Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Ebola On Campus? - Obafemi Awolowo University Press Release.

Wednesday, September 10, 2014

Ebola On Campus? - Obafemi Awolowo University Press Release.

SUSPECTED EBOLA CASE IN OAU: THE TRUTH OF THE MATTER.

A female student of the Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile Ife, who is suspected to be a secondary contact of the Ebola Virus Disease in Port-Harcourt, is presently sick at the University Health Centre.

After a clinical assessment by the Ebola Surveillance Preparedness and Response Committee of the University, the authorities thereafter contacted the State Ministry of Health, the Federal Ministry of Health and the World Health Organisation(WHO).

The female suspected to be a secondary Ebola contact has since been evacuated to the appropriate facility in Lagos for further investigations to confirm her status.

In the meantime, the National team and the World Health Organisation team on Ebola Control have promptly decontaminated the University Health Centre despite the fact that the case is yet to be confirmed.

The University authorities wish to emphasise the fact that the case is not a confirmed case of Ebola Virus Disease and therefore request all members of the University Community to remain calm as the situation is fully under control.

Signed:
Abiodun Olarewaju
Public Relations Officer
Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife, Nigeria.

42 comments:

1. Hay dear Jesus ooo! I pray her result comes out negative oooo!

1. So many what if's going on in my head right now and re roommates shud also be taken 4 quarantine plus y re dey bringing dem 2 lag.
      God plz we nid ur intervention

2. Just heard frm a radio station dat she had contact with late Dr Ameyo d first consultant Hospital Dr......

3. Sorry nt d first consultant Hospital Dr but the P/H Dr.. Dr. Iyke Enemuo

2. God! See what this greedy and wicked doctor has done?
    I hope he gets to hug Sawyer in hell, they must have been brothers in their previous lives!

1. The day wey this ebola go reach north eh. Ebola+BH+poverty+religious dogs. Na real gobe o

1. Why faint,you are yet to step feet in school yet now abi.

4. So it is true....chai ooo! God help us ooo....ebola pack ur load and go nau

5. If it's truly ebola, wahala De o....God help us...
    They had better move school resumption from 22nd cz if ebola virus gets into schools, I don't know what will happen to our children.

1. Mrs D, u are on point, even dat 22nd my children will not smell sch premises, I didn't bother myself over holiday lesson after paying. No be pikin way well Na him dey go sch. Ebola will not see any of us IJN

2. My dear d school resumption thingy tire me.

6. Thank God for the proactive response of the ministry of health and the school...Am just happy that Nigerians are not taking this Ebola issue lightly.....Good one!

1. Pls someone explain to me, I thot d govt said they were all(pry and secondary contacts) under surveillance so how come she left ph for ile-ife? What kind of surveillance be that? That's how sawyer and that's usesless koye escaped surveillance

7. I pray 4 her 2 test negative.pls God we re in ur hands.

8. hmmmm....wise choice... may d good lord help us all....i just pray she comes out negative cos i know she would have had contact with some pple too... @xclusiv

9. Jesus pls, let her be negative.

10. Hmnn na wa o. I pray it's not true tho. See wot dat useless koye and d doc caused. Mtchewww

11. I pray she comes out negative. This ebola ish is getting out of hand. Bella Ragazza

12. Remain calm?If I hear....they should get the girl's room mates and those who had contact with her immediately...

1. Your comments always sound like sand inside garri, tufia!

13. God please deliver Nigeria from this ebola virus.

14. And they want primary and secondary schools to resume with all these primary and secondary contacts with victims. With PH having over 300 people under surveillance? And people travelling in and out, thus increasing the spread. Olo maje o. They had better leave these kids to stay at home till this is under control. There is no rush.

1. @Shyla, I tell u....Oloun maje oo. come sept 22nd, if they insist on resumption they can resume, but my child will not be among. What nonsense? Just imagine what they want to expose this young kids to? No be my head abeg, whosoever that wants to send their kids to school should go ahead. FG POSTPONE RESUMPTION OF PRY N SEC SCHOOLS INDEFINITELY, DONT MIND THESE GREEDY PROPRIETORS. ALL NUR/PRY/SEC SHOULD REMAIN CLOSED....hian.

15. Please God let her test result be negative.

16. Chukwu nna zoba anyi biko.

17. OMG tot it was mere rumour o..I pray she tests negative.

18. Just when i taught dis ebola ish is over. God plz save ur people. I pray d test result comes out negative. *Frances Chesca*

19. The girls was said to have confessed being in contact with the PH longthroat doctor

Runz girls need to chill until Ebola is curbed. I hope this one has not put some poor students in trouble. And clueless GEJ is ordering school kids back to school, just because some school proprietors have his Mumu button.

Any parent that sends his/her child to school this period, na dem sabi o.

1. @ gold scent dat was my first thot dat she was the late Dr's gehfrnd. God help us ooo cos dis ebola is not by power nor might just by your spirit Jehova Nissi.

20. Oh! But kudos to Nigeria. We r really tackling ds ebola ish.

21. Dis is a serious o.
    Why did d lady leave PH for ife nah?
    I don't think they are taking these primary/secondary contact issue serious.
    So wat are they monitoring?

22. haaaa! and the Federal Government wants primary and secondary students to resume school come September 22nd?

hell no!!!!

23. I'm a student of OAU and I pray to God dat the result should come out negative cos it's going to be disastrous of it comes out positive. God, we're looking up to you to pls help us fight this ebola war.

24. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    See what that stupid diplomat have caused.....

1. Why are you bothering yourself? Abi Ebola don reach Jupiter?

25. God pls take away dis Ebola virus from Nigeria and all over d world entirely,