Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Community Where Nine Out Of Every 10 Villagers Have Appendicitis

Saturday, August 08, 2015

Community Where Nine Out Of Every 10 Villagers Have Appendicitis

Appendicitis isn't  a contagious disease, so what could be the reason for a situation where almost nine, out of 10 persons, in a particular community have undergone surgery as a result of the illness?

As unbelievable as it sounds, this is the reality of the people of Agu-Amede, a rural community in the Isiuzo Local Government Area of Enugu State, an unbelievable discovery by Punch correspondents when they visited the area.

According to their findings, bad roads, lack of potable water, poor power supply, and clustered habitations signals the level of deprivation in  community with little or no government presence could be the reason.

Just as soon as the correspondents brought the issue of appendicitis up, nine out of them exclaimed they had had the operation!

In fact, many among the youths, whose average age was about 35 years, also said they had undergone surgery for hernia. Some of them said they had had surgery for hernia on multiple occasions.

The youths informed the correspondents that appendicitis and hernia were common among members of the community. They disclosed that several persons have died as a result of the matter.

However, while  it was beyond doubt that appendicitis was prevalent in the community, the cause of the high rate of the ailment among the population was not certain in any case.

Those who spoke with the correspondent could not agree on a particular reason for the situation, but from the various responses, it could be deduced that the villagers mostly blamed their travails on bad drinking water, hardship, hard work and farming. Interestingly, some of them also seemed suspicious of the medical practitioners.

-Punch reportage but re-written here

Na wah oooh!!

25 comments:

1. Probe the doctors.

How can that be possible. They are milking them

1. Could there be something predisposing them to it? Or the Docs taking advantage of their ignorance?

If research is carried out, something interesting could be discovered.

Need a yummy Birthday/Wedding cake in Abuja? Home / office delivery. Also send a gift of cake to your loved one in Abuja.Pls click on my ID to see pics and my contact details.

2. Conspiracy theory!
      Something is going on there,if it is not in their water,food... those doctors should be probed!

A doctor in the UK or so was busy "diagnosing" his patients of cancer,he was giving them drugs for cancer,taking them through the rigors of chemo and bleeding them dry!!! None of them had cancer! Smh

2. Thats bad...they need help asap...

3. This has always been the weyo doctors play in the east from time immemorial. Just complain about stomach ache, your appendix is gone.

1. Anon u just spoke my mind . Nawa.....

2. Probably Some one or group is taking advantage of them.

4. Poor water supply and lack of portable water in itself is a precipitating factor.

When there's inflammation or blockage,appendicitis result.

U dnt need science to tell u water filled wv all kinds of dirt or feaces could trigger and inflammatory reaction or calcification causing blockage.
    So there u have it!!!

As for them having hernia,ITs SIMPLE!!! One of the predisposing factors for hernia,inguinal hernia to precise is a previous APPENDECTOMY.

See how the writter be writting/whining as if he:she has discovered something new or a rocket science theory mtcheeeeew.

5. Appendix!!! God please help your people.

6. Me sef I suspect the medical practitioners. Trying to rip the poor illiterates off by diagnosing appendicitis at the slightest complaints of a tummy ache.
    They most likely just have typhoid from the dirty water and food. Every1 knows that stomach ache is a symptom of typhoid..
    Very suspicious..

7. They should go for cleansing. .....their forefathers committed an abomination.

8. The Gov must/should hear/see this...

9. Nigerian killed, divide Nigeria and leave every clan to be responsible of their destiny

10. Nigerian killed, divide Nigeria and leave every clan to be responsible of their destiny

11. Nigerian killed, divide Nigeria and leave every clan to be responsible of their destiny

12. The doctors are ripping them off. Nonsense!

13. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
    Am not sure somebody is telling them about their sickness though....