Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Radisson Blu Hotel Staff Protest This Morning - Barricade Entrance!

Wednesday, January 21, 2015

Radisson Blu Hotel Staff Protest This Morning - Barricade Entrance!

This is a Blog Visitor Live Eye Witness Report...

''Hello Stella,

Hope you're good today?

Make I just do small amebo give you dis morning, as Staff of Radisson hear say Southern Sun and 4point hotel protest na so dem too carry placard dis morning ooo, as I'm sending you dis jist dem full outside and dem no allow guest enter hotel oo.
There anger be say dem no get gratuity and salary dey very small, also dem say the way dem dey lay staff off daily no good.
But stella between me and you eh, Radisson management still better pass some of dis other hotels oo, hotel staff salary usually is not so much on like other industry, atleast I'm sure the least waiter gets 70-75k monthly from salary and service charge put together, and dey provide 2 meals daily plus staff bus and medical services covering 2kids.
I don't mean to say they can't do more oo bcos dey are making the money, but there are better ways to go about it without causing the business to lose money.

Another thing is that we don't have union so they invited them over to stage all dis wahala........

Stella wetin concern me inside self? Na look I sit down outside dey look dem oo as dem no gree anybody enter office to work!  Where make I drop dis my mic abeg?

Plenty love and kisses jare!''

83 comments:

1. I hope Meridien doesnt follow suit.
    Most private companies do not have pension plan for workers.

1. Uncalled for? Are you kidding me? Then you haven't stated working yet @sdkbabe. Go get yourself a job then you'll know why they're protesting. The other companies will review their payroll when people start protesting. I support una abeg as long as it's a peaceful protest

2. Bad market! Their salary is even fair compared to some.

3. Ha! Na wa o. If what this eye witness said is true then the staff are not serious. 70-75k for waiters? 2 meals and staff bus join? Lmaooooooooo

They should go to some offices where Bsc holder go home with less than 50K.
    No medical o. 100 naira per day as lunch.

Mtscheeeew. Nigeria be killing its youth since 1900.

1. Many graduates don't even earn that much. My friend that is a barrister working in a chamber earns 15k monthly. No transport or lunch allowance

2. Yes oh 15k per month as a barrister especially in Enugu. The day I heard it I nearly quench!

4. Those staffs are greedy. Omo waiters dey earning plenty in these big hotels plus tips, and I don't mean contract staffs oo, I knows some that has even bought a car with the salary. Peeps don't look down on these kind of jobs it pays wella oo, but it not advisable for a lady to working there kai I know what im saying.

1. Your english fit give ur neighbour grandmama high bp, posh idiot

5. Wow this is so uncalled for mehn

6. So bcos oda hotel staff protested dem too don protest. lack of originality.
    dey shld hv used a different style, such as lock all d guests in their rooms n flush all d keys... mtchew

What is your addiction? Mine is reading stories
    If you love good stories, join me. click this link
    STORY JUNKIE

7. We need to embrace the culture of unionism in Nigeria seeing as a lot of employers try to take undue advantage of the sad state of things here.

Liflblog.WordPress.com

LIVE YOUR BEST LIFE EVERY DAY!

8. Low pay, no work

9. Oh! And I lover radisson blu o. Wish Terry was still alive, would av called him as the F&B manager to find out. RIP Terry dear.

1. Chai...May Terry's Soul rest in peace....He was a true leader.

2. Chai...May Terry's Soul rest in peace....He was a true leader.

10. This reporter is he a staff or what?abi just a passerby cos me no understand him own part of the story.Na una go help management spend their money?The thing about ish like this is that at the end of the day, some will be the ones to suffer it.God should help us in this country cos at this stage even the govt can't.

Employers are aware of the predicament of the nation\economy hence they will continue to act as they so please

11. They should be ready to face the consequence of their actions.

12. Lol u are obviously a staff but u are trying to shade urself frm trouble....i pray the protest yields u pple a positive response....cheers

13. Nigerians can be funny @times, when you opted to work in a private organization you don't care 2 check 4 sometin and you feel protesting is d best. You guys are so getting sacked. Left 2 me you living my company cos govt ain't sponsoring me and it's my company.

14. So much protest and strike everywhere.
    To get job....wahala
    To keep job..... Wahala

15. ...but Radisson Blu is expensive tho.
    over $400 for a night, only in Nigeria sha.

16. Hian
    Ok o
    Una well done !

17. Hope they resolve this soon. Sad story

18. Dear poster abeg incase them pursue any staff,am higly available...70k that's good na abi nawa ooo....just ask for my email under my comment God bless you..looolz

19. Wow! they earn that much and get medicals, staff bus and feeding? That's it bad at all, considering the situation in Nigeria. Don't they have a union? They should be able to have indoor meetings and come to a consensus. It is well....hopefully, they'll get that which they deserve.

