Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Doctors In House Section - Saturday

Saturday, November 01, 2014

Doctors In House Section - Saturday

Oh the pain without......
Oh the wagging lips when you do.......

you know anything about Epidural? then come inside this post....

EPIDURAL AND THE LONG HAUL.

Please I have a question for mothers in the house,medical personnels or anyone that has general knowledge(facts) about epidural.

You see,during my last pregnancy,I really wanted to try‎ epidural especially when my doctor sold the idea to be in a "glossy" way...It seemed pretty  attractive,so I began to consider it but as a FTM,i was just generally confused.

Anytime I overhear mothers/fellow pregnant women talking about‎ it then,i hear things like:

How will you value your child if you don't experience‎ the pain!(yinmu).

The pain comes with childbirth just like the bible said.....(bla).

Any woman that refuses to go through the pain is lazy(‎mtcheew).

The one that actually caught my attention is the fact that some said it affects the spinal cord sometimes..my doctor assured me that i will  be fine...I also read up on baby centre!.

Well to cut the long story short‎,i didn't have a birth plan and o boy..the pain was out of this world..i was told I held my own and that I didn't have a prolonged labour like some!! Jeez but even 5minutes of that is enough to last a life time..lol

Can someone shade more light on this for me?

If you have ever used it,kindly let me know how your experience was..this is my second "missionary journey" and I might just consider it biko! I am weighing my options especially since I might be giving birth in Nigeria just like the first time...Thank you!

97 comments:

1. I cannot do pain.
    Epidural all the way.
    Double shot if possible.
    No time!

1. Had my baby without epidural and I'm a first time mom. I didn't consider it because it had to go into the spine and would restrict my activities during labour. I'm glad I didn't go for it. Labour was not funny but I love the fact that I am the only one who can explain how it felt that day. To be honest, i forgot all the pain the moment my baby was put on my chest. Its a very beautiful experience.

2. Yes oooo
      there is no part two of the pain.good luck to all them Hebrew women....

3. Hahahahaha. Don't I just love u Stella Asemota.

4. epidural does reduce the pain, but I wish I never took it. I have been having constant back pain for 3 yeard now

5. There is a specialist anaesthetist that relocated from London. The doctor is a pro in the field. If you need her contact, let me know through Stella. The only thing is that she consults for different hospitals and is building her own now. Unless your hospital will agree to bring her in during your time.

2. *Me
    *Shed
    Sorry for the typos

3. I swear this poster walked right out of my head.
    Il be back to read comments.
    Welldone Stellz.

4. With my first child I planned on not using epidural but after
    being in labour for 12 hours the pain was unbearable, I started screaming epidural epidural. It really helped . I only pushed three times and my princess came out.
    I didn't experience any side effects.

With my second child, I did not use epidural. I had him in the pool and it went fast. I was in labour for just six hours. I already planned epidural because I hate pains, when I got to the hospital, I Was already 7 cm open and the midwife suggested pool birth to me and I enjoyed it.
    I don't think women that use epidural are weak.

I planning of using epidural this time.

1. Lol. For mine they warned me ahead that I wouldn't be able to push but I didn't listen. So they kukuma give me epidural, ontop of it nothing. So ended up with CS the first time. But it's true o, the effect of epidural stays with u. My own back tings on the spot or sometimes I feel like a rope is being pulled in my back area. Even after so many years altogether. So was told it's the consequences abi na side effects of epidural. But how did our parents survive child bearing before the advent of this stuff? Aarrgghhh it's no easy.

5. There's no surgical procedure nor drugs without effects bt dat doesn't mean we shouldn't tk d drugs nor have a surgery done cos of ts side effect...2allay ur fears Mrs poster,d incidence of spinal cord injury upon an epidural anaesthesia is bout 1 in 28000 procedures...N plssssss if u must go underr the knive,mk sure u go 2a tertiary hospital *dts where ud c d most competent doctors and anesthesiologist...most of of d complications of epidurals are man made and not 4rm d techniques itself...on a daily basis we get 2c lots of soon 2b mothers Aldo opting 4an elective CS and as such an epidural anaesthesia...its safe,less painful amongst odas...lest i 4get not evry1 is a candidate 4epidurals;some test would b done on u 2b sure ur fit

1. We are talking epidural with vaginal births here

2. I am that mom who asked for an elective C-Section. I was way passed due date and No sign of labor.

Don't you dare judge me!

