Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Southern Sun Ikoyi Press Release Over Yesterday's Protest.

Thursday, January 15, 2015

Southern Sun Ikoyi Press Release Over Yesterday's Protest.

Well,there are two sides to every story....

Yesterday I published a report HERE that staff of the hotel were protesting the condition of services and there were a few comments here and there.
Today the hotel management is telling their own side and apoligising to their guests who witnessed the event.

Dear Stella, 

We are Publicis Consultants|Soulcomm perception managers for the Southern Sun Ikoyi hotel and with regards to recent news postings on your platform, we intend to put across our position, shedding light on all issues now resolved. 
We implore your understanding in affording us an equal voice in responding to matters raised. 

Our stance is as follows;

The management of Southern Sun Ikoyi hotel has noted with keen interest media reports of its staff protest over poor welfare packages. In light of complete resolution to all issues and staff happily back at work, the hotel wishes to refute the false allegations orchestrated by a disgruntled former staff member in conjunction with a handful of current staff members.

Southern Sun Ikoyi Hotel prides its staff as its greatest asset and reiterates the fact that as a leading global brand in hospitality and leisure, it cannot but adhere to best practices in line with local and international labour laws as it concerns staff welfare and benefits.

The management stresses that there is absolutely no truth in the claims of unfair dismissals, poor welfare packages and/or benefits. Measures are currently being taken to reassure our staff of their welfare and benefit as they are due and verifiable

We regret any inconveniences the disturbances may have caused to our esteemed guest and staff. In line with our tradition of excellence, we shall continue to deliver premium services to our guest; offering first class services for business and leisure.

Thank you for your kind understanding Stella, and should you require any further clarification from us, we will be glad to oblige you. 

Thank you again.

Yours Sincerely,
Media Contact
Yemisi Oyekanmi
Publicis Consultants|Soulcomm
yemisi.oyekanmi@soulcommpublicis.com

JUST COMING IN.....
Hello Stella,
Good morning my warri sister, just saw your post now. Don't know if they have settled the issue but I know what I saw.
Was a guest in that hotel from Monday to Wednesday, saw the whole drama with my two eyes that morning and even asked the lady at the front desk questions. Check out this particular photo I will attach. you can zoom in to see what's written on the cardboard paper.

81 comments:

1. Ok. We hear you. Apology accepted. Go and sin no more.

1. Nope, there are 3 sides to every story. My side, their side, The 3rd is the truth.

2. Pls pay them their wages if it is true.
      BV,help a sister out of depression. I need a JOB pls. I am a Second Class Upper Division Graduate(4.26). Thanks
      #rootzy#

2. I Never expected u guys not to refute stella's earlier post.
    It is your firm and thus a clear image is meant to be exhibited.
    Even the exorbitant money u guys charge per day is alarming. So MGT. Look into your fees first and then settle ur staffs.

Cheei. I want to eat Shawarma.
    Lolz.

#I SEE DEAD PEOPLE...

1. @ G pharm it's STAFF not staff's. Staff has no plural. U're welcome. Lol

2. I just made sharwarma. I wish I can send u pix.

3. Hmm this is tough..
    Who do we believe now? But Stella I hope you know that there's no way the hotel management would ever agree to mistreating their staffs right?? Let them settle their staffs biko...

1. It is STAFF oh, not staffs. Singular, plural all na staff.

4. Better.
    They should look into the issues complained about.

5. Of course a statement had to be issued! I can't imagine the hotel folding their hands and watch , their reputation going down the drain.

6. Replies
    1. Hush, anam ekene o..

Chukwu gana agozi gi plenti plenti
      With your assistance I've been able to attend interviews, by God's grace one must click! Thanks dear.

Tessy.

7. This Yemisi is a BV.
    Can u see d familiar way she was writing your name. In an official letter,it should be: Ms Dimoko-Korkus.

