Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Potiskum Massacre: Aregbesola Breaks Down In Tears And Says We Should Be Mourning

Wednesday, November 12, 2014

Potiskum Massacre: Aregbesola Breaks Down In Tears And Says We Should Be Mourning

Governor Rauf Aregbesola of Osun State has described the deteriorating security crisis in Nigeria as sad and painful.
The governor said the country should be mourning at the moment, following the killing of schoolchildren and teachers in Potiskum, Yobe State, on Monday by the Boko Haram sect.

Aregbesola said this while delivering a lecture titled, ‘Federalism, democracy and the future of Nigeria,’ during the Convocation Lecture and 66th Foundation Day Ceremony, University of Ibadan on Tuesday.

The governor, who broke down in tears over the ongoing events in the country, said Nigeria could be heading for doom because of the latest oil discoveries by nations that once depended on Nigeria’s oil and the fall in oil price.

He said, “It is unfortunate that even if we should ask ourselves what the mood of the nation should be now, we do not know. Nigeria should be mourning by now. Nigeria’s flag must fly at half mast now. We should be wearing mournful look and ask ourselves how we got to be where we are now.

“Fifty of our schoolchildren and teachers were killed in a suicide attack yesterday (Monday) in Potiskum and we act as if it is normal. We don’t even have the feeling anymore, the conscience, the emotion and the fact that the only thing we have is life.
“I will not be where I am today if I had been slaughtered like that in school. That is just one of the statistics. In the same Yobe, some students were slaughtered at night while in Borno, schoolgirls were taken away and yet to be found or returned.

“Territories of Nigeria are being paraded by lunatics, mad men, who could not be called normal human beings. Yet, we carried on as if all these do not matter. We have forgotten that whatever is happening to a neighbour is a sign of what could come to others.”

Aregbesola added, “Sixty six years ago, when UI was founded and Nigeria was the morning star of Africa, the founding fathers of Nigeria never thought that this kind of thing would happen to us. But alas, if anything, it appears we are worse than we were in the 60s.

“The oil price crisis is telling us that in 10 years time, oil will amount to nothing. Less than 18 months ago, the US depended on our oil, today US exports oil to other nations. If India, which is already showing the technological capacity, follows suit just as others, we are doomed.

“If in autumn, oil price is falling, what will happen between May and September? It is not the price that is worrisome but the fact that we now depend absolutely on oil without any belief in the fact that wealth is created by production”.Dailypost reportage.

34 comments:

1. And that's all you were able to get from the message above.no wonder politicians are having jolly good rides.

2. Seriously?! Even if it was fake, he highlighted some serious issues most of us ain't conscious of, we just carry on like nothing is happening. Very well said, he's human enough to tell us the truth which we are in denial of, we don't value life anymore.

3. Oh, this mute dunce can talk? Fool.

2. Did I just read right? Tears? Now we have another "Dame" on our hands.

3. Its so unfortunate how the Nigerian security has been put into a state of catalepsy. Yes the country should be morning and react aggressively.

4. Too sad. Rip young hero's. May God console d families of d victims.

5. Lol•Even d president did nt cry so was your own nw•

1. So because d President is heartless and all he is concerned abt is his re election,others shouldn't cry.smh 4 u

2. U must b very senseless for this comment.bcos the President is so heartless and all he is after is his re election,every other person shouldn't b sober. smh @ ur stupidity

3. U dnt need to use d word senseless•we don't nid any politician's crocodile tears•we need remarkable things•d two of u ar more senseless too

4. U ar more senseless too•what do we need his crocodile tears for•dis nt a way to mak us known he is concerned •

6. Replies
    1. Idiot jayem,he just won elections ewu!

2. He's serving his 2nd term so he's not contesting for any position..just thot I shld let u know

3. Yet again Nigerian citizens miss the point.

PLEASE READ THE MESSAGE,WE WILL HAVE NO INCOME FROM OIL SOON.

4. Is he not a party member and indirectly showing off for his party?
      Mumu people, think before you jump on the reply-JayEm-wagon!

7. He may be saying it for the wrong reasons, but however what he said is true

8. Personally I don't believe anything politicans say, irrespective of their party or person but he made valid points. We have godless leaders with dead consciences.

9. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Atiku for president. Crocodile tears.....

10. Rest in peace little angels.
    Gov Aregbesola is not seeking for election and what he did or rather the expression of his sadness through TEARS IS WHAT ANY FATHER WITH CONSCIENCE SHOULD DO.
    We need to wake up coz this COUNTRY IS BURNING AND MOST OF US ARE YET TO PERCIEVE THE SMOKE!!!

11. Who is he trying to decieve with his stupid crocodile tears? Please.

12. Idiot man dt has not paid his state workers since Aug,abeg stop d fake tears already

13. If e pain am true true, make. E step down

1. Step down? Is he the president? Ewu

14. This is one of the evil men in Nigeria. God dey.

15. There is so much truth in his message, I will ponder on it and forget the messenger, I hope the people that matters do too and find solutions before its too late. RIP to the those that died.

16. I have not seen APC Guys Commenting the issue of bomb-blast before the way they are commenting on this particular one,they are commenting because President Jonathan Declared a day after the blast, the tears of this Governor is a sentimental one .....

17. I cannot believe anyone can possibly write silly things on here like 'fake cry or crocodile... Really? Do you even have to be a politician to cry at the rot Nigeria has become. Perhaps if you have kids in that mess, you may be moved to shed a tear.
    I am totally afraid for our country. That the president has no feelings or even a correct 'olubadamoran' doesn't mean you can't express emotions. I kuku don't know Rauf from anywhere, I'm not interested in political parties, but one thing I know is Jonathan is helpless and needs saving.
    Let the insults reign.
    BV blogging from class

18. Jonathan should be the one shedding hot tears, unfortunately he is having a great time and care less. At least someone shed tears, crocodile or elephant tears. The country is at war. When will google stop this authentication crap? Robot ko, Alien ni. Oshisko.