Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: FG Lowers Pump Price Of Fuel To N87/L. ......Kerosine Price To Be Slashed Nationwide.

Monday, January 19, 2015

FG Lowers Pump Price Of Fuel To N87/L. ......Kerosine Price To Be Slashed Nationwide.

The Federal Government has announced N10 reduction in the price of Premium Motor Spirit (PMS), also known as fuel, from N97 to N87 per litre.

The Minister of Petroleum, Mrs Diezani Allison-Madueke, made this known to State House correspondents on Sunday in Abuja.

She said the Petroleum Product Price Regulatory Agency (PPPRA) ‎had already been directed to immediately effect the new change from midnight on Sunday18.

According to her, the change is in view of recent reduction in the global price of crude oil.

Also, The Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC) has initiated a scheme aimed at getting kerosene to consumers across the country at the regulated price of N50 per litre.

This is contained in a statement issued on Sunday in Abuja by the Group General Manager, Group Public Affairs Division, of the corporation, Mr Ohi Alegbe.

It said the scheme ‘Kero Correct’ initiative’ was also aimed at cutting off the several layers of middlemen who made it difficult for the end user to enjoy the subsidy on the product.

The statement said that the Executive Director, Commercial, of the Pipeline and Products Marketing Company (PPMC), Mr Frank Amego, announced the initiative at a one-day workshop in Abuja.

It said the workshop that was organised by the NNPC was to enlighten some Non-governmental Organisations (NGOs) and volunteers engaged to help monitor the sales of the product at NNPC Mega and affiliate stations across the country.

It quoted Amego as saying that the scheme was aimed at getting kerosene to the Nigerians who used the product as their domestic cooking fuel at the correct price

He observed that though kerosene was the most subsidised product, Nigerians had not been enjoying the subsidy.

He said this was because of the long arbitrage system involved in its distribution and retailing, and diversion of the product by marketers to the construction industry where it was used for blending bitumen.

“The Kero Correct initiative is thus designed to distribute and sell kerosene directly to end users from NNPC Retail mega and affiliate stations across the country at the government-regulated price of N50 per litre to ensure effective control,” he stated.

He said the scheme which would be officially launched soon, would involve the distribution of a total of 1,500 trucks of kerosene across NNPC Retail’s mega and affiliate stations across the country.

This, he said, was to ensure that each consumer gets at least 25 litres of the product over the next three months.
Source: (NAN)

Is this good news to you?

126 comments:

1. Good news good politics. The game continues.

1. IMO it's bad politics because judging from every one's comments here they can see through his gimmicks.
      Nobody is deceived.
      Wtf is 10N reduction?!?

2. Scam! Campaign strategy.
      Yimu!
      Even if its true, filling stations will tweek their pumps to read 87naira.
      Mtchew

I sha know its a scam. GEJ welldone o! Clap for Diezani.

3. I dey tell u. Na today oil price drop? All for the election. We refuse to be fooled.

4. Stella na wash o. Buhari for president by God's grace

5. All na wash o. Nigerians cannot be fooled.

6. mtchewww..im tired of Nigeria and its foul play GEJ I see ur handwork...e na nwa

7. Bloody political pranks,
      Medicine after death:this Jonathan is a very deceitful and evil person:Oil price world wide has be less than 50doll since July 2014,meaning that we are supposed to be buying crude at least 50naira since den,but no!he and his cartel have been embezzling that difference,its only now that the opposition is using this against them that he decided to remove 10naira.so who still takes d 30naira extra?lol smh
      Also weeks to election is when our President finally agreed to pay amnesty for the victims of 2011 post election violence.who is deceiving who?
      Nigerians are wiser if Jona likes he should hang on a cross like Jesus,it will make no difference!....

8. Shame!
      No words for GEJ and his cohorts.
      God in His Infinite mercies will fight for us and reward all of them accordingly.

9. This is absolute RUBBISH! When other countries have reduced theirs by 50%, this government could only come up with 10%.

