Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: US Think Tank Says President Jonathan Will Win The Elections.

Thursday, January 22, 2015

US Think Tank Says President Jonathan Will Win The Elections.

A WASHINGTON, US-based influential think-tank, the Brookings Institution/Africa Growth Initiative has rated President Goodluck Jonathan as the favourite to win the February 14 presidential polls

In a report entitled: “The 2015 presidential elections in Nigeria: The issues and challenges,” Brookings said the article published under the Africa Growth
Initiative said Jonathan’s Peoples Domocratic Party, PDP, was more likely to win the February election.
The paper, which dwells on several aspects of the Nigerian election said that “though the election is expected to be very competitive, the odds still favour President Jonathan.”

Jonathan
While highlighting the strengths and weaknesses of the two main political parties, the PDP and the All Progressives Congress, APC, the institution said the APC will be unable to unseat the PDP in the February elections.

The paper said: “After suffering a wave of defections to the APC last year, including five of its governors, the PDP seems to have rebounded strongly. In the battleground South-West, for instance, the party won recent governorship elections in Ekiti State and got the governor of Ondo State to defect from the Labour Party to the PDP.

“The party is especially strong in the South-South (where Jonathan comes from), the South-East and among Christians in the North. Again, while the PDP remains weak in the Muslim North, it has gained new influential members who decamped from the APC including the former governors of Kano and Borno States.

And, of course, the PDP has power of incumbency.
“APC gets much of its strength from tapping into Jonathan sentiments in the Muslim North and grievances among the Yoruba who feel that the Jonathan administration has ignored them in key political appointments.

culled from the african herald express.

107 comments:

1. He is entitled to his opinion after all its democracy.. I waka

1. OBJ speaks about Buhari`s certificate
      issue……………………
      The truth of the matter is that Jonathan is
      aware
      that Buhari
      is qualified to contest for President Election
      but
      some
      hawks with Jonathan, do not want him to
      contest
      because
      they believed that he will win and come for
      them.
      The issue
      came up in 2007, and we investigated and
      found
      out that his
      WASEC is with the military and that was why
      he
      was
      allowed to contest in 2007. Buhari cannot
      listen to
      anyone
      about his certificates because as a General of
      Nigeria Army,
      he will speak when he chooses not by Femi
      Fani
      Kayode
      and Okupe asking him. Fayose and other
      corrupt
      people
      including Kashamu do not want Buhari
      because of
      his anti-
      corruption slogan. Even Jonathan did not
      finish his
      PhD
      course but when it was presented we stated
      that, it
      does not
      matter but many people do not know because
      it
      was PDP
      thing. I see Buhari as the next President and
      Jonathan is
      aware of that, and that is the reason they are
      hitting him
      everywhere to put confusion in his camp. But
      a
      General is
      always a General….

2. OMG.. Honey it is not a HE.. It is an organization. Think Tank are a group of initiative corporation.
      I doubt if u even bothered to read.
      OkBye..

3. GEJ all the way. Up GEJ. Moi, Irene b, Eka joy, Efe Kevin and my rest supporters of GEJ get

prepared we will be going for the thanksgiving of GEJ Re electioN
      hian! How can I forget Beautiful and Gifted.

4. Abeg make Una leave all these US organization that is looking for how to make money from Nigerian politicians. Another US organization has predicted that Buhari will win the forthcoming elections. So who should we now take serious? Mtchew!

5. OBJ is a back stabber (no surprises here) and should be shamed out of PDP once these elections are over!

2. GMB is Hausa people's favourite. An average hausa man doesn't know how to write his name. Obviously, the dont own a PVC abi na TVC card. So Buhari just have love from the masses.
    Goodluck has a PHD with educated folks that can vote him. So im not surprised..