And I don't love my kiddo any less.

Ps: being in the medical field, and haven seen the size of the epidural needle. It was a serious fight with my conscience to sit through the spinal block/epidural. I kept asking anesthesiologist how many years experience she had. Lol

3. Epidural is not for everyone ooo.. I w-as given th!e 1st shot n My whole legs went numb.., Thank God it was LUTH... The had to call on d Consultant anastetia... I Was later put to sleep.... Pls my sister had it n she doesn't like d experience...she prefers Csection n sleeping... I ll go 4 CS anytime... Cos my pelvic is small...

6. My dear there is apsolutely nothing wrong is taking an epidural,we all are different andcan handle pain differntly,so forget all thoes african mentallity of child birth. The most important thing in delivery is having a healthy baby and. A healthy mother,and whic ever way you choose to go about that is your choice.I don't know how its done in nigeria. Cos I didn't have my baby there.But when I had my baby I took epidural and it made my delivery easy an smooth cos I didn't feel any pain.the only side effect I have is that once in a while I use to have back pains but all that stoped 6 months after I had my baby.As for me I would do epidural again cos I tried to have a natural birth but could not cos I had laboured for too lonf before I opted for the epidural.

7. I was given an epidural for CS, injected into my spine after 12hrs of labour..(cervix did not dilate) 8mins baby was out..I was chatting with d theatre nurse all through 15mins of cs, best childbirth I ever experienced here in nigeria..exactly 20mins d epidural wore off n I felt my legs,sat down n breastfed my boy..there was enof painkiller in my system, I felt killer pain for 2days..after which I was A-OK..so don't stress, epidural is sweet while it last.

1. Please what hospital in Nigeria did you have ur baby? I am really skeptical of doing the procedure in Nigeria.

2. No dear you probably had a spinal anaesthesia which is similar to an epidural but more invasive! You can get epidurals done in almost all the teaching hospitals in Nigeria, some federal medical centers and state specialist hospitals. You can also get it done in some private hospital that have an on call/in-house anaesthetist. I had mine at the national hospital Abuja as soon as the Obgyn started my induction and I was 4cm. My labour lasted 4hours, sweet!

3. I had epidural 17yrs ago wen I was 3months pregnant and had appendicitis operation in Benin rep,
      Was ok slight back pain here and there!
      Fast forward to my last child 7yrs ago,
      11months and baby aint comin so I had another
      CS done in LUTH!!!
      The after effect na wa!
      I had my neck stiff to one side for a week or more
      My gynecology is is gonna wear off as that's part of the after effect
      And today, yrs later, I do have severe back pain
      I mostly can't sit up for too long and must always have to support my back!
      After series of test here and abroad,
      I was told was the after effect of the Epidural that though it has different effect on different pple
      I did spoke with some women that have same problem
      So long and short of it is
      Natural birth is the best!
      The pain is the joy and the Efixy of motherhood abeg
      Epidural should be a last option
      The after effect isn't worth it for me sha!

8. I'm a FTM to be too and I'm seriously considering epidural. I watched some birth videos and they all got me really scared. I am considering epidural or CS

9. ANGELRAY SAID
    U are a lazy woman, ur mother gave birth to u in a normal way, naw e don reach ur turn u dey find short cut.

1. Shut up. You are incredibly ignorant. Your ancestors used to catch their animals. Why are u buying meat at the store? Enter bush and catch meat. Start growing your own stuff n stop buying from stores. Thats how ur ancestors did it. Stop being lazy. Goat.

2. @voltron u shld av known by now dt dis moron @angel ray always seeks attention with his stupid comments,so y giv him audience

3. Voltron u got me there, let me copy and paste, ur ancestors used to catch their animals, what are u saying, make she enter jungle abi, u no try, dat is very bad advice. lmao.