20. Oops. ..For some reason, I skipped the union part while reading..lol. Every company should have a union, as it makes things easier for the employees, and their voices would be heard....

21. Nonsense! They should sack all of them. They're complaining of small salary and gratuity did they not know before taking the job? Business is not easy in Nigeria. Forget all that money they charge per night, how many people fit afford half night? Me I can only stay in radisson blu hotel when I travel abroad cos it's cheaper there. Business climate in this country is very harsh, for all you know Radisson blu might not be making so much money. By the time they run their gen, pay duty on some things they are importing, then pay stupid tax to the govt what do u think will happen? They should all clear away from that entrance, if they don't want to work, there are ppl willing to take their positions.

1. How are you so sensible?you are absolutely right! Most of these companies in Nigeria dont make enough for themselves as owners of the companies but they have to pay staff even when they have nothing remaining in their own account...ppl are shouting raddisson is expensive how are you sure they actually gain likr that? These ppl are greedy for how much they earn amd also habe free transportation? Common now!

22. I hope they form a union and stop this everyday protest

23. Na wah ohh....
    Nigerians sha....ungrateful fools...
    If am the MD,they will all lose their jobs....
    This is greed...

24. Dem want to lose their jobs be dat. since we dont have good labour leaders to monitor activities of these companies, hotels, etc, people will continue to protest. Even self, with what you have mentioned, radisson blue staff are foolish people. SDK bloggers ngwa nu make una send una cv to Radission blu, they will be lookiing for replacement

25. The package isn't bad na. Hian..
    They shud come to my frnds offices & see wr lawyers they earn 10k as salary upon that dem go work like jackie.. Abeg they shud goan nyash down.. whose fault anyways? messed up country we live in. mstcheeew

1. I tell you. The package is not bad with the two meals per day. They should pray they don't lose their jobs after this oh. They should blame the country. Making the hotel lose business today will be very bad. I hope they know what they are in for. People should look out for job adverts after today.

26. The package isn't bad na. Hian..
    They shud come to my frnds offices & see wr lawyers they earn 10k as salary upon that dem go work like jackie.. Abeg they shud goan nyash down.. whose fault anyways? messed up country we live in. mstcheeew

27. Wahala dey everywhere, when would all this come to an end?

28. "where make I drop this mic".......LOL that really cracked me up.

29. Most Nigerian companies are slave riders. ......high time we all stand up for our rights?

30. They should encourage them abeg,this industry generate good income but treat their workers lyk trash...sometime sef It make me want to regret studying the course(archaeology n tourism)

31. I can only imagine the amount of traffic this singular act would cause.

32. Likely seriously, dey shld even thank God .omo dem dey enjoy,me I v a 2.1 and can't seem to get a job and still searching ,make dem employ me

33. if what this blog visitor is saying is true then they try.whee i work as a masters degree holder i earn just a little over what waiters at radisson blu earn and i no get staff bus and my kids are not entitled to free medical services.i buy my lunch myself and the days i do not have money or when i think of the pot of soup or baby food that not eating lunch for a week will get me i forgo lunch and drink plenty water to hold belle till i reach house.they shouldn't go on strike because others are oh.make them think am well

34. The owners and d NLC members never come to terms oo, negotiates are on but come see all the mgt staff clearing tables and doing dishes.......abeg who go cook for kitchen for dem? Make I rush go do small amebo come back jare

35. Am sure some of them will be fired,with your Amebo gist it's obvious the hotel is trying abi,okay I think they prefer to stay without job,copycats

36. BLOG ANALYSER: Wow! This people are trying oooo!! All this package just for a private hotel? This people never taste unemployment ooo. If this packages they give is true and can categorically tell u that this is one of the staff orientated private business

37. If the work taya you, resign. Is it by force? People are looking for jobs you people are there carrying placards and fooling yourselves. Go and look for job where you will get all that you desire if you have the requisite qualifications. Yeye people. Mtschew

38. Am sure they must thought it thru before the protest, just hope it doesn't backfire sha. Here I am looking for a job, you people should have mercy on my poor soul and pity me na. It's well sha

39. Hotel business is moving well in 9ja how come they don't pay their staff well.......

40. .....75k for cleaners?medical,staff bus and meals?haba!then the staff are just being greedy,they should all be sacked.

41. It all points to the fact that tourism in Nigeria lacks standardisation and the regulatory bodies have failed in their duties.

42. yes, thats most private companies for u.
    i am planning to do like this in my office. na only 6 weeks for maternity leave. he is yet to have a child, but cant be merciful to mothers.