1. OBJ speaks about Buhari`s certificate
      issue……………………
      The truth of the matter is that Jonathan is
      aware
      that Buhari
      is qualified to contest for President Election
      but
      some
      hawks with Jonathan, do not want him to
      contest
      because
      they believed that he will win and come for
      them.
      The issue
      came up in 2007, and we investigated and
      found
      out that his
      WASEC is with the military and that was why
      he
      was
      allowed to contest in 2007. Buhari cannot
      listen to
      anyone
      about his certificates because as a General of
      Nigeria Army,
      he will speak when he chooses not by Femi
      Fani
      Kayode
      and Okupe asking him. Fayose and other
      corrupt
      people
      including Kashamu do not want Buhari
      because of
      his anti-
      corruption slogan. Even Jonathan did not
      finish his
      PhD
      course but when it was presented we stated
      that, it
      does not
      matter but many people do not know because
      it
      was PDP
      thing. I see Buhari as the next President and
      Jonathan is
      aware of that, and that is the reason they are
      hitting him
      everywhere to put confusion in his camp. But
      a
      General is
      always a General….

2. G-PHARM.. that is a huge misconception ooh... They all have voters cards... even their women... they don't joke with that card my dear...

From what I have seen,they are the highest number of people I know that possess both the old and new cards in Nigeria... once you ask of a form of identification.. you hear..."Gashi"(take)

Good day my dear

3. To think I thought you had something upstairs shows that you cannot judge a book by its cover.
      It is the uneducated whose fickle sentiments can be whipped up easily that vote and stand to defend their vote even kids as young as four vote up north ask anybody that served in the core north. They do not joke with politics.
      While the educated ones are wary they do not even vote. Ask around you, most of your educated friends do not have PVC cards. Trully the internet is a leveller

4. wow Iphie Dearie.. This is not funny any longer. Then the only chances of GEJ winning this election is only if the election gets rigged.
      But anony how did u know that 4 year olds vote? Im rather confused here.

Good Day Iphie Dearie sweets.. Enjoy the rest of ur Day..

5. Obj is a traitor, but I'm not surprised.

3. Before nko?...
    I didn't read the epistle but I know he must surely win...

1. Linda Sugar.. Since u never bothered to read. Why did u waste ur data to comment? So sorry if i sounded rude. Ahn wetin sef.

4. February 14 is almost.... No need for toomuch talk.

5. U.S think tank na God? Abegi...oga emegi voom! na anyia PDP.

1. This is why Igbos will always be politically backwards in Nigeria. For an igbo man not to realise that APC is all about yoruba/hausa grabbing power back is pitiable. All the yoruba people Ive spoken to in confidence know it is an ethnic battle for domination and not a so called "change", hence they are almost all supporting APC. Any yoruba man supporting GEJ is doing it for personal or selfish reasons. That is why you see people like OBJ, a PDP stalwart, openly supporting Buhari. For yoruba and hausa people, tribe comes before any useless political party. With APC in power, igbos will be totally overlooked in key appointments. Mark my word and mark this day.

I'm sorry to sound like that but that is the reality. You cannot go to repair a car with carpenter tools.

6. Goodluck to whoever emerges the winner!

1. that word 'GOODLUCK' gives me one kain strong hard on.
      Quick silver baby. Please keep repping that name..

7. We already know Jona will win, know two ways about it but I would have really loves change a neutral party and a neutral person

SDK its me n u today oh, got discharged yesterday so am home resting, its this blog that is keeping me company, abeg no waste time they upload gist

8. USELESS TINK TANK NONSENSE! THEY SHOULD JUST SHUT UP AND STOP SAYING RUBBISH THAT CAN AFFECT THE ELECTIONS.....KEEP YOUR TINK TANK OPINION TO URSELF PLS!!!