What a SHAME! Please can be government be BOOTED OUT already!!! See how they finished our foreign reserve.

WHAT A PROFLIGATE GOVERNMENT!!!!!!!!!

10. Loooool at Queen Bee....
      Shey you people were calling him clueless....
      Hahahahahahahahahaha....
      Dude knows how to play the game wella...
      I love My presdo....
      Correct nigga....

1. Teacher: When crude oil was N119 per barrel, we were buying petrol for N97 per litre,
      Now that crude oil is N49 per barrel with all other things being equal, what is the expected price of petrol per litre?
      Jonathan: N87.
      Teacher: Pls who awarded PhD to this man who doesn't know simple arithmetic?
      Teacher: Buhari what is d answer?
      Buhari: sir, the only item that has changed is price, so our CHANGE formula is;
      If N119 changed to N49
      Then N97 will CHANGE to N27
      Teacher: But they said u don't have certificate?
      Buhari: it's a simple arithmetic, even market woman can solve it.
      Teacher: Chai chai..... we need CHANGE

2. Even if he changes the price to 50naira, the compounding issue isn't solved yet. People feel Jonathan is cheapening their intelligence by this. And it is certainly not a good time to please Nigerians now, as all will be considered election motivated.

3. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    They will still be selling it hundred naira though no doubt......
    *GLO BRING 3G TO KONTAGORA*

1. MR EDDY said this harmattan is sponsored by MTN. It is everywhere u go.
      Another cunningly political strategy.
      ^
      ^
      ^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~wishes u happy new year.

4. Greek gift!

Crude oil price dropped by $50 and Nigeria is getting a mere N10 decrease.

If it was not for the bleak electronic results PDP is foreseeing, even the N10 decrease wouldn't have happened.

In other news, I just saw on TV that the governments of Brazil and Netherlands have recalled home their ambassadors from Indonesia as a result of the execution of their citizens. Mum is the word from the Nigerian government.

1. Spot on dear, Greek gift indeed.
      On the Indonesian issue our 'benevolent' gov't didn't even appeal on her citizen's behalf. The sad thing is; they will not even learn, if this happens again you will still hear the same story.

2. Nigerian government did not keep quiet.

3. The call home of the ambassadors speaks volume. However it doesn't solve the matter o. So what becomes of the liaisons btw these countries thereafter? Discontinued abruptly?? What becomes of the other staff who are representative of the respective countries? would all be withdrawn too? Cos the ambassadors are just the top representative/officials in Indonesia..unless they are ready to completely shut down the entire Brazil and Netherlands quarters in Indonesia, am afraid it's a futile resolve

4. Gas the world over has gone down immensely, so I don't know why greed has so eaten into our system that the good of the masses mean nothing at all....Everything is for political gain....Greek gift indeed dear...

5. Yesterday, we filled our tank 20usd, and this used to be almost 40usd....It'd been going down since August last year and now it is at one of its lowest....Our government is wicked! very wicked! It is so terrible...

5. That's wonderful, GEJ is the best president Nigeria ever have. Goodnews!

Krix via iphone6 gold

1. Mumu of life. What is "wonderful" in this? Crude oil price has gone down since mid last year but our government just remembered to reduce it by #10 ONLY just bcos election is around d corner. Wonderful indeed.

6. Election strategy, Na today . As for me, I'm not moved at all.

7. Better news o but am sure APC supporters go call am election scam! GEJtill2019

1. Try to educate yourself.... I hate politics so much both APC and PDP...... But globally fuel price has been slashed down to $47 / barrel (50% droped) since late June 2014..... Now close 2 election is when our government just adjusted #10 only ........ I hope it won't go up back after election anyways ...... IS THIS REALLY GOOD NEWS???

2. Well said anon. 9.00 it's definitely strategy for Jonathan cos he has forseen the election isn't going to be an easy one for them to rig hence trying to buy the hearts of Nigerians, even if petrol becomes FOC, change is all I want.