43. for us all to achieve the right benefits for all poor masses of this country; we have to stand with one voice.we should not subject ourselves to OK or just good.we should jointly demand for our right entitlements and wages.someone can not be making 600million a month as profit alone and pay someone 70 thousand pay month. not good enough.give them their right wages and entitlements you exploiters and greedy people. say no to capitalism.
    pay your workers their right benefits and wages!!!
    don't pocket all the profits alone and give them peanuts.its their sweat!!!!

44. I hope they don't get fired for this

45. I'm shocked at bvs level of intelligence! Has anyone bothered to verify if the poster's statement is true?? They're all busy cursing the protesting staff! What if poster was sent by management to quickly do damage control?? Haba Nigerians reason critically! Shame on all those cursing them out without verifying

46. Another loop hole poster... You said you were passing by which means all you could see was the protesting crowd. Who then gave you all this positive information about the protesters and their benefits? Where they exchanging words with management and you overhead? That's impossible.

47. True they make mony, but we are forgeting dat overhead exps(light, diesel especially,transport,repairs&maintenanceconsumables) take d bulk of d income. But if truely they benefit 2 meals plus staff bus, haba take shd take it easy oooo. We plenty outside d fence wey we dey luk for job ooooo. Some people earn 70k wtout those benefits. Na d country wey we find ourselves. Common electrity will go a long wey, becos diesel consumation is enough to take all d profit earned. I jst op nobody is sacked as a result of their actions becos dats wat we call DOUBLE WAHALA

48. Amoebo gist dem gi fire yo ungrateful ass off. We are waiting for yo chronicle ok!

49. Yet hotel de island still dey owe me 7months. I peacefully resigned. Cnt deal with shit

50. But Radisson is making a lot of money.

51. Wow...... pity both d management and the protesting workers. This is what happens when there's no standardisation and regulated framework in the industry. Over to you, clueless NLC....

52. hehe. .75k no bad na...even some telecommunications companies no do reach that sef

53. This just one of d results of bad leadership.

54. FINALLY UNION IS HERE TO STAY OO, THEY HAVE ALLOWED STAFF MEMBERS INTO THE HOTEL TO START WORKING, WE HOPE TO HEAR THE RESULT OF THEIR MEETINGS WITH THE OWNERS SOON......I JUST HOPE THIS UNION PPLE WONT EXPLOIT STAFF MEMBERS SHA AND STILL OUR CONDITIONS REMAIN THE SAME.

55. Chikito a.k.a FinalSay21 January 2015 at 14:03

This same Raddison that is my company's official guest hotel? Imagine!!! If you go to the pool area to sit for drinks you might have to beg to be attended to, if you aren't sitting close to the bar area.
    My friend who has a membership card he uses to get 10% discount in all Radisson hotels worldwide, when they brought his bill the guy who served was saying that they don't charge it to rooms only for open-air dining. The guy asked him if he has confirmed, he claimed he had. And the guy called reception only for them to tell him its not true, as he had been doing same all through his stay. He gave the waiter the card and asked him to go get his discount through reception. The guy grumbled like an angry child -meaning he knew but didn't want to go. My sis and I were just looking in disgusting shock. You can be sure he will be at the fore front of the protest.
    Stella, Human Resources affairs in Nigeria, are very difficult to manage. The typical Nigerian feels too proud to do certain jobs and feels more entitled than he really is. The Government has money, do you? Yet you will see that SAME person doing the SAME job in 'obodo oyibo' and being VEEERRYY careful about losing his job.
    Most of these people, if you ask for their CV now or work profile- EMPTY! Infact, the job is the best thing that has ever come their way. Yet they won't plan and focus with what they have, for a brighter future. If you are so qualified and deserve more, why not dust your CV and go out there and look for job or be your own boss.... Then you will know that life in Naija is not a walk in the park.
    The Government has its own issues, but the typical Nigerian has poor work ethics as a result of the average Nigerian environment.

1. I....love...you....it took me 3-4years to finally settle my HR issues with my small start up. I have stories for days on the Nigerian worker attitudes! Had to slash my workforce in half to eliminate redundant entitled deadweight! Honey! You ain't never lied!!!

56. This people are selfish, worked in an apartment after law school on the island. We were paid peanuts. No benefits, you could get sacked any day.
    While we are praying to get a job in this hotel, they are here protesting. Greed!

57. Some people call the staff ordinary cleaners and waiters. Be informed that 70% of the hotel staff are graduates. Look at the clientele of this beautiful top hotels in Lagos, do you think illiterates will be employed, If everyone waits for white collar jobs, you will end up sitting at home for years, let’s be realistic, these people protesting see the profits being made daily after overheads and other expense have been taken care of and they know they deserve better, the human capital is the major driving force in this establishment, they push the service delivery. So let’s stop calling them names, but let the company concerned do the needful. Most of the expart riate staff each earns what is enough to pay 100 staff for 6months and above, ehnn is that fair. Staff are saying if I serve you for 5, 6, 7..... years with my young age and I want to leave please pay me something to start something of my own, most of this branded organization have different code guiding them such that expart have beautiful benefits while the locals have nothing after years of service. The government should rise up and defend its people, the people protesting, am sure would have sought other means to negotiate but must have fallen on deaf ears and so they decide for a peaceful protest. Let’s not lose focus: they protest because they know they deserve better. If you send your children to school, you definitely would pray they turn out better than you as a parent. Let them fight for their right. God bless Nigeria. Its starts with us SPEAKING.

