Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian President Jonathan Determined To Win War On Terror

Sunday, December 14, 2014

Nigerian President Jonathan Determined To Win War On Terror

Nigeria’s President Goodluck Jonathan has promised that his administration will win the war on terror despite what he describes as efforts by some individuals to sabotage efforts to combat Islamist militant group Boko Haram.

Jonathan was recently confirmed as the presidential candidate for his People’s Democratic Party (PDP) ahead of the February general election.

Critics say he doesn’t deserve a second term in office because he has not ended the violence perpetrated by Boko Haram militants.
Presidential spokesman Reuben Abati dismissed that criticism as politically motivated.

Politics
He said opponents of the president are taking undue advantage of the country’s security challenges to score cheap political points ahead of next year’s vote.
“What President Jonathan has always said is that the will of the people and of the Nigerian government is stronger than that of the terrorists and insurgents. And no matter what it takes, no matter how long it takes the government is determined to win the war against terror,” said Abati.

“Because we are in a political season, quite a number of persons try to play politics with terrorism and insurgency,” said Abati. “The president has called on all professional politicians that this challenge requires the cooperation of all Nigerians, it requires a bi-partisan approach because terrorism poses a threat to our sovereignty as a country.”

Criticism
Opponents say Jonathan has failed to protect citizens from Boko Haram. They also accused him of incompetence and failure to keep his promise to transform the economy and improve the living conditions of the people.
But Abati disagrees, saying the accusations are mere political rhetoric. President Jonathan, Abati says vowed to campaign on his record, based on verifiable achievement in his re-election bid.

“President Jonathan will campaign on issues and ideas. He will not campaign on the basis of emotions or empty rhetoric or the kind of empty promises that the opposition seems to have acquired professionalism in, said Abati.
“A majority of Nigerians know that this is a government that has performed that has turned the Nigerian economy into the largest economy in Africa. This is the government that has revived the railways, this is the government that has achieved a lot in terms of privatizing the power sector and giving real hope about the power sector,” he said.

Abati added that the Jonathan administration has confidence that the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) will organize free, fair, transparent and credible elections.

107 comments:

1. Ok we haff hear.
    Talk less and do more.

1. Nonsense, what he couldn't do for 4 years.

2. Go nd sit D hell dwn U nd ur boss,Gej doesn't deserve a 2nd term since his 1st tenure was messy,nt forgeting d lifes wasted away dis last 4yrs of his reign,failed presido,he's got no balls,nd I can bet my left breast dt Gej knws d full sponsores of dis dealy sect,he knws his enemies yet no balls To act according,what does he need a 2nd term forr? Just for wt nw,so d masses wud die more nd more cuz na We go hear wee,mtchew if u pipo like be shoutin Gej till 2019,I wud like to have a gud laugh @ d expense of una choice,cus dis BH guys wud nt only remain in d norrth bt all oda part of d country,nd ur Gej wud condemn nd condemn nd mke empty recycled bh prromises.mtcheeeeew I feel better rantin

3. Failed President, You better go and sit somewhere.
      Buhari for President

4. Carry go! Come 2019, if you want third term, I will still vote for you. Leave those Hausa Mallams killing themselves, they have leaders there when they are ready they would find a solution to the problem they started. You are not omnipotent you can only try, all these people complaining, if you think he is not doing enough, join the army, send your husbands, brothers and boyfriends to borno. Only blind people can't see the improvements in every sector. Don't bother about the social media politicians most of them do not even own a voters card. I repeat, GEJ is the best president we have ever had. If previous governments tried as hard as he has, Nigeria won't be where it is today. The governors and local government chairmen should share the blame not every time GEJ. To all those swines calling you clueless, they are referring to their fathers and husbands....#teamGEJ2015 #teamFreshAir #GEJtillinfinity #GEJtillJesuscomes #ifyoudontlikeleavethecountry....PH GAL

5. 06pm Dec 13

JONATHAN CANNOT WIN 2015 ELECTION — ASARI DOKUBO
      ---------------------

One of the biggest supporters and kinsman of President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan, Alhaji Mujahid Dokubo-Asari, has declared that the president has lost the support of his political base, the South-south and the South-East owing to the failure of his government to deliver on its promises.

Dokubo-Asari, at a press conference in Abuja on Friday, said that it would be tough for Jonathan to win the presidential election in 2015 if he decides to run based on the poor showing of his administration.

