Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: EFCC Arrests Desperate Job Seeker Who Forged Okonjo-Iweala's Signature To Get Job In EFCC And TETFUND

Wednesday, May 20, 2015

EFCC Arrests Desperate Job Seeker Who Forged Okonjo-Iweala's Signature To Get Job In EFCC And TETFUND

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission has arrested a job seeker, Azuka Obiejogo for allegedly forging a recommendation letter purportedly from Nigeria’s Finance Minister and the Coordinating Minister of the Economy, Dr. Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala.

It was gathered that Obiejogo, a Higher National Diploma holder from a polytechnic in Anambra State, allegedly forged a reference letter purportedly
from Okonjo-Iweala and presented it to the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, Tertiary Education Trust Fund and the Nigerian Security Printing and Minting Company for employment.

EFCC spokesman, Wilson Uwujaren, said, “Obiejogo is a Higher National Diploma holder. He forged a duly signed reference letter from the Minister of Finance, Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, and along with his curriculum vitae, requested employment in the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, Tertiary Education Trust Fund and the Nigerian Security Printing and Minting Company.”

The suspect was arraigned before Justice Muawiyah Idris of the High Court of the Federal Capital Territory sitting in Gwagwalada, Abuja, on six counts bordering on forgery.

The charges read in part, “That you, Azuka Obiejogo, on or about August 11, 2014, in Abuja, within the jurisdiction of the High Court of the Federal Capital Territory, intentionally induced the Tertiary Education Trust Fund to employ you as Account Officer II by presenting a forged reference letter titled, ‘Reference on Obiejogo Raymond Azuka’, purportedly made by the Honourable Minister of Finance, Dr. Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, recommending you as a worthy officer fit for employment and which act caused harm to the reputation of TETFUND.”

The EFCC stated that the offence was contrary to Section 320(b) and punishable under Section 322 of the Penal Code, CAP 532, Law of the Federal Republic of Nigeria,1990.”

The accused pleaded not guilty to the charge when it was read to him.

In view of his plea, counsel for the EFCC, Halidu Mohammed, urged the court to fix a date to commence trial and to also remand the accused in custody.

His application was opposed by Mohammed who asked the court for time to respond.

Justice Idris adjourned the case till June 2, 2015 for hearing of the bail application and commencement of trial.

He ordered the accused to be remanded in the Kuje Prison.

Source : Punch

63 comments:

1. Poor him, he knows if he doesn't have someone highly placed in govt to reference or endorse him, he wouldn't get a job. That's what Nigeria has degenerated to. Jobs now are given based on who referenced who or your father is or better still GOD'S time. But the guy get mind sha.

2. His jail term no be for here.

3. Gov. Amaechi's Girl20 May 2015 at 14:16

This Juliet Iwuno, hope you have not come to this blog with your "take note" and your other stupid comments. Abi those people done yab you sote you done change base. Jobless girl

2. Busted!!!you think u are smart

1. See what unemployment has caused...
      I think he is a little smart cos he knew that if his referee was "big" he would get the job

2. See what unemployment has caused...
      I think he is a little smart cos he knew that if his referee was "big" he would get the job

3. Dat's how ibo pple behave, dey can do anything to achieve their desire. Dey don't av morals. Come and see dem all over the island sleeping with whoever is in charge for a job. Deres one dat even offered his wife to his boss so he can be promoted. Dey are too greedy.

4. The guy committed no offense to me.cos those bastards make it difficult to get jobs in Nigeria. They ask for feferral from the ogas at the top. Its either u pay money or u know the Oga at the top. He don give them letter Na from German JUICE

5. Ewu ugwu @anonymous 10:25, u need a brain check.

6. Anon, just shut Ur trap. I've been watching u tribalistic fools closely. The day it was posted that an Igbo lady won best graduating student in one foreign university like dat, no one said it was an IBO thing, the day it was posted that about four Nigerians, majority being ibos, won house of parliamentary or something like that in d uk, no one said it was an IBO thing but a Nigerian thing. Now its bad news and its an ibo thing. Foolish people just full dis blog. Mtsheeew

7. Anon.. Ara chagbu kwa GI..ewu

8. Who be this waste of space calling out igbos, abeg just respect ur worthless self. Am sure ur head must be filled with sand

9. Anony 10.25

Lawrence nomayagbon Anini was Igbo yeah?

Shina Rambo the armed robber was Igbo?

The OLX Orekoya Kidnap by Mary Akinloye was Igbo too (she was NOT too greedy? Lol)

Dr.Oyenusi the greatest Nigerian armed robber ever and His best friend Kayode Williams were Igbo?

Tafa Balogun who was "greedy" and jailed for stealing state funds was Igbo?

Inspector George Iyamu was Igbo?

Monday Isunbor was Igbo?

Obidiozor Otokokoto , Derico are definetly Igbo

My point ? Crime has a human face not a tribal face . There's a mix of Edo,Yoruba and Igbo folks "without morals" that did "anything to achieve" their desire!!!! They were ALL too greedy

STOP THAT ROUGH PLAY MY FRIEND!!!!

10. Eka joy on point

11. Gov. Amaechi's Girl20 May 2015 at 14:18

Na so ibos sabi do. Anon they will eat you up cause they'll hate you for knowing so much truth about the lifestyle of their people.

12. Gov. Amaechi's Girl20 May 2015 at 14:18

Na so ibos sabi do. Anon they will eat you up cause they'll hate you for knowing so much truth about the lifestyle of their people.

13. Why are you guys giving this tribalistic bigot attention? Oh and idiot I'm yoruba by the way. This guy shouldn't have to go to jail for this. Suspended sentence and community work is enough.