58. Some people call the staff ordinary cleaners and waiters. Be informed that 70% of the hotel staff are graduates. Look at the clientele of this beautiful top hotels in Lagos, do you think illiterates will be employed, If everyone waits for white collar jobs, you will end up sitting at home for years, let’s be realistic, these people protesting see the profits being made daily after overheads and other expense have been taken care of and they know they deserve better, the human capital is the major driving force in this establishment, they push the service delivery. So let’s stop calling them names, but let the company concerned do the needful. Most of the expart riate staff each earns what is enough to pay 100 staff for 6months and above, ehnn is that fair. Staff are saying if I serve you for 5, 6, 7..... years with my young age and I want to leave please pay me something to start something of my own, most of this branded organization have different code guiding them such that expart have beautiful benefits while the locals have nothing after years of service. The government should rise up and defend its people, the people protesting, am sure would have sought other means to negotiate but must have fallen on deaf ears and so they decide for a peaceful protest. Let’s not lose focus: they protest because they know they deserve better. If you send your children to school, you definitely would pray they turn out better than you as a parent. Let them fight for their right. God bless Nigeria. Its starts with us SPEAKING

59. So they shouldn't clamour for better pay and conditions of employment?

What is 75k in this economy? Y'all have slave mentality. Some of these people are fathers with 3 children

Let them protest.

60. So they shouldn't clamour for better pay and conditions of employment?

What is 75k in this economy? Y'all have slave mentality. Some of these people are fathers with 3 children

Let them protest.

61. Majority of pple condeming them will also do same tin wen d get d job the are lookin for

62. what do we really want in this country. I am sorry to say this; but I think that most Nigerians are confused and do not know what they want. even when they see it.we all cry for a better nation that we can leave behind for our kids and generations to come.I don't understand. why is it that when someone tries to speak out in this country over one bad state on another; people attack the person and call the person all sorts of name.like over sabi.na only you dey there. basket mouth; must you talk and a whole lot of names.what do we really want.I think that we are problems to ourselves and not even the government. we are each others enemy and fight ourselves unnecessarily. this the politicians and elites have seen and capitalised on it to steal more from us.because they have seen that we can never stand as one to do anything. pls if you can not speak out; do not criticise those who do it.just good is not good enough. we want the best in this country now.that there are graduates out there unemployed; doesn't mean they have to settle for less.you greedy people; pay them the right wage.

63. there are some facts you don't know about hotels and there operations. but basically, with facts at hand no junior staff earns 40k in radblu. the staff are only demanding for what is rightfully there's, every Guests that comes to the hotel, pays 10% service charge for every order made and other requests. this simply means that 10% of the income generated in the hotel at the end of month belongs to the members of staff...management haven't been just is sharing this service charge. staff have salami sliced. this is our cries.......so go get material fact before crucifying, be wise, one love.

64. Fight for your right, don't settle for less, Hotels are making huge profit in Nigeria and yet refuses to pay their staff their benefit, what is 75k in Nigeria today, we need change in our sections of the nation. Any firm with more than 100 workforce should be unoinlized in order to do things right. Let do things right, if you ever have a job, you wouldn't want to be cheated, imagine you waking up early every day and yet are cheated, be wise. b

65. What is 75k in Nigeria today, don't settle for less. Hotels in Nigeria are making huge profit and yet refuses to pay their staff. If you ever have a job will want things to done right, how can you leave you house early every day and get home late and you are being paid peanut but the so called expatriate in the firm that don't do or know the job at all collect jumbo pay in your country, they treat Nigerians like animals and yet you say their shouldn't fight for their right. Every sector in this should stand up for the right, any firm with large work force should be unionlized in order to put thing right, how long are we going to keep die in silence.

66. What is 75k in Nigeria today, don't settle for less. Hotels in Nigeria are making huge profit and yet refuses to pay their staff. If you ever have a job will want things to done right, how can you leave you house early every day and get home late and you are being paid peanut but the so called expatriate in the firm that don't do or know the job at all collect jumbo pay in your country, they treat Nigerians like animals and yet you say their shouldn't fight for their right. Every sector in this should stand up for the right, any firm with large work force should be unionlized in order to put thing right, how long are we going to keep die in silence.

67. Who told that blogger they pay waiters and waitress that amount, you should apply and see what they will pay you. Can stand for eight hours? False bloggers