8. Hmmmmm. Dia z no smoke wvawt fire o, I chose to bliv d staffs ova d management

9. Attention Dera. Read from the IHN of yesterday o, where u claimed that your blog name is sisi eko! Abi I didn't read you well?!??? Stella please help me understand this confusion o. **lost**

1. Pls be found. Lol.
      Seems someone is sharing your I.d

2. Lol
      Oh u just realised u guys are two here?
      Hahahhahahahahahahha

The other Sis. Eko's shoes cracked me up...LMAO

And dont worry,we can tell u guys apart.from ur writing....hahhahaahha

3. You are right,I was confused also cos the sisi eko I knew on this blog is married but I was not the only one that knew anyways,any old bv here will know the sisi eko is an impersonator or obviously new here and didn't know someone is already using the name.if she refuse to stop using the name you can as well add a word after your name or whatever you deem fit but do not change the name

4. Abeg don mind d Dera" she no see another name, Mtecheew......

10. Hmmmm so is it now posible that employers r lying against employees,or employees r just looking for what is nt obtainable

11. Hmmmm so is it now posible that employers r lying against employees,or employees r just looking for what is nt obtainable

12. Pls u guys should take of ur staffs

13. #Odiegwu. Politics everywhere, of cos u guys will come out to paint a wonderful picture of conflict resolution but the underlining mehegualism, suffering & smiling is still on the prowl. We know u

14. Adonbilivit....
    How can staff protest if their employee were treating them right?...
    Whatever mehn...

Please where can I eat a correct Amala in this town called Ekiti?..with a good neat enviroment Biko help!!...

1. Near the govt house gate. Mama Kemi

2. Lol Bloglord my sweet,na business carry me come here ohhh...I don't understand this place atall...

Irene Irene!!!...
      Are you sure?will check the place out....
      Thanks darling....

3. Irene,I fear u o...u even know amala joints in ekiti?

4. Ehm swerrie, you know that pounded yam is their trade mark right?Not all joints have amala cos people don't ask.

15. I wasn't expecting any different from their publicist.. he is only doing what he was paid to do.

16. Ok ohhh.....I don hear....but dey say in two or three witnesses d truth is established....so all dose people dat did d protest were dey lying....well dat one concern ona

17. and they didn't talk about pregnant women not having maternity leave...slave drivers! all of them!

18. mhzzbee international15 January 2015 at 09:25

understood now.

19. Some people don't realise that 70% of able bodied nigerians are unemployed..i guess when they stay home small their eye go open..a lot of nigerians don't like to earn their pay they feel they cn behave anyhow at workplace

1. Ehen ehen u don't mean it .so they shouldn't fight for their right abi, they should work like slaves all because they need a job. Na una type be terrible oga.ur type will just wake up one day and realize your employees don leave office, tell me when u want to start recuirting again or won't the business run down without adequate man power. In all stop treating your staff like you are doing them a favor, without them the company can't function .

20. THELMA ENEMUWE said...
    Idonbiliv this people jooor,they're just trying to clear their dent reputation,where were they before their workers decided to go GAGA on them..
    Gudmorny STERRA BAE and all SDKERS
    *faithful BV enemuwe thelma*

1. Thelma must u post dsame comment three times al d tym? Nawa o

21. THELMA ENEMUWE said...
    Idonbiliv this people jooor,they're just trying to clear their dent reputation,where were they before their workers decided to go GAGA on them..

22. THELMA ENEMUWE said...

23. THELMA ENEMUWE said...

24. THELMA ENEMUWE said...

1. Thelma please naawwww.
      Help us!!!
      Tap once and release!

2. @faithful Thelma, we haff hear!!! na waooooo

3. 2dae it's 5x! Hehehehehe

4. Thelma,i've never seen your comment appear once. it's always from two to infinity.
      Bravo

25. This is wot i call medicine after death! Most companies don't care about the welfare of their workers, all they r in for is just their productiveness.
    They forget that pple bring out their best wen they r been treated well.

26. Ok heard. What i am interested in is if they really do not grant female staff maternity leave.

27. I personally have just one question: Are female workers entitled to maternity leave? the press release didnt address that or are they hiding something?

28. Comments will tell if you are telling the truth....
    Wonder why most organisations can't take care of their staffs welfare
    And will be part of those who criticize GEJ for bad leadership.....you nko?
    The most annoying part is those expertriates who live large at our expense....mtcheew, wish I was a guy, una go dey chop beating wella.