8. Good campaign strategy. After breaking our hearts with "occupy Nigeria" Hope it doesn't triple if he returns. *cautiously screening Jonathan.

9. After d election they will increase it to N150, they can't fool me.

1. Who is fooling who?"politricks"we undstnd the game..Lets wait and see if it won't increase after election..Rubbish!!

10. This is just a cheap political point by Gej. Fuel prices all over the world went down by almost 50%, yet Gej and Co wants to play politics with our minds by only reducing 10%. I have nothing against this man but his advisers don't tell him the truth.

11. Campaign stunts. Hope it will not be increased by N30 after election.

1. We hope so too. It's the way forward for now.

2. The reducing doesn't move me. I buy N110 per litre here...

Nigeria is just a country in a story. Our God given resources, not even available to us!

12. Use the offer while it lasts

13. Won fe gbawa ni ooo! The devil is a liar...

14. HEHE... They want second tenure. Nigeria knows. Y'all will up the price in no time if elected back.
    Lol. But its a good start. I hope this transporters will cut down on their exorbitant Transport Fares.
    I no Fit Shawt.

15. All na wash,election strategy. We are not fools

16. Election freebies.... Am nt stupid

17. Good news my foot! Abeg oga jonah do make power change hands! Cant shout.

18. All sane nations have since reduced the cost of petroleum products..With crude oil selling at less than 47 dollars 87 naira is still too high ... Crude fell by 58% right... Ideally fuel should not cost above 52 naira.. Jonathan had six years to build functional refineries.. Refineries that will employ over 20 thousand graduates but he closed his eyes and said to hell with the mass of the people in our nation.. Only a fool will fall for this wayward political trick..Omofoma

1. Will u mind Jonathan?
      He is deceiving himself with his ten naira reduction. Am not fooled one bit

2. High five for this. Maybe they think we're fools, when I saw it last night, I was like what! After all this time this is what they came up with, and they will expect us to cheer them on, that they've done a wonderful thing.

3. Don't mind stella. Dis election brouhaha has shown how shallow she really is even tho she tries to cova it. Stella I suggest u read what Festus Keyamu has to say about elites keeping quiet.

19. Atleast let enjoy it till after the elections

1. Stop short-changing yourself Mister.

2. If crude oil was N119 per barrel and we were buying petrol for N97 per litre
      Now that crude oil is N49 per barrel wit al oda tins being equal, petrol shld be sold for N27 and not 87 per litre!

20. Folks It's becoming very clear to Jonathan and his political clowns that defeat is awaiting them in February... The slash came after the emergency meeting of PDP leaders yesterday.. Odigie

21. Nope it is not bcos the shylock drivers wont kukumo reduce tfare and i no dey use kerosine

besides is #10 now equal to 1 dollar another GEJ political antics that wont wek !!!

22. What difference does 10 N make?
    Pms has dropped by 50% Nationwide, Why should they reduce it by 10 N.

23. Does it make a difference
    They should slash it down again

24. Great move, And yes its a good news but i will really want it to be reduced even more.

25. I bought 97 this morning. I told the attendant that the p.p of fuel has been reduced n he said"Aunty that one is political reduction o."

1. Irene o ni pami o. Afi political reduction na. I no fit laff jare

2. Same here oh my dear, @Irene.
      Bought 4,000 Naira worth this morning at the rate of 97 Naira.
      When I asked, I wasn't given any reasonable explanation.
      I wonder where this 87 Naira talk is from.
      Mscheeew!

3. But this Genny infant has a huge problem sha. Who asked you if you bought a 1million worth? Bitch you talk too much. Small girl feeling like a big woman. Harlot that chose to permanently twerk on a dick at a tender age on a daily basis be coming here to form holier than thou. Annoying piece of trash. Uncouth brat!