10. Aunty, use epidural if you want to. Forget all these "you must feel the pain to appreciate it" so carrying the baby 24/7 for 9 months doesn't show that you love/appreciate the child. Must u suffer to prove it? I was in labor for 14 hours. 14! I was forming superman and refused the epidural for the first 9 hours. The pain is like nothing I have ever/will ever experience. I almost broke the hospital bed and it was metal. Finally, I agreed to take the epidural. 10 minutes later, I was asleep. It made the experience easier to enjoy. My epidural didn't last long cos my body reacts negatively to medications so they had to give me tge epidural 3 times. Inserting the shege in my spine hurt like a modafocka but those 2 hours I felt the effects of the epidural were wonderful. If you want to actively participate and enjoy the experience without screaming and cursing everyone, use an epidural.

1. Shebi u even had energy to scream. My own after being stubborn that I wanted normal delivery, they now induced me and gave epidural. Still I no dilate, no sign that the baby wants to come out because she was too big. But in the interim when the induction thing started to work, Kai I was too weak to cry. I cannot explain the feeling. As i'm typing now sef, in retrospect i'm nauseous. All that advice the doctors will give u that labour pain is mere glorified menstrual pain feeling is rubbish. I can't explain the pain. Would just pinch myself and hubby kept saying sorry, sorry sorry, and the sorry became annoying. That's how I quickly asked for CS. Psheew

11. Hello dear.
    An epidural is a type of anaethetic- its a local anaesthetic that means u'll be awake. It inserted into the epidural space through your lower back via a catheter. It helps to 'deaden' the nerves of ur pelvis/uterus so you don't feel the pain of labour/contractions.

With epidural you are more relaxed and the pain is minimal to none depending on the type and dose used.

The most significant disadvantages are
    1. When its time to push you will not know cos u can't feel that 'urge to bear down'.however you'll be closely monitored,so the Drs n midwives will guide u . In this case, either the epidural is clipped off and you bear the pain and push , or your care giver helps the delivery with an instrument called forceps.

2.It may slow down progress of labour.

3. It may lower the BP. Your Bp will always be monitored anyway by the nurses, so this isn't a problem. Infact this is an advantage in women with risk of high BP.

I will most definitely go for an epidural when I wanna deliver in a couple of months.

Safe delivery!

1. Cotrection:it is given in a stage by stage way meaning u r not just dosed with d whole epidural it wil numb ur lower waist down but excpt d amount entering ur body is increased to a certain exyent7,u must still feel some pressure. Infact dts d advise way of using it. Because completely numbing ursef wil be disadvantageous to u.

12. I heard its very painful especially when stitching your vjay jay...I had all my children through Cs and the pains too are horrible...
    none of them is rosy though I will always prefer Cs...

1. Always commenting with your bad English.....mschweeeeeew

2. So ur Toto still bam?

3. She is talking about epidural and not episotomy.

4. Well I Had a normal delivery tho,labour lasted 6 hours.I did a lot of walking from 34 weeks. So delivery was smooth.even if I have o go for epidural not here in naija.

13. Sister, epidural is d best wisdom God has bestowed on Doctors. Go for it Gal n d best hospital for me is Robertson Hospital Akerele Surulere. Ask for Dr. Ajayi he has d best term on hand.

14. Some people no get problems. ....

1. Chick Felix silly local idiot.....some ple no get problem cos it's our fault u are not married and not pregnant yet.....u just use those ur yeye hands to type rubbish .....

15. The Yimu,Bla and Mtcheeew got me laughing...me,I no be Doctor,pregnant woman or mother,so I go just je jelly siddon dey look and learn for future purposes.

16. Madam stellina no entertainment news for our one and only blog again? Abeg gimme gossip am bored. ......

17. Childbirth to me is not all that painful. I called the ambulance around 3:40am, I had my baby before 5am with gas &air. I left hospital the same day. Jesus is lord

1. Wow!
      Lucky you anon 2:25
      Mine is that I always have very smooth and "almost" sickness free pregnancies.
      But in labour room it becomes a different story. Thank God for his mercies. If not for God, I would have died during my first delivery few years back.

2. Hebrew women stuff. Nice. Lol

18. My own experience:
    First time was an EMCS, had it but it all happened so quickly couldn't even recall how it all went cos obviously with an emergency no time for formality.

