Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Chinese Village Banishes Boy Aged EIGHT Because He Is HIV-Positive

Friday, December 19, 2014

Chinese Village Banishes Boy Aged EIGHT Because He Is HIV-Positive

A boy aged just eight has been banished from a Chinese village - because he was found to be HIV-positive.
The youngster's own grandfather was among 200 people in the community, in China's southwestern Sichuan province, who signed a petition to expel the child to 'protect villagers' health'.

It has been reported that the boy - who was given the pseudonym Kunkun by Chinese media - contracted the virus from his mother.

The case, reported in the Global Times newspaper, has highlighted the stigma attached to the disease in China, where many sufferers face widespread discrimination.
Previous reports said the boy was refused admission to local schools and villagers would avoid contact with him.

'Nobody plays (with me), I play alone,' Kunkun said, according to a report on the website of the People's Daily newspaper.
The website also said Kunkun was referred to as a 'time bomb' in the petition.

'The villagers sympathise with him, he is innocent, and only a small child. But his AIDS is too scary for us,' Wang Yishu, party chief of Shufangya village, told the website.

The boy's mother reportedly left the family in 2006, while his father 'lost contact' after Kunkun's condition was diagnosed.
Kunkun sneaked into a specially-convened meeting held earlier this month by villagers to discuss how they would banish him, it has been claimed.
High ranking officials from the township government said 'legally speaking' the boy could not be expelled, and that he has the same rights as other villagers, the Global News said.

Officials plan to visit the village and speak with the villagers', it added, while the People's Daily website said 'ideological work' would be carried out in the village. It was unclear last night whether Kunkun was still in his village.

The case has sparked debate on China's Twitter-like Sina Weibo, where it was the most widely-discussed topic early on Thursday.
'Why was he ruthlessly neglected, it is so unfair to him,' said a post by one user.
'This is because the Chinese population cannot get enough education, causing ignorance and panic,' said another.

Figures released earlier this month by China's National Health and Family Planning Commission showed that a total of 497,000 people in China have been diagnosed with HIV/AIDS since the country's first case in 1985. China has a population of 1.36billion.

Discrimination against those with the virus remains an issue at schools, hospitals, workplaces and other establishments across the country, a factor that experts say hampers efforts to diagnose and treat it.

Knowledge of HIV/AIDS is worse in poor, rural areas, such as the community Kunkun is from, experts say.
Attempts by authorities to educate these populations about discrimination often fail, a campaigner who would only give his surname as Tang told AFP.
'The publicity campaign is not strong enough to reach the rural areas and villages and that's why there is more discrimination there,' said Tang, a community coordinator at the Kunming office of AIDS advocacy group Aizhixing.

'Personally I don't think such situations would exist in cities,' Tang added. 'People in rural areas know little about civil rights and they have a poor sense of the disease.
'We will continue using our network to speak out, meanwhile we hope the government could do more as well.'
The Nanjing-based anti-discrimination NGO Justice for All wrote a letter to party chiefs in Sichuan calling on them to punish school chiefs and local officials for their 'Cultural Revolution style', a reference to the Mao Zedong-inspired public denunciations of 'foes'.
'We cannot imagine how Kunkun will grow up and look back on the experience of childhood,' said a draft of the letter, which was emailed to AFP on Thursday.

75 comments:

1. Wat ignorance can cause, not fair at al

1. Real ignorance. Are they sure they don't have hiv too?

2. What?! In this era of enlightenment? NGOS should please come to his aid asap!

2. Pls that will be so wicked of them .can u imagine in this new generation whereby ppl living with the disease live longer than others. This only shows how ignorant they r

3. This breaks my heart to hear. I hope this child finds someone to care for him as he deserves.

1. With all the whole awareness done over d yrs they should better naaa...is not his fault dat he is hiv positive!!! May God settle d poor boy.

4. Ignorance kills faster dan aids itself....poor boy

5. Poor Kunkun, I hope these NGOs won't compel the Villagers to take Kunkun back, they would probably kill him if he goes back, if his grandfather doesn't want him there he's not safe.

6. and they say nigerians re backward... meet chinese people...what rubbish..

7. Some people are still living in the dark ages. Poor boy.

8. Hmmm all these china people, remember there is God oooo

9. They should help him o before he commits suicide. It's so sad when u don't a shoulder to lean on.

10. Stella make I no find my comment again, I dey vex 4 u, Santa u no giv me, allow my comment u refuse

11. This is heartbreaking. Did the poor youngster give himself HIV?. It's sad that in this age and time, people in the so called developed countries still do stuff like this haba! .

