. U people don't just come up here n say things. Reason deep. God forbid

2. Even if d woman was choosy....that shouldnt be an excuse for the maltreatment.....what about goung the legal way to evict her??they even confiscated her fone and tore het bag....on top wetin nah???

15. @flo its his and not he's

16. Pple who knw oyenka never speak well abt her! Think she needs to check herself

17. Pple who knw oyenka never speak well abt her! Think she needs to check herself

18. Different sides to the story, the woman has her own side and Onyeka's people have their own side.. we don't even know who is saying the truth.

19. People in dis country should learn how to respect odas, the woman had every right to choose which shop she wanted and not to relocate without a formal letter. Onwenu has body guards today bcos she is in govt doesn't mean she shld unleash them to harass oda citizens at the slightest provocation, afterall it is the tax payers money that is used to pay her and her body guards. The tax payers ( including the woman) therefore deserve some respects.

20. Onyeka Onwenu is power drunk, i am not surprised, the black man and power! If you ask me most Nigerian women in high post will do worst things than the men because they have no fear of God and are too arrogant How can she allow her Security men to assaults a fellow woman in her presence? I have met her twice , once at Alade market , the second time was in a chines restaurant on Opebi. SHE IS NOT A NICE PERSON. MTCHEEW.

21. This story is hanging on one leg

22. I can bey she did that, I met onyeka at the first Lady's peace concert for youtth and wanted to interview her, the way she replied me was rather inhuman considering she is a public office holder and a woman. I was really disappointed bc I tot she should be a loveable person since she preaches love in her songs

23. Am not surprised at all!! We once boarded a flight from Lagos to Abuja; one could literally touch her arrogance and air of self importance. To think she 'parades' herself as a 'Christian'.

1. I am going to confess because this has been on my mind. When Onyeka Onwenu was residing @ Enugu Town; sue was a student @ UNEC also dating Kris Okotie. This was in the 80's. Kris Okotie was driving a red sports cars then. We were kids. Someone informed us that Onyeka Onwenu who was a big "Ekwe" song star was walking past on foot. Because one hardly sees her being a big star. Us primary school kids excitedly ran after Onyeka Onwenu, closely behind her giggling and smiling for her to acknowledge us. Onyeka Onwenu IGNORED US. She walked off and walked on. Nwanyi afu - Onyeka Onwenu; TUFIAKWA. I understand she's old enough to be my mother, but errrrr... she try.

Stella, please publish my comments

24. I heard this story but find it hard to believe untill I met her personally and understood what that woman went through, I don't usually comment on this blog but I got angry because I used to like and respect her but not again

25. Onyeka Onwenu is really arrogant and walks like she owns Nigeria. Its rily annoying and u just want to set ur leg in front of her so she trips.Lol.*serious face*

26. Stella it's NATIONAL CENTRE FOR WOMEN DEVELOPMENT not human development

27. Damn! Nasty Onyeka.

28. Hehehe...make una no crucify Aunty Onyeka. She acted within the bounds of her arrogance...em sorry authority. She actually gave the said woman an opportunity for compensation. Showed her two stores? This is possibly not true. She went overboard with the assault if it did happen. Both women erred in my opinion. The Adesipe with recalcitrance and Onyeka with her authority. Let them give her more time to vacate the premises or give her a better shop. Anyway, I can't mediate a virtual dispute. I can't say whether the baby was born normal or breech when I wasn't at the birth. Let them keep pride and ethnic sentiments from public view abeg.

29. The fact that they collected money as rent from her has legalised her stay and she needs to be properly evicted. She should sue miss Onwenu in a court of law and seek redress. Being in a position of power obtained albeit through questionable and corrupt means does not make others in not so enviable positions a lesser being. Onwenu take NOTE

30. The fact that they collected money as rent from her has legalised her stay and she needs to be properly evicted. She should sue miss Onwenu in a court of law and seek redress. Being in a position of power obtained albeit through questionable and corrupt means does not make others in not so enviable positions a lesser being. Onwenu take NOTE