Second one, I decided from the onset, I was going to have an operation especially in light of my initial experience. So I can tell you about this one. They gave me light anaesthetic first, to numb the spine area, then a fine large needle was inserted into my spine ( i was told to remain in a crouching position, so I was sitted on the surgical table, bent firmly, holding my knees tightly and told to keep VERY STILL). I am not sure what happened but the needle was inserted twice before the right spot was gotten. Then voila, I was given the epidural and kept being asked if I felt pain or pressure, whilst it was being administered. I felt pain at first and then after a very short while pressure. Basically, you are not meant to feel pain, cos it's meant to numb you from I think tummy down to your legs. So if they ask you that question ensure you tell them exactly how you feel. Once they confirmed I was numb down, you would also feel a slight ting when it starts working, (it might vary from person to person but you would definitely know when it starts taking effect) I was propped into position for surgery and the rest is history.
    During the surgery, I felt the tugging, pulling of my tummy, but no pain whatsoever obviously those parts were numb already.
    It's not bad in my opinion so if your doc says to give it a shot then do your own further research as well.

P.S I also had something called MRSA so I was last to be operated on for the day. Some of the people in the operating theatre wore protective gear similar to those worn by medical personnel treating ebola victims, I was given a wash to bathe with about a week before the surgery and on the day I was given antibiotics via IV for a couple of hours to prevent the baby from having it once born. I was also isolated throughout my stay in the hospital. Because it is a virus commonly picked in hospitals or if you have had surgery in the past so they kept me isolated so I won't get re-infected blablabla.
    (I don't think people in naija worry about that though cos I wouldn't have known I had it if I wasn't having a planned ceaserian so don't worry about that bit just thought to share generally).

I wish you a successful birthing experience, please take care and highest level of hygiene after surgery as well in no time you would be back to your figure 8:)

God bless and sorry for the long story too.

1. MRSA is not a virus, it's Methicillin-resistant staph aureus, it's a bacteria that is resistant to beta lactam antibiotics eg penicillins and cephalosporins

2. I don't see that she said that it was virus. She was trying to paint a picture of a nosocomial infection.

Emma.

3. Sorry for the mix up there and thanks for the add info. Bless.

19. Poster, I had epidural for my 5th birth, and it was a beautiful experience. Please don't believe the stories you were told.

Please Stella, I want to paste 2 links for her here to read about my experience:

http://www.thenitty-gritty.com/2014/01/my-epidural-experience.html

Here is another link to demystify all the old wives tales we were told after giving birth.

http://www.thenitty-gritty.com/2014/03/demystifying-some-myths.html

Thank you Stella.

20. My midwife suggested epidural nd other birth plan nd relief to me. I am not going to take anyone of it. Weere ni mo ma bi omo mi ooooo ni agbara Eledumare.......

21. Very safe as far as you got a good Obstetrician and Anaesthetist. Safe! Though in the pain free state, you might not know when to bear down. But that's why your obs and midwives are there.
    never seen an epidural go wrong.

22. I'm not a Docky. Lemme return to read n learn new thing from d docs in da house

23. Epidural is not as bad as pple say it is. I used it when I had my son and I don't regret it one bit. No back pain so far.

24. Yes, please doctors comment on this issue, because I want to use an epidural during childbirth. D pain is too much and I'm soo frightened already and I'm not even pregnant.

25. Well, with my daughter, I was induced but planned not to have any epidural but I felt like I was going to die so I went for the epidural.....it was heaven sent!!!! I didn't even know when she came out...I just heard, oh...her head is out...push...push...push.
    I was like, is that it? Yeap the midwife said!. I love my pikin so much, it's unbelievable, epidural didn't affect that aspect. As for back, well, not sure if epidural effected my back or just normal childbirth. My back needs to be rested on a pillow depending on my positioning.
    Mind you, induction hurts more than if you go into natural labour, I heard...all in all, try your best but if you can't cope, go for epidural.
    Oh, I had a 2nd degree tear, had to be stitched and it didn't heal for like 1 month +

1. You are right. Induction is damn too painful. Mad painful

2. Hi, how much is a shot of epidural

26. There are actually side effects sha, maybe ur dokitor no tell u dat one,b4 epidural and all dt,shebi our mama dem still dey born, me am preggy and I keep confessing positively into my life and dat of my unborn angel,you can pray for no pain,and trust me deres nothing God cannot do! Anyways goodluck!

