Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: NBC Will Not Move Forward With New Bill Cosby Comedy Show

Thursday, November 20, 2014

NBC Will Not Move Forward With New Bill Cosby Comedy Show

As sexual allegations against Bill Cosby continue to surface — a total of 15 women have made complaints, 6 of them who have identified themselves publicly — NBC has decided to pull the plug on a sitcom it was developing with the comedian for next year.

https://encrypted-tbn1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTJ3vXLrdZlSQDwMoDL0y-WRbRXLZ6itbmowhpJu5imqe5lWQHL

The network declined to comment further about the project, which would have starred Cosby as the patriarch of a multi-generational family and was in the early development stages.

TV Land on Wednesday pulled all "Cosby Show" reruns from its schedule effective immediately. On Tuesday, Netflix also decided to postpone the streaming of its Thanksgiving Day special "Bill Cosby 77" after actress and model Janice Dickinson came forward saying she was assaulted by Cosby in the 1980s. Cosby's attorney, Marty Singer, blasted Dickinson's claims as a "complete lie."

Cosby, 77, has not addressed the mounting allegations against him.
The allegations first surfaced in 2005 when Andrea Constand, the former director of operations of Temple University's women's basketball program, sued Cosby, claiming that he had given her pills he called "herbal medication" to help her cope with stress when she visited his Philadelphia-area mansion in 2004 and, after she consumed them, he touched her breasts and genitals and assaulted her.

Cosby has several stand-up appearances scheduled over the next few days, including a sold-out show at the King Center for the Performing Arts in Melbourne, Fl, on Friday which will go on, according to a statement issued by King Center management.

“Mr. Cosby is a well-respected member of the entertainment community and one of America’s most beloved performers. While we are aware of the allegations reported in the press, we are only in a position to judge him based on his career as an entertainer and humanitarian."

A spokesperson for Treasure Island Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas told NBC News that it will move forward with Cosby's show on Nov. 28. "All of his shows here have been sellouts; we have no reason to think that this one won’t be, too. However, if anyone wants to return his or her tickets, he or she is welcome to, just as is our policy with all of our shows."

But Katherine Hull, vice president of communications for the Rape, Abuse, and Incest National Network praised NBC's and Netflix's decisions in a statement on Wednesday.

"We appreciate that NBC and Netflix have taken these allegations seriously and think that they've made the responsible choice by cancelling these shows. The coverage of the Bill Cosby story has already led to a significant increase in the number of survivors reaching out for help through the National Sexual Assault Hotline.".culled

*Oh Dear!..they have finally killed his remaining career!!!....Na wa oh!

34 comments:

1. JayEm, u re USELESS urself. Smh...

2. I wouldn't blame them if they don't go ahead with the show, because his name already has a stain on it, which will be bad publicity for their station.

Your comment will be visible after approval.

3. Now am beginning to feel sorry for him. Could this be his karma.

Aeegurl...

4. i feel sorry for him.. i still find it difficult to believe tho.

1. Power of the media. See how they've been buzzing the news and refused to let it die down. Funny thing is I believe the story, but but but the circumstances surrounding the alleged sexual offence is what I find questionable. Voluntary vs involuntary. I hope he doesn't die of stress considering his age. More so I hope he doesn't commit suicide ooo
      **** crying*****

5. knowing his character in Cosby Show, one of my favorite Tv comedy while i was growing up, its kind of not right then to judge a person real personality based on act or appearance.

6. Karma is a bitch, this is a welcome development to all those out there who would think they can get away with sexual harassment.

I comment the rest of my reserve...

7. Doctors in the house please do any of you know the name of the drug I can take to cute thyroid or goitre of the trot cos I don't have #180,000 for the operation and again what can I take to stop my body from shaking occasionally its embarrassing to me.

1. You have an overactive thyroid. You have very limited options and surgery is one of them.

2. Start taking Carbimazole( carbiroid by Hovid) 3 tablets in d morning n 3 in d evening. U can add propranolol to steady ur heart beat. Carbimazole is about 750 for a park of 5 sachets, without contains about 20 tablets on one satchet. But u still have to see a physician urgently. Thyroid issues is not something u can deal with on ur own n @home. Prayerfully deal with the situation. God has taken care of mine. Sounds like u re suffering from hyperthyroidism. It is well.

8. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    What yu sew is what yu rip.... Gud for him.

9. Gaddammit!!! Ashewo bastard!

10. I desperately want to believe these accusations are false but then again i remember my colleague's favourite quote
    "A man can be born again but his D*** hardly runs the heavenly race".

11. Wao. But y do people always abuse power and position?

12. May our sins not catch up with us in our old age. May God help us to flee from temptation and anything that may bring disgrace to us.

He was a very handsome man and could have gotten for himself any type of woman he wanted. I pray that the allegations are false. Rose

13. Hnmmm! NBC isn't at fault though for choosing to halt the program due to all this allegations pinned on bill. I loved his show while growing up, still can't believe he did such awful act. He's not proven guilt though

14. How d mighty r fallen. Moral decadence is now d order of d day esp frm those we hold in high esteem.

15. This is a good one, the tempo of this sexual harassment and rape accusations is gradually gathering momentum.

THE EVIL THAT MEN DO LEAVE WITH THEM!!!

Hope to see him pay for his atrocities here on earth.

YEYE DEY SMELL.

16. I don't think he raped them.people can do anything for fame.. Janice was a knowndrug aaddict. Here in US go sleep with a white girl and break here heart , they'll say you raped them to get money. . It's so sick .. why didn't they speak then. Liars.. I'm a woman so don't think I'm a guy. America should stop condoning this nonsense... An irresponsible girl looking for fame. Sleeps around and in the future claim it was rape.. Bill Cosby was very good looking, he didn't have to drug anyone to sleep with them.. these white women are just mad he stuck with his wife..

1. And you were there abi US girl? Re-read what you just typed and ponder over it. The entire universe knows you are a woman that's why you sound so lame. Pray no one you know finds themselves in such a situation where they can't complain Miss Akata. Power talks, the masses walk. Drink Soda on that you hear.

2. I'm not an Akata and for your information there have been so many circumstances where people have confessed that they lied about being raped .. we will know the truth in the end and I am very well entitled to my own opinion... And FYI I had been molested before.. so don't come under anonymous and talk about things you don't know

3. Anon 3.33pm, thank u for ur objectivity! I live in Canada. I am all for protecting women as they r vulnerable to sexual abuse. But the way the law is implemented in North America is infuriating! Especially when it's a black man and a white woman. All the girl has to do is accuse u and u r in trouble. No proof required! I don't know if Bill Cosby raped these women but if general experience is any barometer, this guy may be innocent. He probably slept with them and did not do what they expected afterwards.

Everyone crucifying him here should note that NONE of these allegations has ever been proven. Not one!

17. These people can do anything to bring a person down. Didn't they accuse Martin Luther King of some random affair.. after they killed him.. they now do one fake celebration... Open your eyes and let's support Bill Cosby..

18. I wonder what Autumn Jackson, her mother, the twins and her mother's alleged pimp all have to say about all this new information. For those who remember, his son was killed almost 15 yrs ago and when info started surfacing about BC, the press was quick to shut the numerous gossip about Mr Cosby down because many thought his son's unfortunate situation had to do with his father's shady ways. The lesson of the whole matter is that you just can't trust people. This man was quick to condemn the Osbourne show in those days, now look at him. You can't hide forever. No one knows what's true but this man has demonstrated some arrogance in the past as if he is some goody two shoes so let's see how things unravel.

19. I feel so sorry for him. This is so hard to take in...

Suffering From Ezcema? Try Aloe Vera

20. I wonder if this is a calculated sabotage on this mans career. Why now? How come they are all suddenly springing up. One thing I've learnt not to trust in America are media hungry women. Some scream rape when there was consensual sex. Unfortunately the law favors women until God intervenes on behalf of an innocent man. Some men served jails sentences before the truth is told.
    Let's watch and see how this whole brouhaha pans out

21. These are allegations, I believe he is innocent until proven guilty. But how come all of these is coming out now? Why didnt these people speak out all these years until now? Now there is a question mark...?