Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Extortion By Road Safety, VIO and Lagos State Officials At The Drivers License Office‏

Tuesday, April 15, 2014

Extortion By Road Safety, VIO and Lagos State Officials At The Drivers License Office‏

What do you think?

''Good morning Stella,

I am one of your big fan and blog visitor. I want to narrate the massive corruption and rip off being experienced by Nigerian citizens at the SURA drivers license office.

I went there on Friday 11 April 2014 to process my drivers license and i was made to pay N500 to check my form on line and also made to pay another N600 for a CD i don't need, before writhing the test. If you don't pay the N600, you wont be allowed to write the so called test of 10 questions which you wont even see your script or be told whether you passed or not. Everyone that paid N600 was to proceed to the next stage of processing the license, whether you can read or write or not. The amazing part is that the stupid CD had Lagos state Government boldly written on it, which means that it had the support of Lagos state Government.

No receipt was issued for all the irregular payments made (N500 and N600 totaling N1,100) and when i asked, i was told the receipt just finished and Lagos state, Alausa office is yet to supply. I asked for a written proof of payment and i wasn't given. I asked for their names and they started screaming at me, for asking for their names. All the VIO staffs parading themselves there and the Lagos state Government staff did not have any ID Cards to identify themselves because they know what they are doing is illegal.

Now see, lets be conservative and assume 5million applicants in Lagos, i.e.5million*N1,100 = N5.5billion for people who haven't done anything. People just sit down and extort innocent citizens unnecessarily in this country especially Lagos state. This has to stop.

The annoying side of the story, is that we all could not even do data capture and were told to come back in a month for a very stupid reason like we are jobless.

Stella please let all lagosians know about the illegalities of the  FRSC, VIO and Lagos state Government in the name of obtaining a drivers license''.

28 comments:

1. These people are all thieves in Lagos, Fashola should be alerted Soon. And let him know what Is happening

2. That's why we have a lot of unqualified drivers in Nigeria. 50% of road accidents in Nigeria is because of bad drivers. Imagine only 10 questions for theory. Why must everything be about money in Nigeria? and we keep on blaming our government.

3. My dear! My sis too was a victim n she even spent more jst to get d license, she told me d procedures n all I laffed over but in all goes to show how corrupt these pple are, but wen d leaders r corrupt wot do u except? Its jst a sad case o!!

4. Heheheheh me and my hubby paid 26k and did it in 1 hour.... My country My country... the money pain me well.... but my sister in law as been doing hers for months,and I wasn't about to go through that s**t and the way they just made us pass people that have been sitting down all day ehn???,but hey...

1. You are one of the problems we have in nigeria. Say no to corruption! It begins with you and yet you open your mouth to blame the government at any given opportunity. Rubbish!

CeeCee

5. Immigrations are worst...mtchewww....

1. My dear, u can say that again........

2. My dear, u can say that again........

6. Yet deir kids, siblinqs, cuz,relations come here n rain insults on Jonathan. Since he is d scapeqoat. God is watchinq u all!

7. "FROM: FRSC ETIOSA .
    Last Reminder, we wish to inform you that you can complete your biometric capture either on the 2nd or 4th of this month by 9:00am prompt. You will have yourself to blame if you do not show up. " That was the message sent by FRSC Sura complex to remind propsective licencees to come for biometric capture. Which respectable organization sends such a rude and insulting message to its stakeholders in the 21st century ? That showed the kind of disdain with which these people hold the people they are meant to be accountable to. You need to see the way these people insult and treat people shabilly at this Sura complex. It is as if they are doing you favours. Of course , it is a matter of time before the FRSC , Police and the VIOs start exhtorting innocent motorists all in the name of failure to produce the "new electronic driver's licence" . God will help us.

8. It's not new. Extortion has always been synonymous 2 Fashola's regime. It's his own way of enriching dmslves. D rich getting richer and d poor languishing in abject poverty. God no dey sleep

*drinks fura da nono

1. And you are very sure there was no extortion before Fashola abi???

9. I paid 17000 for d so called license for it to come out under a short duration of tym which it did came out, This is Nigeria, a country where everything goes either gud or bad. I love ma country except for some injustices.