He said that his decision to speak out was for him and others who are ardent supporters of Jonathan not to be blamed for his failure in 2015.

He said: “I want to start with an Ijaw proverb, which says: the eyes watched its seven children to death. Instead of advising them, it was just looking at them until they died, while the mouth talked its only child to life and success.

“We have continued as Ijaw people and the entire Niger Delta and South-South to support the presidency of President Goodluck Jonathan, but a time has come when silence cannot be golden.

“We mainly speak out in issues that are very critical to the survival of our people, the survival of the people of the South-South and the South-East, which happens to be the political base of Goodluck Jonathan.

“Jonathan is surrounded by very greedy people who are only in the Presidency to enrich themselves at the expense of Goodluck himself.

“This brings us to another Kalabari proverb, which says: where there are elders, a goat cannot be allowed to deliver tied to a stick.

“If we don’t talk and we continue to brush it aside, tomorrow we will be blamed and people will say: Mujahid Dokubo-Asari was around when Goodlcuk Jonathan was president and he didn’t talk.

“Them I will be an accomplice and accessory after the fact….

“It is alarming because the South-South must have its uninterrupted eight years tenure, which is constitutional.

6. This Asari one shock me pass any other thing. For the first time am utterly speechless.

2. Hhmmmmm

War against terrorism at the ninth hour

I wish you GOODLUCK!

3. For how many years wil he keep on telling us this,thousands ar dying everyday nd he seems carefree to d plight of d people •Bokoharam dnt even knw d right people to kill.

4. @reuben abati,is the opposition also playing politics with the fact that I've not had light in over 2months despite living in a high networth area in Lagos state as indeed all over the State?

1. My sista,d darkness no b here o!Total blackout!

5. With determination and God on his side,he will surely end the insurgency facing us...Let us wish him luck people.

6. Action speaks louder...Do the talk.

***GodsOwnPrincess***

7. Enough of GEJ's administration please!
    His tenure is the worst so far.
    Let someone else step in.
    we no longer need clueless and shoeless leaders. what we need is someone that can take Nigeria to the promise land or at least the gate of the promise land.

1. Ahahah u don frustrate BL se? Lmaooo. When matter pass make person vex na to laugh remain. Meanwhile I dey Bourdillon road life, I come do amebo. Today na today, dem wan decide their VP. Oh la la.

2. If dat 'someone else' z Buhari, den I rada stick wv GEJ o.....d change Nigeria want z yet to com!

3. @Bloglord you have said it all. Meanwhile,go pick up your Range from our SDK agent at apapa wharf his name is (Mr Shoki) on tuesday morning. You will receive free full tank of petrol for your comment.

4. Lmao! Jay Moore! I hope its the '2OI5' HSE?
      I'll call Mr Shoki straigh away.
      Hahaha. How are you boo? Compliments of the season.

5. Jaymoore Lmao!!! When am I picking mine frm MR SHOKI? Bwahahahahahahaha.

6. @Bloglord not HSE rather Supercharge but be ready to spend more on fuel @Chyadajesus we are mailing all winners this week, we notify you soon😊. Have a lovely week and merry christmas in advance.

7. Ohhhhh Jaymoore, am drooling already! Money for fuel will not be a problem. *dialing Mr Shoki>>>>>>>>>ringing>>>>>>

8. thats what they have been telling us

Please prove you're not a robot to read

9. Blah blah blah

Genny hope your leg is better oh. Tk Kr of yourself dear.

The Generals wife Ke kwanu? You've been MIA where are you na?

1. She is at her duty post-Romancing the General. DND.

2. @Ada,GW's getting used to her new luxurious surroundings...there was a coup u see

3. Nwuye General remember say xse if not food ooo, bwhahahhahahahahahaha in XoXo voice.

10. This oga at the top makes me laugh always

11. Ogbeni let's hear word...

12. Well I don't kwn abt politics but @least we need a change... I really like our president but for another term in office?? With dis hardship evrywhr... things ar getting worse everyday, boko haram, kidnappers, arm robbers.... buhari hmmm... don't kwn o

13. Iwoyi aaro..

Na now he just wake up???

