Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Ribadu Says Many Nigerian Investments Are Done With Dirty Money

Thursday, August 20, 2015

Ribadu Says Many Nigerian Investments Are Done With Dirty Money

Speaking in Abuja on wednesday at the 2nd Anti-money laundering/combating financial terrorism stakeholders’ consultative workshop organised by the Association of Certified Anti-Money Laundering Specialist, former Chairman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, Mr. Nuhu Ribadu, alleged that a lot of investments being done in the country were from funds earned through illegal activities.

He also identified illicit financial activities such as terrorism financing and money laundering as a major challenge affecting the country’s quest for development.

He said Nigeria had yet to maximise its potential owing to terrorism financing and other money laundering activities, noting that the trend was making the country to lose huge funds.

He said. “Everything that is wrong about Nigeria has to do with dirty money. If you can follow it, get it back and punish these people, then you have cured the problem of Nigeria.

“When I look around, I see a lot of investments done with dirty money. Government needs help in identifying and arresting these people. Though it may seem like a daunting task, with professionals like ACAMS, Nigeria is poised to achieve this.”

Ribadu said there was a need for collaboration between relevant stakeholders to fight money laundering and curb terrorism financing.

-Punch

Hmmmm!!!

23 comments:

1. Abeg he should go and sit down.
    Dirty monies indeed,as if he isn't frail of corruption himself.
    He should start by refunding those in his possession.

All these politicians are thieves claiming to be saints.
    Collect bk dirty money and bla bla bla...oga ribadu be d exceptional one and let d change start from u instead of just talking trash

2. They should remove Lamorde. That man with his kpomo mouth. Ribadu is the right man for the job. at least he tried when he was the chairman of EFCC.

3. We know Mr Nuhu.
    What if they start from collecting back the Half of the land and houses in Jimeta in Yola that your family acquired down to Ganye to Numan.
    Popsie was in NNPC Yola for some time. I got the Ribadu gists. Plus the bridging gists. Hahahaha.

You are a beneficiary of the ill acquisitions. So
    Easy man. Easy.

4. Old news.And you no holy pass so mechionu there

5. To second his fact, I will say 98% indeed.

6. Including His business!

7. Stewie Gilligan Griffin20 August 2015 at 09:57

Now who woulda thunk it.

8. Hmm! Hope his investments and everything he has was done with his salary?

9. Anything to be in the news sha..

Dirty money my ass!!

10. Who cares!
    As if his hands are clean...
    All this mallam with wide mouth!

11. EXACTLY!!!!! I was watching a documentary on the History of Nigeria with some friends, all i could see from that video was that Nigeria's problem did't start today. Even the creation of Nigeria itself was a highly politicized smtn built on greed and selfishness. and that's why there war cos of power tussle. Most investments in the country are done with dirty money bcos we live in a society where source of wealth is not questioned. That's why the corruption has caused a serious decay in the economy. poor pple are jailed for stealing #10 , and same law enforcement pple will bow down to political thieves, singing their praises, and all nonsense.We can only keep patching it, we cannot have a corruption-free Nigeria. the foundation is a filthy one.

12. All these too much talk without action,is worse than corruption o.

Kini big deal?

13. All these politicians pointing fingers, are they thrmselves free?

Glowyshoe blog

14. One man I love so much despite his defection to PDP. He wuda bin an asset if he remaind wit APC.

15. ...and that's why most investments collapsed.

Charity begins at home sha.

16. A perfect example is " THE FIRST GROUP" this group is a perfect example for money laundering in Nigeria, the monies used for these investment are
    highly dirty, imagine buying a hotel room in Dubai for over thirty million naira with no title deeds, no return on investment, no proven record that you have a property, only receipt payments. Yet none of these investors can't cry out because the monies used is dirty. Nigeria government must drive those people out of Nigeria to curb money laundering.

17. Mr Riri, why don't you start by refunding the ill acquisitions in your possession. All of una na the same, those not in power will be screaming 'trail and collect all the monies in the hands of those who stole' whereas they've once lived in a glass house and should mind how they haul stones.

18. We know before na, 90% of rich men in Nigeria are stolen money.

19. I need money!!!

Aeegurl...

20. This bloody fool should go and drown himself. He has lost the respect of the public.