10. This isn't new.
    It happens everywhere in Naija
    Bribery is seen as kola/gift even when they extort from u u just have to think of the next person to extort from.
    Corruption has been embraced.
    Corruption has come to stay

11. Dear Poster,do you have a choice?There had been series of complains to the governors office; he's reply is always like Jonathan, we have our people looking critically into the matter; the difference is Fashola speaks good English with Vocabularies,so most of us take him serious; Lagos has not seized being the chop-i-chop state, from lekki toll gate to drivers licence; when this guys even see that. you have. the new drivers licence,some go vex ask you for fire-estinguisher;nothing seems to work except there is money involved constantly then it works great; be thankful that you have a car and live this people to Chop; i remember getting the new plate number and in less than 3months all the ink just wiped out effortlessly, what will you do-Nothing because Nigeria won't listen;"na where them dey work;na there dem dey chop"

12. They are everywer, in calabar dey hav added 2 more named: DOPT and 100 marian, so annoying

1st 2 comment

13. This country is so scary n full of evil n corruption, dts y we really need to draw close to God n give our life to Jesus christ cos we don't what may happen next, even if rapture doesn't happen today, wot about d ppl dt died yesterday, we r not in any way better or more righteous than them but God chose to give us life so we can have another chance for repentance. The dead have given account of their lives wether in heaven or in hell but we dt are alife still v d chance to survive, please my brethren let's amend our ways n give our life to christ, death or repture can happen at any time n which ever comes first, let's be ready to meet our creator.

14. I was at that sura office on march 21st. It was same thing that happened to me.bunch of criminals..they couldnt even spell my name right.

15. ...and yet the same FRSC, VIO will stop you, demand for your D.L and tell you its fake.

This country is in shambles.

16. The Nigeria State is obviously a ridiculous joke. No measures whatsoever to redeem our disgusting image. Everybody is genetically connected to the 'I must chop' syndrome.
    Worse off is that we don't even know what is obtainable as the law or how to revolt against it, we'd rather romance our way through it.
    In Edo State, there are two ways to it. There re revenue offices you go to and your new driver's license comes out in three days. Same with the 'sharp sharp' office @FRSC. While the acclaimed real process takes over three months with data capture, eye tests, a fabricated driving school certificate from nowhere if u re requesting for a fresh DL.
    I use to have confidence in the FRSC, until when I witnessed the illegal practices.
    The difference they say between the 'sharp sharp' license and the three months is that the former is not captured on the computer and can be discovered when using it for high official purpose and the latter is captured and original.
    Never take the headache called Nigeria seriously, you might die of migraine.
    Abeg, where is Wide Eyed. Is you he/she? I have a huge crush on you!

17. Which way Nigeria?! Why can't we do things the right way without corruption. My friend recently visited nigeria and narrated her experience. Its such a huge shame though.

CeeCee

18. Corruption and wickedness is Nigeria's biggest problem.

19. I refused to pay any bribe and its been over a year now. My licence is nt out.
    Mteeeews

20. Na wetin police dey take chop now o. Once they stop you, they will ask for your driver's license cos they know a lot of people do not have it yet. mtschew!

21. No wonder the saying:'if u want to go to heaven,resign from the civil service!lol!

22. Not justifying their actions but let's look at it this way.
    Most of these people working there are paid below 70k. These are fathers with families. Now, imagine this man who is paid 70k has a daughter in LASU( I heard they now pay over 250k). How will he meet up? School fees, house rent etc.
    I have always said, if you want our policemen and co to reduce this bribery, pay them well......money is great motivation.

Back to the matter, I'm supposed to be doing my data capturing tomorrow....hmm....

23. Oh puhleeeaassee with that excuse! So the answer is extort money from people who probably make a third of what you earn???! I have always maintained that even if police welfare was brought up to ultra standard, and their salaries multiplied by 100, extortion will still continue! Why? Cos corruption has been ingrained in our psyche! Trust me, if severe consequences for corruption start being meted out on all levels, regardless of income level, they will know how to fall in line with their 70K! And no I am not being insensitive! I'm also a hardworking Nigerian trying to make my way through as well. Abeg jor!