1. Their tank dey leak.

2. They say the truth is Bitter. GEJ all the way

9. Of course na. Before nko who for win? GEJ all d way. Sai GEJ (what ever it means) *rolls eyes*

10. Ok PDP has gone international since the last ploy was foiled.Which south south?lol...
    Everywhere i hear change, even among the ijaws....truth is,alot of people will be disappointed if GEJ wins

Tailor

11. GEJ wud win this again. Thank God already.

1. Yes o, thank God already....... GEJ till 2019!!!

12. Shey he will be coming to vote?

13. Till Feb 14th let me pretend to tie my legs like a mermaid.

14. GEJ has already won...again.February elections are mere formalities .TeamGEJ#Wike#PDP.
    No shaking!

1. No Juicy.. we are not looking for that kind of win ooh.. I want him to win on merit...people need to vote!

15. BLOG ANALYSER: Rubbish Analysis!!

16. Oh this is really a nice writeup.. I like so much

Visit my blog

www.glowyshoe.blogspot.com

17. Replies
    1. If u like make e pain u. Gej 2019. Tell your PA buhari to go sleep. Fayose wrote another one today

18. See sponsored article.
    I keep saying those behind the downfall of this country would die painful deaths. Except God aint on.the throne anymore.
    SaiBuhari by God's grace.

19. Who b this! Abeg we are not voting based on religion, let's them not impound this election issues on religion terms
    .....its well!

20. Which kain bad news be this?

1. Its good News. Buhari and his Cohort shame. All the Ibo people and christians don't be fooled with this their Nonsense Change. They brought Bokoharam to dilsorganisie the Adminstratioon of GEJ. Because of Oil block 2016

2. Don't mind them. Those oil block must Change owners come 2016!!! GEJ till 2019!!!

21. Well of course GEJ will win. We don't need any oracle to tell us

22. shey na think tank wan vote for us?????

23. Hmmmmmmmm
    Oriegwu
    I don't like the 2 men tho

24. Of course he will win.

No doubts about that.

P.S. Strictly my opinion o. Don't come under my comment and disgrace your career.

1. They can attack you all they want.. it won't change your opinion.. neither will it change what will happen on Feb 14..

Peeps be getting all emotional on political posts!!!

Hi dear Olivia.. how Is your day going?

2. Lolz...

Violent voltrons of Violent Buhari.

Babes, don't fear them. They'll get tired with time.

3. My Beautiful and Gifted I hail you

4. @ugly n giftless & chinyelu,hunger don waya una finish

25. Plus power of incumbency, yeah. But that their 'think tank' should go back and rethink again. This man failed me, lol. Like sey I know am personally. I had my hopes up when I voted for him, but I am truly disappointed. He should please give it a rest. If he can be truthful to himself, he will know he has failed as a leader. Its the selfish and greedy people he surrounded himself with that are pushing him forward again.

26. It should come and go so we'll continue with our lives.

27. @ if the current goverment-PDPigs had looked for the chibok girls ,the way they are looking into Buhari's Flaws .I am sure they would have found them by now.

28. All ye APC supporters, u guys that are clamoring for change let me give u my opinion. Pdp and Apc are the same people.
    1. Rotimi Amaechi – 8 years speaker; 7 year, Governor under PDP.
    2. Atiku Abubakar –8 years Vice president under PDP.
    3. George Akume – 8 years Governor under PDP.
    4. Bukola Saraki – 8 years Governor; 2 years, Senator under PDP.
    5. Timipre Sylver – 4 years Governor under PDP.
    6. Audu Ogbe – 2 years Chairmanship of the PDP.
    7. Aminu Masari – 4years as the Speaker, House of Representatives under PDP.
    8. Chris Ngige – 3 years Governor under PDP.
    9. Rabiu Kwankwaso – 7 years Governor; 3 years Defense minister under PDP.
    10. El Rufai – 4 years FCT Minister; 2 years BPE chairman under PDP. 11. And to cap it all, Obasanjo is the navigator of the APC, a man who spent 8 of the disastrous 16 years as the maximum ruler of Nigeria. It is now clearer that APC is a waste basket of the PDP, where the people
    who created and perpetuated the 16 disastrous years are now dumped. So where is the change coming from? Are they now saints because they joined APC? Pls be WISE & VOTE not for those seeking power by FORCE

Cause me out but that's my piece.