14. Oje marina fese gugu ki be ma se je!!!!!
    Lie liar liest

1. Lmao haven't heard dis in like 4eva

15. We keep hearing promises. E don reach 6 years. Do something and let us see it.

1. And he says he needs another 4yrs? The people around him will be the death of GEJ

16. Who are the individuals frustrating your effort?
    Dem no get names?
    Gej awaken your 9ja delta blood nau
    You are being too calm biko

17. Nw he is determined abi, wat was he doing during the tym in office shebi him dey sleep, na nw him knw say he is determined mseeeew abegi

18. I wish the opponent isn't Buhari, but i'm with GEJ.

19. Lwys promising buh no productive result.i ve lost faith in u

20. I dont get iy...people have come on the blog complaining of no light for 3 days in s row dome 6 days....what is mr abati on about....abi is he in another nigeria? What about the thousands that havve lost their lives and property....okay what about those poor forgotten 200 teenage girls hennn????
    Oh has your boss been able yo get back the 50 million his friend stella oduah spent on 2 cars....
    you do know 50 million naira can sort out quite a number of roads.... said enough okay bye byr

21. He has changed which economy? Definitely not the economy of the masses, he's definitely not improved the lives of the unemployed millions. Which railway? I no see am o. Power supply is getting worse by the day. We dey share light upon traansformer wey don spoil finish and dem still no dey bring light. During the last election, GEJ promised stable power supply by 2015. I never see am o. Hm! It's a pity that so many Humans have lost their Souls, the very thing that make them humans because of money, ethnicity and basic greed. They now use religions as excuses. We should vote Jonathan out come 2015. I can't take this anymore. My family of Graduates is suffering. He's been there for 6 years and life is just getting more unbearable by the minute. The corruption in Nigeria is increasing rapidly. We need change abeg. Jonathan should go. Ma'm, pls post my comment.
    Signed By Mee!

1. You said it all. This is by far the worst administration. Naira to dollar 190 at black market, no light for weeks, always getting strange mallams to brimg water in which is scary as shit, in this lawless country.
      I will keep saying it, pple that were comfortable 8yrs ago with good bisinesses are begging now. I know 3 diff people and i dont know to many pple. So thr probability that most pple have been frustrated out of business is high. Pple just dey struggle to make xmas enjoyable l. Na wa. We have lost so much respect internationally this past few years that it is unbelievable that we can be treated worse than we were already being treated prev

22. We have been hearing dis since 2011........action is what we want abeg

23. Body language says different thing.

24. So annoying! He said they're trying to play politics with terrorism and insurgency. Is that not enough reason to vote him out? More people have lost their lives during GEJ's 6-year administration than all the previous wars in Nigeria combined; and you still think him competent? Come on. People are no longer concerned about the greater good. All they care about is enriching their pockets so they can take their families abroad. Please, come 2015, let's vote GEJ out. He doesn't value human life. The fact that he's living a good life now has made him forget when he had no shoes because so many Children have infact lost their legs, their lives, family and even their hope(the kidnapped girls are in slavery)

25. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Buhari for president....
    *GLO BRING 3G TO KONTAGORA*

26. Jonathan is weak!
    Simple!
    I see him on tv and the 1st thing I wanna do is laugh
    He looks like a comedian
    His looks/presence doesnt command respect
    How boko haram go fear who I no fear?
    Mtchw

Presidency is not your father's right
    Why are some people so shameless?
    If its just out of respect for the dead, he should resign with dignity.
    Mtchw

27. You will win it with God Almighty on your side. GEJ till 2019.

1. Oh pls shut ur traps. Na u wan win am for am? Nigerians are suffering and dying and u still want this incompetent, clueless, corrupt drunkard full of impunity to rule us. Are you alright @ all? And u have the effonttery to bring God into this. You are one of the reasons this country is in a mess. Vamooose abeg

2. @Ujunwa, You are so senseless and heartless just like your president. What makes APC boko haram, any evidence/proof? And if there is what stops ur heartless president from prosecuting them, uhn? Is security the only problem we have in this country? What about food, employment, infrastructures, electricity, health care, housing, and the stupid budget every year rising into trillions. Did APC make the cost of governance so expensive too, did APC tell him to have over 10 private planes? Do APC work in NNPC where over 20 billion dollars have been missing where this heartless man had to chase ex CBN governor Sanusi Lamido for blowing the whistle. Did APC appropriate a budget of 1 billion naira a year for feeding the president? That's is like 3 million naira a day on food for the president. Hahaaaaa, on top wetin, na gold him they chop? Or diamond goat meat him dey chop. All sectors of the economy are dead and your clueless self blame APC for non performance of the president. Does your senseless brain not tell you that Jonathan had been the president for almost 6 years now and APC was just formed last year which is 2013. How can you accuse a party that was just formed in 2013 of frustrating the president when there have been deaths since 2007/08/09. You people need to get your brains upgraded.