12. Dats bad.they should be punished by law

13. Bunch of ignorant people.
    Illiteracy is a disease.

14. Awwwww this is not good.What does the boy even know about AIDs?.People still needs more enlightment about Aids.

We had HIV screening in my office days ago and when the result came out,an IT student had.I can't jst imagine how her life will be,a young girl like that in her prime.Hopefully when she goes for another test,she might be negative.I jst hope so

15. This is so wrong poor boy
    And sure those people who re sending them away have it to. When that boy grows up and become somebody they wld want to claim him. IGNORANCE

16. China & India are always backwards when it comes to Health and some vital issues. #smh

17. It's unfair.pls Chinese govt shld see dat he is given proper medication n not discriminated.Every1 has equal rite

18. Hian Chinese people eh..
    I will neva understand those people. !

19. Ignorance is indeed a disease..

~~~~DIAMONDZ~~~~

20. Na waa o...in this modern day and yet some people stil think like goats

21. Neglecting that boy will eventually lead. To his death! He needs potable water,good food...care!

I hope some foreign doctors get to see this and take him away from there..if na Ebola,the whole villa for don uproot!!Lol

22. Lolz they are scared but they need to be educated on the disease

23. Banish an eight year old child???!
    An innocent child who is just an unfortunate unfortunate victim that deserves all d support,care and encouragement.

Seriously,sometimes i wonder how some people think.
    How some people can be devoid of love,empathy and kindness.....

Be strong poor Child,be strong.

24. How can Chinese have HIV?
    Thought HIV was a punishment to the black race like Ebola
    Maybe I should rethink...
    Merry Xmas in advance

1. Hahahahahahahaha!!!!
      Mamie! Re u for real?
      How can chinese have HIV?
      Never knew chinco is above diseases

Poor boy need love and I know every dissapointment is a blessing
      I pray kunkun is placed in a home where he can get love, care and affection at lease
      Bad enough coping with such @ his age
      May God comfort him

25. That's a cruel thing to do to a kid.

26. This is child abuse ooo. Now that he needs love, care and family around him. This people are hrt less.

27. Aww...poor child.
    Suffering for nothing he knows about.

But Nigeria is like that too na.
    Just that the carrier won't be banished, but the kinda attitude the carrier would get from people ehn, the carrier would just banish him/herself.

28. Stupid pple

~@iamjbankz SA to President Jonathan 2015~

29. Chai! Just imagine! Poor boy.

30. What an unfair treatment!Y d discrimination?

31. Hian!

Ignoranace at its highest peak.

If Ebola enter that village ehn, e go turn to Sodom land. Total wipe out!

32. It's unfair.pls Chinese govt shld see dat he is given proper medication n not discriminated.Every1 has equal rite

33. Chinko and the way they reason sha... Nawa o

34. Oya nau..don't throw stone inside mkt, cos it might hit ur mother or someone u love. Now it has affected his own son. Poor boy.

35. That's not nice @all. There are more deadly diseases in the world than HIV. People should learn to accept them

36. How can these frog eyed chinese excommunicate a 4yr old boy? Nawaooo.

37. This is really unfair and inhumane. Treating the poor boy as if he's infected with ebola, see what ignorance can cause. They should just look for a home where the boy will be shown love and put him there otherwise, he will be continually castigated in his village.

38. Hmmmmm ignorance is a disease on tis own. Banishing a child for what he dose not know anything about.

Oriegwu!

39. That's no so good,he shld be shown love na

40. Discrimination in China? Na wa!

41. Na wa oh! Nothin person nor go hear!

42. Wow dis kind of discrimination in this 21st century.....dis China pple are ignorant abt HIV/AIDS dat y dey reacted dat way. d government Shud organise enlightenment campaigns and dis will help to stop discrimination.......dey shu do sumtin quick b4 pple living with it will commit suicide bcuz of d discrimination ohhhhhh.

43. Hian ooh, how is it the boy's fault, even if it is-China in this day and age. mtcheew

44. Sad story indeed. But I hope all those people that are planning to banish him have also tested themselves to know if thEy arE free. Bloody hypocrists

45. Discrimination against HIV carriers is all over the world,funny enuf even the most civilised pple find themselves doing it unconsciously #scratches hair and judges self too#
    Until the govt world over make a law to jail pple discriminating against PLWHIV,it can't stop!
    As for that lil boy,its so unfortunate for him that his parents are irresponsible,and since they can't protect him,noone else will except God touches their hearts cos nobody can love you more than ur parents.
    I pray God sees him thru.

46. if you want to see crazy ignorance at its peak; visit china.in this 21 century.when my dead grandmother knows that HIV is not contagious through body contact.

47. An NGO or the chinese government should take the child to a forster home. The villagers ain't smiling.

48. ......and it is always China! Pray help gets to this boy quickly...

49. Stella it will be unfair not to bless those 13 persons who failed to give their details or probably sent it late. Dont get me wrong please. No person in his or her right senses will see such an opportunity and prefer to miss it. It could be network problems or maybe they didnt visit the blog that Day maybe because of circumstances beyond their control. I think 2days notice is enough for those involved,please re-consider your decision and bless them.
    Secondly note the names of this year's santa recipients so that next time, others will benefit. Pls tell ur PA to do something.remain blessed.
    *my opinion*

50. Ignorance kills! What as an innocent boy done to suffer such stigmatization?? May God send helpers his way...

51. Why they would banish a 9 year old is beyond me. Talk about stigmatization. Well. Like they say! You think education is expensive... Try ignorance.

52. Poor boy.As for the grandfather,it is just a transferred hatred.

53. This chinco people are so pathetic, why punish the poor child for what he knows nothing off?

54. I tire for Chinese people.

55. HIV is a respecter of nobody the villagers should know.
    And to think such a young boi have to cope with this kinda stigma is horrifying.
    But wait oooo, I am very sure these villagers are not tested yet to know their status.
    Ignorant and poverty are bad combination

56. OMG, this is not fair, he is just a child.

57. Are they mad ni