Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Today's National Newspaper Headlines/News - 24/4/2015

Friday, April 24, 2015

Today's National Newspaper Headlines/News - 24/4/2015

Good Morning....*peeps outta the window*

Beautiful day!

National Newspaper headlines just for ya...

PUNCH

*APC LEADERS FAIL TO AGREE ON ZONING

Leaders of the All Progressives Congress on Thursday failed   to reach a decision on the   zoning of   political offices.

They   met at the Rivers State Governors’ Lodge at Asokoro, Abuja all throughWednesday night and the early hours of Thursday.

The leaders however adjourned the meeting after considering the party’s performance in the last general elections as well as the way forward for this week’s re-run elections in Abia, Imo and Taraba states.

It was learnt that they felt more consultations were needed before a final decision could be taken on position sharing.

A highly placed member of the party, who spoke to The Punch about the meeting, explained that the APC leadership was only   being meticulous.

The member, who asked not to be named   because he was not authorised to speak on the issues discussed at the meeting , said, “We have to be careful in dealing with such sensitive issues because we must carry everybody along to eliminate the possibility of having aggrieved members who could be used by our opponents.

“If you remember, the President-elect, (Muhammadu Buhari) has promised to be the President of those who voted for and against him and even those who did not vote. And   in keeping with this promise, we want to come up with what is fair to all like we have done so far. We may meet again today(Thursday) ortomorrow(today).

CJ FAILS TO RAISE IMPEACHMENT PANEL AGAINST FAYOSE

The Chief Judge of Ekiti State, Justice Ayodeji Daramola, has yet to constitute a panel to investigate Governor Ayodele Fayose and his deputy, Dr. Kolapo Olusola, over allegations raised in the impeachment notice against them by the 19 All Progressives Congress’ lawmakers.

The embattled Speaker of the Ekiti State House of Assembly, Dr. Adewale Omirin, had directed the CJ to raise a seven-man panel to investigate allegations of impunity, violence, stalking and other constitutional breaches against the governor.

Omirin, the leader of the 19 APC lawmakers in an April 9 letter had urged Justice Daramola to raise the panel within seven days of receipt of the letter.

But the factional Speaker and leader of the Peoples Democratic Party caucus, Dele Olugbemi, in a counter-directive had asked the CJ to ignore the letter.

However, two weeks after, the CJ has yet to raise the panel as directed.

Our correspondent gathered that the Chief Judge had not acknowledged receipt of the letter two weeks after it was issued.

Confirming this to The PUNCH on Thursday, the Chief Registrar of the Ekiti State High Court, Mr. Obafemi Fasanmi, maintained that he was not aware of the letter directing the CJ to raise any panel.

“I’m not aware of any letter sent to the CJ requesting for composition of a panel. The CJ has also not acknowledged that he had received any letter,” he said.

BUHARI WILL TACKLE INSECURITY, UNEMPLOYMENT–TINUBU

The national leader of the All Progressives Congress, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu, has said that the incoming administration of President-elect, Muhammadu Buhari, will tackle the problem of insecurity, unemployment and other issues confronting the nation with the seriousness that they deserve.

Tinubu, who is also the Chancellor of the Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Ogbomoso, Oyo State, said this at the 12th convocation of the university on Thursday.

The APC leader, whose speech was read by Mr. Akin Kekereekun, said that Nigerians made the right choice by voting Buhari during the presidential election, saying the President-elect would work hard to justify the confidence reposed in him by Nigerians.

The APC leader also said that Nigerians would need a change of attitude towards nation building.

He stated that every Nigerian, especially the youths, must be ready to contribute their quota towards building a prosperous nation.

Tinubu said, “We should all be prepared for a change of attitude towards nation building. The incoming administration will tackle problems confronting Nigeria–insecurity–with seriousness.

“A great opportunity is presented to us and we can no longer afford to pay lip service to youth development. You have now elected a President who will honour his duty. The youths must also be willing partners with the government in building the nation.”

The chancellor called on the graduates to be good ambassadors of the university and to contribute their quotas to the development of the nation.

MR PRESIDENT WON'T SIGN..

MORE than two years of legislative work, expectations of millions of Nigerians and the new directions of democratic growth that the proposed constitutional amendment would have produced are about to be wasted. President Goodluck Jonathan would not sign the document. It would be difficult to know if his action is based on patriotism or just indecision. Either way, it would hurt the polity for some time.

His arguments for not signing the document, which has been with him for months, include some unclear provisions and the constitutional gaps that some of the proposed amendments could cause. He even claimed there was no proof that two-third of the State Houses of Assembly approved the amendments, as the law requires. (vanguard)