1. This small boy causing somone older than u will see at the end of the day. APC is giving people money 2 support them. My neigbour was given hamper and like 150k. While PDP gave my parents a cow, hamper and money. Na the same people. Now in Mile 1 market in ph APC giving people 50k to vote. Voting has started already. They just bring their voters card. On that day so many people will not come out to vote cus they have already voted. PDP is empowering Mile 1 market people. This is life. If u want 2 enquire come to PH. U can also be a party to the collection of both APC and PDP money. U guys should keep deceiving urself. And besides I am a lady not a man. I am not also ur mate. Run over to classes. What r u doing on this blog? If at all ur in univeristy for that matter.

29. The Yoruba people have always been snitches and sellout's. Jonathan's govt is far from perfect but he has undoubtedly made some good progress. The North of course support only their own based on religion and their feeling of entitlement and born to rule mentality. I will vote Jonathan come February 14th.

1. There are millions of Yorubas who do not care about the tribe or religion of the president of Nigeria nor any appointment. There has never been any election in the history of Nigeria with so much religious and tribal bias as this election..We are faced with high level of corruption, insecurity and poverty in this country. It is so sad and I don't understand how this country will move forward anymore than God to intervene

30. Whoever wins all well and good.

31. Dancing skelewu....best news so far

My @Good luck Jonathan is Nigerians valentine

Say President

Say Aso rock

SaySay @Good luck

"Heaven on earth!!!Wonders without end,that's my new realm"

32. Stella take my advice,leave political news alone!!!

33. By the grace of God President GEJ will triumph come FAILBUHARI 14th.The physical attack on President convoy confirms how unrepentant the blood sucking, highly misled followers of Failbuhari have reached.They succeeded over Great General Odumegwu Ojukwu because he was not the president.Now the game has changed because South has the sit of power.if they are so forgetful they go watch the movie "once upon a time in April" and there will never attempt to kill a sitting president.Boozu people!

34. Wetin concern dis one with our own, I didn't even bother 2 read sef na headline piss me off when he don pay dem nonsense rubbish. #COPIED QUOTE OF THE YEAR: If GEJ Govt looked for missing Chibok Girls d way PDP is looking for Buhari's Certificate, they would have found them in a week! I just want change that's all

35. Feb'14 is not too far from now

36. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    All those things na wash bcos Buhari for president......
    *GLO BRING 3G TO KONTAGORA*

37. Stella sucre. What's up with the 30 something and 50 something comments. Where have all the commenters gone to? If it is giveaway now, they will rush here. These blog ids ain't loyal. It is not an insult oh, just an observation

1. Why will they not go? Have u seen the stories been posted lately? So tay stella go bring story from kyle talk show. Who has time for all that? I de laff o.

2. Nigerians like awoof! It's few that is loyal.it was lib that started this rubbish in blogs. Any blogger that does not give RC or money won't get comments. If you doubt, let giveaways stop in blogs and see if there will be many comments. Politicians knows they can buy their votes from many Nigerians, that is why GEJ will win! I mschewww

38. The result is with inec,till feb 14 Lmaoooo

39. By the grace of God President GEJ will triumph come FAILBUHARI 14th.The physical attack on President convoy confirms how unrepentant the blood sucking, highly misled followers of Failbuhari have reached.They succeeded over Great General Odumegwu Ojukwu because he was not the president.Now the game has changed because South has the sit of power.if they are so forgetful they go watch the movie "once upon a time in April" and there will never attempt to kill a sitting president.Boozu people!

40. Everyone wants to sell their wares on Nigerian story.

hog wash!!!your think tank isn't well informed.though the Gavel could fall either way as everything in Nigeria does but their reasons are quite lame.votes will be,divided in the south and in the east because unfortunately,we are a buyable tribe but northerners will vote theirs.except there is no voting in the north.
    but once again,depends on the riggers.