27. I am a Gynaecologist and epidural is safe when administered by an appropriately trained anaesthetist.
    The benefits surpasses the risks.Every procedure in medical practice has risks, and we always balance these risks append the benefits before recommending the procedure. There is a small risk of dural tap (the puncture of the dural membrane causing severe headache which can easily be treated by a blood patch) ,lower backache, infection and extension of the anaesthetic upwards in the spine causing breathing difficulties and paralysis.These risks are found in less than one percent of patients, which means less than 1 out of 100 women . In actual practice it's more like 1 in 1000 women. So please it is safe.Most (about 80 to 90 percent)of my patients use it in Labour.

28. I am so intrested in this post! The thought of the pain scares the hell outta me,No am not lazy but wil be so happy if there will be a way out.lol!

29. I never born pikin outside 9ja, and here in 9ja they will not always advice it, I don't know why, I asked during my second pregnancy, d doctor @ motayo hospital didn't give me any positive ans, so I left d whole thing and give birth with d normal pain. Thank God d pain was not up to 30mins and d pikin come out. I can help u on dat my sis. Well I dey wait for other ppl advice.

30. I had Epidural but it didn't in no way stopped the pain it only minimized it a bit and I spent more than 7 hours after the shut before I finally made it ...

31. Believe me u wil be fine.I used it almost 4months ago here in London and a frend also used it in Nigeria and we both came out fine.Mine was a different case, my labour was induced d pain was 3times that of natural labour pain.I started wtout epudural but bcos I couldn't bear d pain, I then opted for it.I got relieved and I had my baby 14hours after.But pls make sure ur platelet count is normal b4 using it.

32. This topic really got me because I am in the after effects of the epidural. After I had my baby I suffered sever pain at my back, sometimes I feel like something is pulling me from my head to lower backbone.However, i noticed that the pain stopped after 2 to 3 weeks after birth. I have been fine since d last 18 months without any issues. But recently, I had miscarried my second baby and along the line, I went back to the hospital for clean up then out of no way those pains, headache and what have you came back. I don't understand what happened and I am so uncomfortable when the pain starts.I have been taking Tylenol to relief d pain bcos it's not a funny experience at all.Although a frd told me d pain comes back during cold season; but I guess it's an individual thing because my sister in-law has been in a very cold country where she had all her children with the help of epidural and never for once has she complained about any pain.

1. I was begining to get so excited until i read ur comment! Plz doctors can u shade more light on y she has this pain?

2. My sister I still have spinal back aches from it o. Make God punish liar. I didn't even attribute it to epidural, not until recently when my Gp asked extensive questions about why I keep having reoccurring back pain. Not until he asked about how I had my kids etc, then he established it was the after effect of epidural...the last being 8years ago and the first 15. So I testify.

33. @poster,well i think if with the experience i had with my 2nd child n wat have heard, your second time should be much more easier,so u might not even need d epidural.i got to the hospital nd my water dint break till the gynaecologist did, but i dint use up to one hour from when i got to the hospital that i put to bed.the pain was much much easier to bear unlike d first time

1. Very True. Same applied to me during my third time. The nurses didn't even believe I was in labour cos I wasn't screaming until the baby head popped out.

2. Hmmmmmm
      Heard so too but it didn't apply to me.
      My 2nd experience was worse...

34. I had my first via emergency C/S and contrary to what everyone was saying it was a very easy peasy experience for me! I was strong by the second-third day! I was very active on d day of my naming ceremony!Except close family,ppl dint knw I had C/S! Fast forward to my second child, everyone kept prayin for normal delivery for me(weda C/S na abnormal delivery!mschewww).My inlaws, hubby everyone kept believing in God for a vaginal delivery for me bt within me I jst said thy will be done,Lord! I laboured for almost 12hours! D pain no be dere!!! Its d most intense pain in d world! I can't explain it! I begged my hubby to allow d doc do C/S at a point but he kept sayin hold on(like say e easy!)... D pushing process is out of dis world... D nurses are using their hand to stretch ur vagina so that the baby's head will pass thru easily. Still I had this terrible tear that had to be stitched! Fastforward, weeks later, my stitch burst open! Incredible painnnn!!! After childbirth! Haba! Na who I offend na!!! Thank God I am fine and my lovely baby is sooo beautiful! Bt if I could go back in time! I would opt for C/S or at worst have an epidural to take away the labour pains! So my sister, let noone decieve u! If God blesses u n u have money,do everythin possible to make the process of bringin ur treasure to the world comfortable abeg! God no go vex!