**Osun may stop free feeding of schoolchildren

*FG to N’Assembly: Halt actions on constitution amendment

*CJ sets up panel to investigate Mimiko’s deputy

*Anyim, Timpre Sylva head presidential inauguration committee

*Jonathan orders removal of campaign posters nationwide

*Reps want presidential scholarships stopped

*Bauchi court returns Nyako’s suit to FHC’s CJ

*Suswam backs Akume for Senate President

*NLC holds parallel congresses in Kaduna, Kwara, Edo

*AU organ wants creation of United States of Africa

*SERAP drags S’Africa to International Criminal Court

*Attacks disrespect African brotherhood –Ekweremadu

*Seven Energy supplies gas to Calabar power plant

*DFIs: NCP approves bid opening for transaction advisers

*Reps raise 2015 budget by N134.5bn, pass N4.4tn

*Oil crash: Nigeria may lose N2tn this year

*FAAN stops Arik flights from Abuja

*Mobile phone, computer levy to commence soon

*A’Ibom: We’re not afraid of tribunal, says PDP

*I know nothing about Aba coffins, says Ikpeazu

*APC leaders deny plot to remove Ajomale

*Oil subsidy removal, booby trap for Buhari –Bamidele

*My life is in danger – Abia REC

*Buhari’s victory like MKO’s –Abiola’s daughter

*NFF, Nike sign new kit deal

*NUT writes Buhari, says education sector needs turn-around

*SON inaugurates laboratories to boost exports

*Roadside trading booms as Oyingbo market remains shut

*103 Nigerian products rejected abroad –FG

*Gunmen kill policeman in Benue

*Workers shut down A’Ibom assembly complex

VANGUARD

*Enugu Assembly probes Chime, orders AG to submit account

*Why Nigeria deserves a new deal, Agbakoba writes Buhari

*Imo PDP calls for cancellation of April 11 polls

*Xenophobic attacks: SERAP drags S-Africa to ICC

*Nigeria must build inclusive political, economic institutions —Expert

*Edo Police quiz traditional ruler over police rifle in his bedroom

*Senate President: The contentions and candidates

*Nigeria is structurally defective — Chukwudum

*May 29 handover: Buhari supporters invade Abuja

*Agrofood Fair’ll contribute to food diversity, safety —Martin Maerz

*Govt borrowing distorting the economy – LCCI

*Joke Silva, Kate Henshaw, others gear up for Hear Word!

THIS DAY

*Landmines Force Troops to Retreat from Sambisa as Boko Haram Regroups

*Xenophobia: Nigeria, S'Africa Sign Peace Accord

*Jonathan's Departure Worries Nollywood - .........IF I HEAR!

*Nigerian Mother and Son Unlawfully Deported Return to UK

*Constitution: Allow Supreme Court to Determine Legality of Amendments, FG Tells N’Assembly

*FAAN Grounds Arik Air over N1.2bn Debt

*House Passes N4.493tn Budget

*FG, Buhari Inauguration C'ttees Unfold Hand-over Plans

*NACCIMA Laments Nigeria’s Declining Foreign Reserves

*Fayose, NLC President: Ekiti Impeachment Crisis Blown out of Proportion

*‘Nigeria’s Crude Oil Revenue May Decline by $10bn in 2015’

*Shun Partisanship, APC Warns Acting IG

*Tinubu: APC Govt will Scrap Austerity Policies

*Lagos Confirms Environmental Sanitation for Tomorrow

*Buhari, Mark Meet in Abuja

*Edo, Oyo NLC Hold Parallel Congresses

THE NATION

*Petrol subsidy booby trap for Buhari in Budget 2015

*Troops get mandate to catch Shekau

*Workers slam labour unions for alleged partisanship

*Buhari moves to Defence House

*Bamanga Tukur to PDP: you caused your downfall

*PDP: We’re regrouping to takeover power in 2019

*Falana: Abba’s sack illegal

*DHQ: Boko Haram insurgents ‘ve run out of weapons

*Xenophobia: Nigeria, South Africa, others sign peace accord

*Anyim, Sylva head 27-member presidential inauguration panel

*APC will work hard to end poverty, says Tinubu

*Deputy Editor, Nation’s Capital
NLC holds parallel congresses in states

*IGP briefs Jonathan on supplementary elections

*APC, PDP members-elect seek credible House leadership

*Constitution Amendment: Jonathan asks lawmakers to await Supreme Court ruling

15 comments:

1. Lemme go bck and read!

Av missed sdk blog ssoooooo much

I heard theirs a ph parry!!!!

Am sooooo going!!!

2. #BabatundeRajiFasholaForFCTMinister

3. #BabatundeRajiFasholaForFCTMinister

4. Troops get mandate to catch shekau?i hope so.....NFF sign new Nike deal,nice1...

5. So na Tinubu go dey tell u Bujari's plan now? I love environmental days, thank God it wasn't scraped

6. Fayose is a strong man!
    Nollywood should be worried!
    These boko animals should fear God oo

7. APC! Can't wait! If promises re dis louD, I just dey wonder hw actions go be! Make una noo give us salt, cum draw rain follow us oooooooo!

8. AU organ wants creation of the united states of Africa.....
    Laughing in different dialect in Africa kikikikikikikikikikikikiki

GUESS WHAT I HAD TODAY..... PANCAKES..... yaaay

9. AU organ wants creation of the united states of Africa.....
    Laughing in different dialect in Africa kikikikikikikikikikikikiki

GUESS WHAT I HAD TODAY..... PANCAKES..... yaaay

10. "Mobile phone, computer levy to commence soon" I hope dat levy is not tax? just asking cos i dont really understand d grammer.

11. Tinubu is ruling Nigeria through Buhari,Ekiti apc are still on Fayose case

12. thank God for Fayose. APC mumu should allow him to rest and stop troubling the state.

Tinubu --- Minister of information, since he is the spokesman