28. Story for the gods!

Ever since he resumed office its been one death or the other,bomb blast here and there and he is saying his opponents just want to score cheap. If I hear!

29. GEJ keeps talking about hpw he's changed the economy. The truth is they calcuate growth by profit made by Nigerians divided by the total number of the population and arrive at the conclusion that we're growing as a Nation. Nigerians enjoying the wealth of this great Nation is not up to a thousand. They control the wealth that is supposed to be enjoyed by about 200 million people. Nigerians are top of every "Richest People" list but in truth majority of us can't even afford the basic neccessities of life. It's such a shame that so many Nigerians have been brainwashed by their lies. Reuben Abati, please, don't annoy me. Don't tell me these claims are verifiable. This same Nigeria wey we dey abi na Mars U dey live? Please, be Patriotic!
    Signed By Mee!

1. I dey feel u ooooo..... Obasanjo cleared all our debt and left enough reserve, pls see the debt we don gather oooo and see as reserve dey dry up like pikin dey suck ribena ....

30. This GEJ and his team of chronic liars!they have gotten so used to lies that they don't feel it anymore.smh @GEJ administration has created d biggest economy in nigeria'.what kind of evil conspiracy theory is dat?

31. Hian ooooooo. Do first b4 u talk. Mtscheew all talk no action

32. He should go and sit down

33. Its a big Sabotage to his Adminstration
    It's not easy to end the war against insurgent but God will give GEJ the wisdom to end it. Say no to Buhari

1. Boko haram are not insurgents,they are terrorists.there is a big difference my dear.insurgents are people dat take up arms within a state cos they are not satisfied with d govt.they don't claim lands and states and usually no foreign help.but terrorists do all dat and dats what bh is.

34. Hmmmmm a ti gbo. Talk less and do more... We need actions

35. We have heard this for the past four years of this administration why nigerians keep loosing their lives on daily basis. The govt. Is not sincere in the fight against insurgency.

36. mtcheew...story for d gods....

37. He has said this more than 1000 times, he should just do something n stop raising our hopes unnecessarily. All what they are after is power and money, pple are dying everyday for how long are we going to continue to hear this. We want to see actions Mr president.

38. Is alright oda baun korofo la san

39. Goodluck to him jst as his name implies.

40. Goodluck my man.... U will win

~@iamjbankz SA to President Jonathan 2015~

41. We want security and not just promises.

42. Stella your blog don turn as e dey hot? Jonah well don.

43. God please heal this nation and make it a better place for us#both the rich and the poor#

44. Abati the talkative. We yaff hear o

45. Seems this people don't understand that Nigerians are not fools GEJ should do something and stop releasing press statement we tired of all dis talks without action. What do they take us for? You can't buy sophisticated weapons for the military to tackle bokoharam and yet you want to fight terrorism, u all said u know the people sponsoring BH and yet u can't order their arrest? We tired of all dis and we need a change, am not saying Buhari is d best but Jonathan we are tired.

46. Ok, tompolo&warship
    >>The new Nigeria Army.

1. I heard about this ,Tompolo bringing in a battle ship .GEJ if this is true ? U can never get my vote 2015,never.how can ? The 1 billion you collected to fight bh,how far ? Am so angry and short of words.

47. I wonder when Abati will be truthful to himself always pointing at perceived enemies. While the real enemies are all in the corridors of power.

48. Jonathan stop talking and act, do head like cashew nut

49. We want a change. We are tired of same old story.

50. Awww I feel for our dear president,this Apc aka bokoharam fustrated him,this is not fair, without bokoharam I think he would have performed better. Why do you all like criticism,atimes let everyone take his or her self to be in his shoes. He is only but a human.

1. Hahahaha
      If I were in his shoes, I wont contest for another term
      Wetin happen?
      Na by force to be president?
      If the job is too hard he should resign
      People are dying everyday
      Na until boko haram reach east abi?
      Shame no dey catch una?
      Aint you afraid of your life?
      Greed has eaten deep into some people's veins

Cos your family is indirectly benefiting from his administration doesn't mean you should be biased as a good citizen

I just want change
      I dont care who brings it
      I voted for jonathan cos I thought he will make things better
      Now I regret that action.