4. Lolzz @political reduction!! Epic response ooo Chai naija

26. This is coming after APC addressed a press conference last week and ask the president to slash the cost of petroleum products and stop stealing from the people of our federation.. Unfortunately the price slash is too small compared to the percentage fall in the price of crude... If we had functional refineries by now the cost of a litre of fuel will be less than 35 naira not 87 naira

27. This has been long coming, most countries have passed on the drop in price of wholesale crude oil to their citizens.

Click my name for all your celebration cakes and cupcakes, cheers

28. Not good enough. Why not a round figure like #80? Why include #7? Besides the regulatory board in charge of fixing prices don't really do a complete follow up. Most filling stations may not sell at the new price until after some time. This is another campaign strategy I guess

29. Iwoyi laro! Congrats to them, so a reduction was possible along but they'd rather rip Nigerians off!
    Another reason why we need that CHANGE!

30. Na every January dem dey increase n decrease fuel prices

31. It is if every fuel station implements it!

32. yes o.. its gud news to me. dis wld lessen d prices of many consumer goods i hope.
    n all diz cab drivers wont b cuttimg my neck anymore.
    Do u knw where u can read fantastic stories?
    hilarious stories about life
    if u wnt to knw, check this blog out.
    Life Encounters

33. Hmm... It sounds like a good news but how long does the federal government intend to keep the price still? Hope it has nothing to do with the upcoming election. It is well with my country...

34. My hubby just told me the news this morning and I was like,is this a form of campaign strategy?
    Medicine after death!!!!
    What happened to our fuel subsidy money
    And who can attest that he or she has gained from their so called SURE-P.mtchewww
    Nigerians cannot be fooled anymore except of course those that came from another planet

35. Nice one...but hope filling stations will reduce it ohhh

36. In my opinion, I think this is just a way to cushion the effect of the coming inflation as a result of Naira devaluation a bit.
    We are a largely import dependent economy, so once, traders exhaust current stock/inventory, and traders get new stock,they will import inflation alongside. But at least, if transport cost reduces a bit for the traders, increase in selling price will not be too much. Which is of course a good idea but at the long run....its like taking paracetamol for migraine. Relief is minimal. N10 reduction is too small to buttress the extra N30 we'll pay on every dollar.

I won't be surprised if the FG goes on to increase workers' salary too to cushion the inflation.

37. Why is GEJ Fooling himself! Increasing
    Fuel price frm N65 to N97 then reducing it
    to N87 aftr 3yrs because of election will not
    cajole us! Jonathan is a Scammer, he must
    go, crude fell from $140 to $48.50 and he
    reduced PMS by N10. Jonathan is a guyman
    (419).

38. It would have been a gud news if it wasn't all part of a political strategy and besides it would take most filling stations months to implement this price and ud hear silly comments such as they'v already stocked b4 d fuel reduction and would still sell @97 per litre but if d reverse were to be d case where there's a hike in pump price trust me they would quickly regulate d price as such not remembering they indeed stocked up fuel b4 the increase...i just tire 4naija bt as nigerians i employ we all not to fall for their silly political gimmicks,what's the guarantee that d price would still be 87 if jonathan is re elected

39. Good news ke?
    Since when have they been saying the same thing about kerosene?
    They are just waking up? Election tinz.

Meanwhile, the 10 naira reduction in fuel is ridiculous considering the price of crude oil world wide.
    Useless set of people.

40. Great news for Nigerian masses

GEJ TILL 2019,

Vote wisely

I am a farmer, and I know better.
    He has transformed agriculture.

Naija boy!!! For life

41. This is not good news biko. We all know this is a strategy on the part of jona for the masses to re elect him in the next election. When he comes back again he's definitely going to increase the fuel price back to or more than the former price. Why didn't he reduce it all this while? Oshisco

42. Thank U Madam Diezani.
    U have done well!

Stil believing u for a Job Máa'm....
    OR
    From Sir Reuben too......

It's well!

Good morning Blog Fam.

43. This one na campaign strategy oh.GEJ till 2019!

44. Election strategy s.m.h. Weda good or bad I Don give oga jona my vote pata pata. cos the devil we know is better than the angel we don't know. GEJ till 2019.