3. A very sharp man

4. He should have joined the trekkers na.
    Is it not better than Forgery that will land him in jail?

5. Lmfao chai I don't know y did is funny to mio,, see were he dey request for job....do d crime and face d time.

6. Da fuqq was this guy thinking?

Dang it! This is a lame a55 move mehn..

7. Nawa,d man has mindooooo.anyway he has to provide for his family. WAt a petty

8. I beg, they should leave the man alone jor. so what if he forged okonjo iweala's signature, just to get a job? He didnt forge it to defraud anyone, all he wanted was a job. In a country where you have to know somebody that knows somebody that knows somebody before you can get a job, what do you expect? Some of us have graduated since 10 years, and still searching for jobs. I swear, i can treck from lagos to abuja, on a one man protest to challenge the prosecution of this man. Lol. They should free the guy and go after people committing greater crimes.

1. Exactly,Nigeria is just a mess I tell u. EFCC busy chasing shadows meanwhile they wine n dine with the main rouges. Hypocrisy @ it's highest.

9. Replies
    1. The length people go but then again, don't blame him, blame the System. My country operates a man know know kind of system....so sad!

10. I beg, they should leave the man alone jor. so what if he forged okonjo iweala's signature, just to get a job? He didnt forge it to defraud anyone, all he wanted was a job. In a country where you have to know somebody that knows somebody that knows somebody before you can get a job, what do you expect? Some of us have graduated since 10 years, and still searching for jobs. I swear, i can treck from lagos to abuja, on a one man protest to challenge the prosecution of this man. Lol. They should free the guy and go after people committing greater crimes.

11. Make them pity the guy.At least he want to work legally if they had employed him.His own beta pass kidnappers and armed robbers them.

12. Height of desperation. SMH

13. I'm thinking perhaps this man paid money to obtain that recommendation letter from a source thinking its authentic.
    Because I can't wrap my head around the stupidity that will make him submit a forged letter to these 2places.....EFCC and Printing and Minting. Both places where security is real tight thus confirmation of all documents are fully followed.

14. I don't blame him though
    This is what our govt has reduced us to
    Joblessness is now the order of the day
    No connection, no job

15. Looks like Okonjo brother self.

when no work, devil will just give them work kia kia to do

16. Ehya.... This country is enough to frustrate someone

17. What in his life was he really thinking? Stupidity.

18. Of course unemployment and the devil take the blame

19. He needed the job.... smartass! too bad he got caught.

Brownsugardee

20. The guy smart but he should not have applied to EFCC.

Chai. I pity him o.

21. Lol! The irony of his actions though..
    Forging a letter to get employment to fight crime and corruption. He must be very smart or very dumb.

1. Better than you that sit here all day long looking for who to fleece.

2. Lmao@ Jojo. Nice 1

**Adaorah**

22. Sharp guy! Lol

What will a jobless dude do?

Good he was caught sha, Kuje prison welcomes another member.

23. They Shud Let the guy Go Abeg, him thief? How Many Jobs FG don provide?

24. The speed with which he was remanded in Kuje prison though. i'm sure and its possible they did try to give him the job seeing it was a supposed order from above. Who will blame the desperate man entirely? I mean thats the only way one can get job in this country. "Who know man" syndrome. They should tamper justice with mercy and pursue "real" criminals, they abound especially in the same government. And if govt did create enabling opportunities, people wouldn't need to go to this lenght

25. So much guts to even apply to EFCC, I mean who does that? Common use of his gumption would have told him verification would come.

He just got served.

26. STELLA WHERE ARE THE PH PARTY PICS NA??? HABA!

27. abeg people in the highly placed jobs have done worse..1 shady signing or forgery after another..at leaste he did it to put food on his table not steal. i wonder how legit 1 can get in dis wicked country we live in bikonu. u just cant please world people. he needed the job badly. make dem temper justice wiv mercy ka

28. What the dude did is so wrong but will you blame him, when you need to know someone who knows someone etc that is influential to get a good job irrespective of your qualification. Unemployment is really turning some graduates into glorified thieves. God dey.

29. It's a criminal act, I agree and its punishable but they should pity him

30. What makes y'all think someone didn't scam him by forging dat signature for him claiming it was ngozi. Make we think abeg. It could be what happened.

1. And do, it's still forgery.

**Adaorah**

31. Where he get dis kain mumu sense sef?

32. Heavyweight politicians are stealing billions and trillions of the country's money but they are untouchable. It is this poor fellow looking for how to survive that the almighty law enforcement can crush with a sledge hammer. S.H.A.M.E!!

33. twas a brave move tho. cos if he hadn't been caught,it wld have changed his level big time,but unfortunately he has to face d music.What a pity!

34. See d place wey e even go dey look 4 d wrk sef,I no blame am sha,but den wat is wrong is wrong.

35. You guys causing out this guy should just shut your trap,this guy paid some one to help him get the letter,most people pay lots of people this days to get government job,I was asked to pay 500 hundred k to get a job of 10k, but thank God I refused to pay,and today I have a better job worth more than that without paying a dime,God is faithful people should pray and allow God to perfect his plans in your life,let me see any body that will come here and talk trash, and the tribalism, keep talking rubbish ,that is why we can't move forward as a nation.

36. You guys causing out this guy should just shut your trap,this guy paid some one to help him get the letter,most people pay lots of money to people this days to get government job,I was asked to pay 500 hundred k to get a job of 120k, but thank God I refused to pay,and today I have a better job worth more than that without paying a dime,God is faithful people should pray and allow God to perfect his plans in their life,let me see any body that will come here and talk trash, and the tribalist, keep talking rubbish ,that is why we can't move forward as a nation.

37. they should be thanking God he didnt use it to loot money, he merely used it to secure a future for his self,
    ... @Bleble, wats wrong is wrong, mind u the system is also wrong
    ... So legality in an illegal environment is illegal

38. Nigeria, which way foward??