A dollar = N185?
      If you do this small scale importing business, you will understand the implication of this development

We need to put personal feelings aside and cry out for the good of this nation.

We cant continue like this
      May God heal our land

2. GEJ is the president of this country, it is fine if he can't provide jobs(which is his responsibility), it is fine if our health care system is a total mess(it is also his responsibility), it is still okay if our education system is epileptic(still his responsibility), it is fine if we don't have power, he can give a zillion reasons to defend his ass why he is not living up to this responsibilities, it is okay. But nne, if it is not safe for me to go out there and hustle and come back in one piece, then he has no excuse for that. If he can't give anything that is expected of him, it is okay but there is no excuse for the shabby security we have in this country, there is NO EXCUSE for the lives lost.
      So what u are saying now is that if it were a war with another country that broke out during his regime, our asses should be fried? A president prepares himself for these things, the safety of lives and properties of ur people is ur utmost responsibility and there is no excuse for any slack in it, no excuse at all.
      I get his victimization cloak tales but if u can't defend us against an enemy within, then a war will see our end. I don't buy the 'people are sabotaging my regime with bokoharam' sorry tales, he should take responsibility.
      Do u know how much a dollar is worth now? Naira is kissing the floor on foreign exchange market, we are going thru austerity measures, oil price has been stampeded. Will u also say he's being sabotaged? what happens if India stops buying our oil? What will be our fate? What happened to our rubber, cocoa, coal, ore? We threw them off the window and poked our eyes on oil cos it's quick cash, left the rest of our export resources to rot. All our hope is we've got the giant client, America to buy our oil, and sadly America has got it's own oil and has booted us, now we only sell to india, so what will happen to this 'great nation' if india gets a better deal else where? Salaries will be delayed, our children will starve and we will go back to square one abi? Now it doesn't matter when the rot started, it is crumbling in his regime and it is his RESPONSIBILITY!
      U can't say he is also sabotaged in those areas will you?
      Nne biko don't get me started on our govt biko, I don't bother about their issues which is why am not voting for nobody, it's not like my vote will count anyway.
      Am not saying GEJ is the worst, am not saying there is a better saviour out there but what I know is that he could have done better, he didn't hold the forte and he should accept responsibility for his actions and quit the victimized 'they are sabotaging me' sorry tales he's choking us with, we are fed up with the same version all the time.
      Sabotage ko, frustrate ni.

51. Goodluck with the talks! All talks and no action...

52. Jona president that can talk with no action, I dislike him.

53. "Igbayi lowuro ti arugbo nsunkun jerry" (meaning sarcastically that is it at an advanced age that an elderly one should be clamouring for jerry curls).

Imagine the chibok girls for months have been in such unimaginable ordeal that is hard to fathom. Daily bombings do not even seem like news anymore. It is way too sad for a president to say he is "fighting" any war against terrorism. The fighting must be in his sleep!

54. All these sweet talks..There is God o

55. What is this man saying? reuben abati abeg go sidon.. who go say im mama soup no sweet

56. Na here we dey
    Upon the billions they said they spent on INEC reg
    Voter's card ish
    Person still no fit register
    Beginning of vote manipulations
    Just spending money anyhow
    Putting Nigeria in debt
    PHCN bill is N7000 in my area per month
    Even if na only one bulb you get for the one room you manage build
    How much is minimum wage?
    No more subsidy on anything
    Na so e meet am?
    The rich are getting richer that is why they can open their month and say #GEJ till eternity
    What about the poor masses?
    The average pepper seller?

Derris God
    Person wey no go give us peace no go see feb 14th
    Amen

57. My blood dey hot when I think bout Nigeria
    Them no go gree better people rule
    Birds of a feather
    Mtchw
    Judgment is coming o

58. He shld do na let's see. ..not ranting abt the whole place

59. Ђδω and when shall dis thing be? My president u hv d power, use it!!! Those frustrating ur effort r not stronger than u. Ahh!

60. Nigeria politics tire me
    Who will be better?
    GEJ is a failed president ....
    Who will lead us ?
    Nigeria has never had a good leader.

61. Mr President; may God give you wisdom that will help you in piloting the affairs of this country.

62. Guy! Go and rest you hear! God forbid you run Nigeria for a decade!