1. Ode. so what happens in 2019 when that devil u have always leaves office? Abi na d devil go rule for life?

45. There's noting good about this news

46. Its coming too late jor! Its just obvious its cos of election. He for kukuma do beta' reduction! @ the very least 80N/L.

As @ this morning,its still 97naira

47. Election is around the corner so I won't believe it until it is fully implemented and operational several month after the elction and swearing in.

48. Let me enjoy it whlie it last, can't shout at all...#StsllaMyMentor

49. I feel really bad for Mr president...I wish he had intelligent strategists who would have started working on winning the hearts of the masses like 2yrs bfore the election...they r doing things a little too late but if u do things late then u have to do things big!!!
    If I were in his team i would have advised the president to pay workers a december bonus, also do a silent increase in salary,he could just add a new allowance say hardship allowance (nothing too big)...then open up the stores houses and bring out rice and beans at very affordable rates (hhe could brand it and tag it naija made) then reduce fuel to at least 75-80naira

Little things done over long intervals would have made the masses a little more relaxed towards GEJ
    I Wish him the best

50. Nice 1,i hope the filling station will reduse the price as well.....

51. Goodnews,Great moves.
    Gej till 2019.

52. Good but N10 decrease is too small

53. Federal Government and their deceit,after election there will be a reversal of price.
    The PMS price should still go lower,I troway salute for Jonathan ooo.

Bolateethole.blogspot.com

54. Not good enough. They can do better

55. Oriegwu ooo!... Anyways, let's see hw it goes.

56. Na today crude fall??
    I see...because election is by the corner.
    Oriegwu.

57. Am happy Nigerians are no longer blind and can read between the lines...

*who the cap fits, let him wear it*

58. Not impressed sha, we supposed be getting it @ #52 per liter. They need to try harder than this.

59. You people should please give the government a break. How is it campaign strategy . Oil only started falling recently and they made it clear that they will reduce it after they finish selling the ones the already bought expensive . The already bought oil were going to finish one day with or without the election coming up.

1. Uncle Reuben Okupe Omokiri, you lie too much -__-

2. Come up with something more convincing. This one makes no meaning.

60. That's good news I guess...

~@iamjbankz SA to President Jonathan 2015~

61. If petrol is reduced to 50naira per litre they still make money so 10naira can't make much impact. Petrol outside is very cheap the past 3 months. I guess government is listening to our criticism but acting slow like snail.
    Well it's election strategy, it can only work for the gullible as little things trip citizens since our rights has been mortgage for sentiment.

62. What is wrong if they decrease the price to N80. I no ask of too much. The price should still be reduced. Thieves

63. Chai! This is the first time in a looooooooooooooong time abi na YEARS, that Nigeria is actually reducing rather than increasing price of anything!...
    Hmm,i wonder the real motive behind this strategic move.

1. The move is not strategic. It's just a cunning way to sway votes to the party.

64. Most people commenting with "HATE" for our Presdent obviously live in Lagos. Brain washed slaves of Tinubu (aka ; Tifnubu) he was former governor , his wife a senator, the daughter is iyaloja of lagos, he makes and appoints thugs and area boys your local government chairmen.
    Question; WHAT HAVE U ACHIEVED FROM APC IN LAGOS STATE?
    How many of u can afford the low cost housing estate built by fashola @ N15million per flat.
    How many of u can boast of getting ur c of o under a yr in lagos?
    Every morning u wake by 3am cos u want to resume at ur office by 8am yet u will still get to ur office btw 9 to 10 am cos of trafic.
    IU drive pass the lekki toll gate 100 time a day, u will 100 times, that gov, stealing from u.
    U BETTER WAKE UP AND SEE.