35. When I was pregnant, my obstetrician advised epidural cos according to him, most maternal death is as a result of d pain d woman passes thru, because we do not possess d same threshold of pain and d longer d labour, the more d woman loses strenght.
    I decided to go for it during my second delivery and it went ok except for d back pain. But it subsided after some time.
    Then I got preggy again and d back ache nearly finished me. I cldnt walk. But I don't know if its as a result of d after effect of d epidural of my second delivery.
    Whichever one you decide to choose, d most mportant thing is a safe delivery, which you should pray for.

36. Anonymous for today1 November 2014 at 18:28

I have had epidurals 3ce. First two times were after normal labour and child-birth. I had 3rd degree tears both times and had to be stitched under anaesthesia.

3rd time I was like, 'what the heck, why not have the epidural at the start and cut down the pain?' My people have a saying, 'dem no dey use suffer-head do iyanga!' It really helped with the pain but didn't stop it completely. Every 1 was impressed with how I was still able to push effectively in spite of it.

I never had any of the side effects like head aches, back pain etc. My legs and feet were numb for a few hours as u would expect but it wore off after a while. You also have to have a catheter to drain urine until the numbness of ur lower body subsides, but again for me that was for less than 12 hrs.

It worked for me and I've no regrets. Just go ahead and do what you're comfortable with.

37. My 3kids
    Re all old school method
    it's only labour pain that can take to heaven and bring you back
    My dear do ur thing

38. No idea about that but I pray the good Lord to grant you and all other expecting mother's of the blessed blog family the FAVOUR OF DELIVERING LIKE HEBREW WOMEN WITH LESS PERIOD OF LABOUR IN JESUS NAME AMEN!!!

39. The most important thing of all is to commit the whole process (whichever you go for) to God in prayer. Have faith in God, because anything can go wrong at any point in time, even the simplest medical procedure!

40. Well explained @P.Flav . A lot of Nigerian trained Obstetricians do not favour epidural/anaesthetic(pain free) means for spontaneous vaginal delivery (normal delivery) because of the obvious reasons mentioned above viz-a-viz :possible poor progress of labour at some point, possible hypotension/low blood pressure and very importantly, complaints of severe headache and pain at site of insertion of the spinal needle during the procedure. This trend is gradually changing, as American and UK Trained Obstetricians who have opened practices back in Nigeria are going ahead with the procedure. Of course others have to meet up with the competition. If you must undergo the procedure,get antenatal care at a Centre it is done and ensure your Obstetrician explains the pros and cons for you. With the right expertise, it is pretty safe and yoh have nothing to worry about but bear in mind that you will also pay more for such a Centre.

41. Well explained @P.Flav . A lot of Nigerian trained Obstetricians do not favour epidural/anaesthetic(pain free) means for spontaneous vaginal delivery (normal delivery) because of the obvious reasons mentioned above viz-a-viz :possible poor progress of labour at some point, possible hypotension/low blood pressure and very importantly, complaints of severe headache and pain at site of insertion of the spinal needle during the procedure. This trend is gradually changing, as American and UK Trained Obstetricians who have opened practices back in Nigeria are going ahead with the procedure. Of course others have to meet up with the competition. If you must undergo the procedure,get antenatal care at a Centre it is done and ensure your Obstetrician explains the pros and cons for you. With the right expertise, it is pretty safe and yoh have nothing to worry about but bear in mind that you will also pay more for such a Centre.

42. Bvs Pls whts d meaning of yimu?

43. I no fit shout . I actually chose my sons date of birth , on the day just packed my bags ,cut me open ,dragged out my son ,stitched me up, home I go . What's all this 12/14 hr pain for ??!! It's mostly the cost of cs that ur husbands can't afford that's why.

1. Pls CS isn't only about the cost. It also depends on the number of kids you want to have. There ls just so much tears a uterus can receive

44. Epidural it was/is for me.

ohhh.... the most easiest birthing ever!

i chatted with the doc n nurses all through the CS.

my waist down was numb.CS lasted 10-15mins and my baby was out and given to me immediately to fondle.

it is only when the anaesthetics is wearing off that's when you feel some pain/tingling effect.(its just like your blood was frozen and now melting back to normal..lol) and c'mon its not for that long..