#BeTheChangeYouSeek

29. Donjazzy's onome15 January 2015 at 09:40

That buhari should go and rest dude looks unhealthy

30. Damage control...what this basically says is that you have sacked the supposedly 'disgruntled' old staff and a handful of (INNOCENT)new staffs who knew their rights and asked for it abi? Kontinu!
    Another clear point of yours is that you have subdued and threatened the rest of your staffs into working like Zombies lest they loose their jobs too....Kontinu.

The final point you've made is that every staff at Southern Sun Hotel is currently faking a friendly working environment and choking on their own opinions of a better deserved treatment cos you have forced them to swallow it and be silent? Kontinue. GOD IS WATCHING YOU AND WILL GIVE THEM A VOICE SOMEDAY.

One thing I can tell you for free is this: I hate Modern slavery and will not use your hotel anymore, none of our clients will anymore, Southern Sun henceforth goes off the list of our official Hotels and hey! We are one of your major clients.

This is 2015 not 1805, stop modern slavery, treat your staffs better and they will serve you with their best.

31. Poor damage control letter!

"The management stresses that there is absolutely no truth in the claims of unfair dismissals, poor welfare packages and/or benefits."

In other words, the staff protesting are liars yea?

Southern sun please take care of your staff. Without them, your business crumbles. Do the needful and the right thing.
    Happy staff, happy customer, good business profit.

32. Oooooooooh no!

Some people got the boots before or after the protest Mrs PR Lady?

@ disgruntled former staff members and handful current staff members.

So who do we believe?

Employee side of story?

Or

Company side of story?

No paperwork, pay check stubs or signed benefits allocation for employees to buttress your claims, so therefore, I believe the disgruntled and handful.

Pay up and treat your employees right.

* hit gavel*

Court!

33. So the issue is over,the management should give the staff what they want

34. Damage control...what this basically says is that you have sacked the supposedly 'disgruntled' old staff and a handful of (INNOCENT)new staffs who knew their rights and asked for it abi? Kontinu!
    Another clear point of yours is that you have subdued and threatened the rest of your staffs into working like Zombies lest they loose their jobs too....Kontinu.

The final point you've made is that every staff at Southern Sun Hotel is currently faking a friendly working environment and choking on their own opinions of a better deserved treatment cos you have forced them to swallow it and be silent? Kontinue. GOD IS WATCHING YOU AND WILL GIVE THEM A VOICE SOMEDAY.

One thing I can tell you for free is this: I hate Modern slavery and will not use your hotel anymore, none of our clients will anymore, Southern Sun henceforth goes off the list of our official Hotels and hey! We are one of your major clients.

This is 2015 not 1805, stop modern slavery, treat your staffs better and they will serve you with their best.

35. Thelma, please post your comment once.

SUN SOUTHERN IKOYI, I want to believe you but i'm finding it hard to do.

36. Why are most of you writing STAFFS?? Basic English should have taught you all the correct thing.. And a lot of you claim to be graduates and undergraduates..

37. Stella, this your platform is good ooo. Na every company go dey fear you. I hope they will do the needful and put to rest the wahala. No body wants their company to be damaged or brought out in a bad light. It is good

38. Hmm d protecters cardboard speaks for it self. So this press release, I don't understand

39. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Make i bend if everybody don go back to work..... Niceone stella though....
    *GLO BRING 3G TO KONTAGORA*

40. Lies,of course they will protect their reputation

41. All these hotelers can owe for africa eh,I believe the workers jare

42. you people are lying. you will never talk ill of your business even if you are the ones at fault; but apology accepted and I hope you people have learnt your lessons.go and sin no more. but know that a Good business man knows that the most important thing after management; is your work force.when they are treated well; you get the best out put.the next is your customers. so treat your workforce well.

43. DEFINITELY WON'T BE STAYING AT THE SOUTHERN SUN AGAIN- SLAVE DRIVERS!

44. I still believe d staff members more dan d mgt, I work in an hospitality firm also and Southern Sun pays der staff poorly, welfare is zero, some of our staff left der to our hotel and d story is not good at all, dey should pls change!

45. Southern Sun ikoyi!!!! How could you in this orders times enslave your staff to the extent that they had to speak out like this. I will be the last person to exploit hard work. Henceforth we have struck you out of our list and are taking out business else where. Pls I also advise others to do the needful. Smh!! Press release indeed.