41. Tink Tank should STFU is it not Gej body and Co horts outside Nigeria that is called Tink tank!! They can't fool me...hand work of Gej loyalist outside Nigeria. Fuck them all bunch of Retards gaining from him. Hell is theirs

42. Hehehe!! See Confident!! GEJ 2019....

43. D feedback from comments on here is already
    APC 10: 1 (PDP)......hahhahaaaa

febuhari 2015 AC

1. Dey dere make pant dry wear u

The final result

PDP has 29 states

APC has 7 states

@Good luck declared winner

APC start to dey shit for body
      @Failbuhari start to dey get high bp

2. @Galore ur head dey there jare.

44. ONE OF THE P.R COMPANIES GEJ GAVE 1.2M DOLLARS FOR IMAGE MAKING

1. Thank you....u got it right!! I know it's Gej people that are the main body of Tink tank. BASTARDS making false analysis

2. On point! GMB! GMB! GMB!

45. Like seriously, do they really think they can unseat Gej? Day dreamers.

46. Jonathan all d way

~@iamjbankz SA to President Jonathan 2015~

47. may the best man win.may the will of GOD come to pass in nigeria....open heavens!wonders without end!this is my new realm!

48. Image making things.lol

49. President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan will definitely win this 2015 presidential election. His achievements are much

50. Of course GEJ will win.

51. President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan is a man of great honour and outstanding integrity. He is a true statesman, whose selfless services and exemplary leadership qualities bear eloquent testimonies to his professional and political successes.

52. Stella, na wa for you o! You did not research this story before posting it on your blog. Brooking Institute did not lend their name on an assertion that GEJ will win the election. What they simply said was that one Jideofor Adibe (a senior lecturer in little known Nasarawa State University, Nigeria) wrote a paper that made some claims about GEJ's power of incumbency advantage in the coming presidential election. They simply pasted a twitter link for anyone interested in discussing it.

Pls see for youself http://www.brookings.edu/blogs/africa-in-focus/posts/2014/12/30-nigeria-presidential-election

53. he is saying the obvious.Is our GEJ all the way.good man sent from God

54. Gbam! GEJTILL2019

55. Some people have turned this election to a tribal and religious campaign when they should face the issues affecting Nigeria such as the high level of corruption, insecurity and poverty. Which way Nigeria? What is the future of this country when people continental to use tribal sentiment..I am faced with a president that has refused to act when needed and because I decided to vote him out..They say it's because I am You back...naw a o

56. Everybody knows GEJ is already a winner

57. These Americans always feel they are slick! They are trying to put things in people's minds because everyone also 'listens' to Team America World Police! They don't want a Buhari. They like a Jonathan (with his Okonjo-Iweala), they can control and put policies in place that can benefit them. When Buhari was in power, he resisted a lot of their proposed 'help' and 'aid' and their request to devalue the naira. So they do not like him!! And are thus afraid that he has gained momentum! Say what you want America! GEJ is out!!!!!!!!!!!

58. Despite the educational qualification saga, Nigerians don't want a president that cannot listen to the people, we don't want a leader who believes in dictatorship. President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan is a man who listens to the people and a man who believes in the rule of law

59. Come feb.14 may the best man or woman win. Just let there be peace and prosperity in this wonderful nation.

60. This is surely paid for. I see GEJ loosing gallantly. Only a mentally challenged person will not see that Nigeria is a failed state. Anyone but Jonathan.

61. From Vanguard Newspaper 22nd January 2015
    Governor Sule Lamido of Jigawa State has expressed disgust over what he described as the level of threat some northerners were facing for not supporting the presidential ambition of the former Head of State, General Muhammadu. According to Lamido, any northerner who is not supporting Buhari was being threatened and seen as an infidel.
    Apart from northerners, Vanguard investigations also revealed that most residents, who wear caps depicting them as natives of some southern parts of the country were being molested by street urchins as “infidels.”
    Supporters of Buhari view those not supporting him as “infidels”, people don’t be deceived by the hype, OPEN YOUR EYES VERY WELL.

62. Think tank in America? Like seriously ? Please leave us here to do the needful .We who wear the shoes knows where it's hurts.