I am for ECS (elective CS) again and again mehnnnn.

Vaginal birthing? some people have a tear and suture. some the baby comes out, placenta don lost. doc starts looking for it. it just has to come out.

ohhh..i remember one woman...her placenta couldn't be found. the doc practically inserted his hand into her womb trying to find it. her screams? my God!!!! her husband was outside the labour room praying....oh my!!!! that was some crazy shit!

God bless mothers!

45. many hospitals here in Naija don't offer epidural, infact it is almost a taboo to mention it to nurses, I don't blame them because anyone who has received an epidural must be closely monitored and many hospitals don't have the equipment to do so.
    By God's Grace, my next child will be born outside Naija so I just might choose to have one.

46. Epidural all the way biko. I used it during the birth of my second n 3rd baby in Naija n the US respectively. Naija was Mother &Child hospital Gbaja Surulere.
    Poster dont be scared, fear is not of God. God bless you.

47. I also had mine via CS in UBTH benin city after labouring for about 15hrs in central hospital. "Painless & cool" is the word jare and I wast out within 20mins. No pain afterward n can't remember having any back pain too.

48. I also had mine via CS in UBTH benin city after labouring for about 15hrs in central hospital. "Painless & cool" is the word jare and I wast out within 20mins. No pain afterward n can't remember having any back pain too.

49. Ok, so first of all, whether to use an epidural or not will be your decision to make not your doctors' or baby center.
    Secondly, using epidural during childbirth does not and will not make you less of a woman.
    Finally, like any other procedure, this is always a risk of complications. Everybody's experience will be different. My advice is that you do your homework and decide if it's something that you want to do. There are other ways to minimize pain during labor also. Tub baths, breathing exercises or get a doula! Good luck!

Emma.

50. I think some people are mixing episiotomy and epidural up.

51. I think some people are mixing episiotomy and epidural up. Episiotomy is that cut they give when one is in labour while epidural is d anathestic injected to the d spinal cord. I hope I'm right though
    My first adorable was through normal delivery and it was piece of cake while d second was emergency Cs.
    I was in labour for 2 days, my uterus kept opening and closing. Then I started bleeding, d midwife shouted 'madam are u pushing?' I said nooooooo, but I want to pupu. She said 'madam this is fresh blood, ur uterus will soon tear' my mum and sister were just crying, begging me to sign for the operation. I agreed at d last minute then signed. The injection was given to the back and within 10mins, my baby is out.
    However now, I do have back pain, severe one. I normally feel it after driving or sitting for so long. I don't know if its d epidural or prolonged labour.
    Kindly like and share my page
    https://m.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1485563711726642&ref=bookmark

52. Plzzz peeps shld jst be honest jor..... either which way is painful, one shld jst pray for a safe delivery. Plus da CS pain after delivery no be here ehen baba God shld jst continue to strengthen all mothers ni and we intending ones too. **shoutin chai cnt wait to have ma own bundle of joy, Lynxx where u dey now** #LynxxGal#

53. Sista Stella this Robot tin na wahala oo......plzzz look into it biko. *stil shouting am not a robot ooo** #LynxxGal#

54. I had all my three babies through epidural and I can tell you the back pain people profess to have after epidural is a myth.What gives women back pain after a delivery is the muscles being overset ratchet from the babies weight during pregnancy.Some aerobic and stretch exercises for some time after delivery will solve that .I can say this because I am a mother of twins and I experienced that for six months after delivery,I could not walk or stand for long,I thought it was the effect of the epidural.I saw a physiotherapist you explained to me especially since I birthed two big babies.I did the exercise routine and in about 3 months I forgot I ever had such pain.Nigerian doctors don't advise epidural because it is expensive and most of them are not trained to administer it(anaethesiologist give epidural).

55. For me first child was with nothing and second child was with an epidural can confidently say 3rd child will be with an epidural. I didnt find the first the easy at all and i had only3 hrs of labour. Let anyone say i am not a hebrew woman na them know. I be naija u hear.