Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Genoveva Anonma Recounts How She Had To Strip To Prove That She Is Female

Thursday, January 15, 2015

Genoveva Anonma Recounts How She Had To Strip To Prove That She Is Female

Women's football star Genoveva Anonma has told the BBC of her degrading ordeal.
Sport can, at times, disappoint you in the way that certain individuals are treated as they strive to reach the top and achieve their dreams.

Sadly, women's football star Genoveva Anonma has an appalling story to tell of the way she was treated as a developing player in the game.

The Equatorial Guinea striker, who currently plays for German side Turbine Potsdam, is considered one of the best players in African women's football.
But she has told the BBC about the shocking way she has been treated in the game in a heartbreaking interview.

It all came following her outstanding performance for her country at the 2008 African Women's Championship when she scored the winning goal against Nigeria to secure the title.

After accusations from rival teams of her being a man, the Confederation of African Football subjected her to a humiliating situation.
"They asked me to take all my clothes off in front of officials from CAF and the Equatorial Guinea team," she told the BBC in their interview with her.
"I was really upset, my morale was low and I was crying. It was totally humiliating, but over time I have gotten over it.''

However, the issues would not go away. After the 2010 African Championship, Nigeria, along with South Africa and Ghana, accused Guinea of having three men in their team: sisters Salimata and Bilguisa Simpore, as well as her.
"You only need to have physical contact with them on the pitch to know this [that they are men]," said Ghana defender Diana Amkomah at the time.
Anonma was forced to refute the allegations. "These accusations come because I am fast and strong, but I know that I am definitely a woman.

"I was hoping they would call me to tell me they were taking me to hospital to do tests, but they never did. They did nothing to me. It was just down to me alone to defend myself, to state that I am not a man, I am a woman."

According to the BBC's feature piece, Anonma's biggest frustration remains that she has never been permitted to undergo medical gender testing to silencing her doubters.  culled

55 comments:

1. Eiyaa bad belle people everywhere.
    Don't mind them you look woman in my own eyes.

1. Eehyaa. Haters onli mk u stronger and beta, u ll kip rising dear

2. Haters will always look for a way to pull you down when you are better than them.

Order for your beautiful designers bedspread @ 79AEFD3B. Delivery available Nationwide

2. Wow
    Some are really having it hard.

1. hehehe Jesu.. Abeg a Few Days back biko.

#I SEE DEAD PEOPLE....

2. Hehehehehe Jesu. Abeg it's a Few Days Back.
      Hmm this Dead people m seeing is starting to take a better part of me. Ok.

#I SEE DEAD PEOPLE....

3. The gender test should have answered Their questions... but this?????
      ..hmm

4. G_pharm, instead of coming to rant about seeing dead people on SDK blog, go for deliverance

3. Ehya. That's somewhat annoying.
    She don't really have to blame them. You know?!

«Jealous SDKer«

1. It must have been a terrible ordeal but honestly, her face strong sha kaii!!

2. Trust Africans and their razz way of handling issues that's why we will always remain backward.

4. What a sad ordeal,a gender test would have done justice to the situation rather than going naked in front of everyone.Well BVS I'm so blessed,Daddy G.O has been Ministering for the last 3 days @ICC,university of Ibadan.I know he has a perfect will for me and by God's grace the job I so much desire will come soonest,#thanksgiving mode activated#Yours Sdkly dazzlinglizzy

5. What a sad ordeal,a gender test would have done justice to the situation rather than going naked in front of everyone.Well BVS I'm so blessed,Daddy G.O has been Ministering for the last 3 days @ICC,university of Ibadan.I know he has a perfect will for me and by God's grace the job I so much desire will come soonest,#thanksgiving mode activated#Yours Sdkly dazzlinglizzy

6. she's not that bad for a woman at least she look more of a woman to me than chichi,'chified'.

7. Where is the woman?. All l see are two people
    A white female
    and
    A black male

1. This is a tad too insensitive

2. Must be me then, cus she looks female to me. Top picture looks like she didnt have time to do her hair so looks a bit rugged.

3. Nope,it isnt.
      google her n you will see she is a man. countries hv complained bt nothing has bn done. the lawyers are shielding her.

8. na waoh!!so humiliating. why humiliate her in such a way by telling her to strip.gender test is better than this barbaric act.

9. They could have performed some tests instead of resorting to that - that was degrading to say the least!

10. she's not that bad for a woman at least she look more of a woman to me than chichi,'chified'.

11. Heard this on radie yesterday and I was like wow! Woukdbthey have treated a white this way???

12. She really look like a man,but she's a woman

13. Na bad belle and over sabi dey worry dem, if her team didn't win or she didn't play well there would be no ocassion for the insults and embarrassment.

Babe no mind dem, who God don bless he don bless
    Iga bu ogbenye buru kwa amusu, mba nu!

14. God that is so messed up!! we Africans sure know how to put our own down. Even on this blog!!!

15. So touching

Not everyone has it easy.

16. She doesnot look so manly in the second picture. Infac she looks like a woman. Na wa o...all these beefers

17. i bet there are less humiliating ways to prove her sex than asking her to strip in front of a bunch of people. Africans, so CRUDE!

18. Those men sha, them just wan see free kpekus, randy old men!...there are a million hospitals that can carry out tests on her but trust Africa to choose the crude way!
    Stripping in front of officials should be a criminal offense o...

19. Hmmmm she should be suing dem for such humiliation. What nonsense!

20. Very humiliating.

But with the way people go for surgeries to change their sex...Maybe DNA tests will be needed going forward. lol

Stripping is actually not proof that someone was born male or female these days...

21. She looks lik a man
    ...but d fact is she is not so dey Shud stop disturbing her...imagine removing her clothes for officials dat is gross.......

22. Oh well.. She sure looks like a man in that first picture??? But wait.. Is that a brown teeth I'm seeing?

23. Everything is just wrong with my Continent Africa. Reasonable people will subject her to medical test rather than stripping her. I'm glad she's gradually getting over it.

24. Haba! I can imagine how bad she felt. At least one or two officials should have taken her out privately to check rather than allow her stripe naked in front of them all.

1. It was done in private tho some of the football officials were present

25. African mentality,that's absurd!!!!!!!!!! She should sue their sorry black asses!!!!what kind of humiliation is that???

26. If you're asked to strip, you refuse. If they bare you from playing football, you sue them. You can't say they refuse you from doing a gender test, you chose not to because you can walk into any reputable hospitals, undertake gender tests and present the results on demand.

That's being smart and not resorting to pity when you can protect your rights and dignity!

But that's none of my business

...commenting from Ikoyi Cemetery

27. How depressing, don't they have test's and procedures for things like this?

Please click on my name to get % 100 unprocessed virgin human hair that looks and feels great.

28. Bad belle no good.let dem keep diein all day while u wil keep leaving big all day.

29. Eyah! But at least u ve prove urself to them n d bad belle ppl put down