GEJ TILL 2019

Naija boy

1. What is this one saying? Are u saying traffic in Lagos is APC's making? How daft can u be? The traffic in Lagos is due to d congestion caused by ur brothers and sisters who left their villages and geopolitical zones to search for greener pastures in Lagos. That said, if you ever had d priviledge to travel outside the shores of Nigeria, you will know there's what we call "rush hour"......d time/period almost everyone is on d road at d same time going to work in the morning and returning home in d evening. so its not just a Lagos thing. And are you trying to compare the population of Lagos and number of road users to your village figures? Then, you are a dummy. And as for waking up 3am, are you kidding? If your place of work isnt too far from your home or a straight route from your home, will you wake up 3am cos others whose place of work is far from their home wake up that time? Be reasonable pls. My hubby leaves home 5am while i leave home btw 6:30am & 6:45am....so what trash are you saying?

As for Tifnubu(as u called him), we all know he is bad but Fashola is also part of APC yet he CHOSE to use his senses to lay d foundation for a better lagos. We may not be able to say he has done everything in Lagos but at least, he used his tenure to lay a foundation that his successors can build on. Dont ever say Lagos didnt achieve anything from APC, if not from Tinubu's government, then it is from Fashola's government. We keep saying Nigeria has been bad for so many years, but what visible effort did GEJ make to at least set a straight path for other leaders after him to follow? If 6yrs isnt enough to start making little changes, then i wonder the big change he wants to make in 4yrs. If we keep saying its not easy to repair the damages that have been in existence for long, then i guess those damages are meant to stay permanently cos nothing good comes easy and CHANGE/DEVELOPMENT comes with a price/sacrifice.

I think i should also let you know that Nigerians are not voting for party dis time BUT personality. If GEJ leaves PDP for APC, most Nigerians will still not vote for him. GEJ's inactive tenure is seriously working against him now. It is only during his tenure that EFCC was totally handicapped despite the terrible corruption going on. Whether PDP or APC, most Nigerians dont care.....all we want is a more effective person not someone who is just been tossed around or better still, he wants to please everyone around him.

65. Great news for Nigerian masses

GEJ TILL 2019,

Vote wisely

I am a farmer, and I know better.
    He has transformed agriculture.

Naija boy!!! For life

66. Dumb ass people, when did UK and US reduce their pump price, with the inflation of naira do you expect a large reduction when we are dependent on importation of petroleum product. Even if elections were not a few weeks, Diezani would have still reduced pump price. Until GEJ kills himself for all of you, he didn't go to Borno, u guys complained, he had gone you still cry wolf. If ye didn't reduce pump price y'all would have still complained. What we should all clamour for is for the nation to separate so we can all go with the leader we want..... PH GAL

1. PH GAL take it easy now. Our president leaves much to be desired. Seem you've gained a lot from this administration but majority of the masses ain't feeling the impact. Abeg show us the way make we benefit too.

2. Lovelace, dont tell her to take it easy. GEJ just found out about what is happening in Borno...right? Even d death of some of d soldiers deployed there didnt make him visit for once but now that election is around d corner, he suddenly remembered Borno.
      When his cousin or whatever was kidnapped, we know how the IG and other security operatives swung into action and within 48hrs d guy was released BUT over 200 girls were kidnapped in Borno yet nothing happened till date. Even that didnt move him to visit BUT his campaign gave him reasons to visit. PH gal, you are wicked and insensitive.
      If ur husband was one of soldiers killed in d North and ur sister/niece was one of d kidnapped girls, i guess you will still drop dis silly comment? GEJ's last minute actions are just TOO LATE.

67. gbosaa to the best President that Nigeria has ever had.good one Mr President

68. All this na politics, the fuel price is suddenly down beacuse feb 14 is around the corner.
    Nigerians will alw survive.

69. Story 4 d gods, Jona try again, I don't buy dis.

70. Indeed...politrick.they know wat they r doing.

71. Best president for were Who is he fooling? Since june last year fuel price has dropped to 50% globally, so bcos of election now all they could do for nigerians is to remove #10 only instead of #50, to me no way.

72. Thanks Iphie, I was surprised we weren't mentioned and was wondering if Abike is still house chairman on diaspora.