Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigeria's Historical Throw Back Lane -4

Saturday, June 25, 2016

Nigeria's Historical Throw Back Lane -4

Take a walk down Nigeria's memory lane and see where the path might lead you....

*Flashback*
You be 419!!!

Adedeji Alumile (a.k.a Ade Bendel)1966 – present 

Ade Bendel was born in Ibadan Oyo State. His parents were from Hiveeie, Owan Local Government of present day Edo State. He was nicknamed Ade Bendel  in his young days, for his habit of always trying to remind anyone who mistook him for being Yoruba that he was from the old Bendel State.

He dropped out of primary school early and was reputed to have always been interested in making money.  He left Ibadan for Lagos in the early eighties, and by 1991 – 1992 he had emerged as a power player in the Lagos social circle.

Reputed to be a very flamboyant, stylish, urbane and suave, he made sure to consume and offer only top of the range wines, spirits and cognac in private, as well as in events and occasions. He drove some of the most expensive automobile of that era, and had a particular weakness for British icons, like the Jaguar and Rolls Royce, He was also a power dresser  always turning up in Armani & Savile Row tailored Suits, matched  with handmade oxford shoes. He loved the limelight and never ceased to put on a show. Always hanging out with the likes of Maurice Ibekwe, Toyin Igbira, Shina One One , Osaro Onaiwu (The Earl) etc.

By 1995 he was arrested by NDLEA who were clamping down on drug barons and peddlers, and was released when they discovered that he did not do drugs but was deeply involved in advanced fee fraud. He will later drop off the radar and later remerged in 1997 when he was arrested for defrauding a business man, he was briefly detained and let loose again. 

Ade was emboldened as the days went by and continued in his illicit enterprise, he was notorious for giving bribes to all and sundry that it was said that when he was set to scam a victim he always set out a percentage for bribes in case he was caught. (He was alleged to have personally delivered 15million Naira to then Inspector General of Police Tafa Balogun and his case file disappeared from the archives of the Nigerian Police) .

In 1998 he duped two Delta State indigenes of 11million and 250million Naira respectively and while they were trying to get a hold on him, he perfected and executed what would be one of his most audacious and daring scams, when he duped a retired army general : Abba Kyari a former governor of the old North Central State of a whopping  500million naira in 1999. 

Abbah could not believe it, Ade went to town bought cars, houses and closed down parties. Musicians sang his praises to high heavens and entertainers went out and out to impress him, he was arrested and as usual released without returning a dime to the victim. He also succeeded in liquidating a popular Sheikh, Abdul Jabar Balogun of  70million naira and 15cars while trying to help him buy a ship, The Sheikh lost his entire savings and his calling, quietly going into oblivion.
By the turn of the millennium Ade had disappeared and remerged after duping a retired Egyptian General, Abdel Azim Attia of a total of  $605,500 on a hoax agricultural business. The General wrote to the Nigerian government and Ade Bendel was arrested in 2003 by the EFCC.

While that case was ongoing he was arraigned separately for defrauding  Hendrick Iniqi Cima a German national, of a total sum of  $1, 698, 380 in return for a fictitious contract.
In 2008 upon his release he told the world of his desire for restitution and the idea that in prison he had found salvation. He held a press conference to intimate the world of his changed status (during which singer Dbanj reportedly broke down weeping).
In 2013 his name was mentioned during the hearing on a case, in a high stakes web of carefully planned and orchestrated tale of advanced fee fraud. 

This time it was with another patriarch of the game Fred Ajudua, and a court registrar. This they carried out while still held in Kirikiri Maximum Security Prison between 2004 and 2005, they succeeded in defrauding former Chief of Army Staff, Ishaya Bamaiyi $8.395million, (Held in the same prison on allegations of masterminding the killing of Alex Ibru, during the Abacha years) .

In the same year the EFCC declared him wanted for his plan, involvement and execution of an elaborate scam and conspiracy in obtaining the sum of $7,855,500 and 3million Naira respectively, while he was held in Kirikiri maximum prison, Nuhu Ribadu could not hide his frustration on how and through which means he continued his activities even behind bars. 

Ade Bendel remains at large.

Sources : 
thepremimtimesng.com March 12, 2014
thestreetjournal.org  June 3, 2013
naijarchives.com October 19, 2015
newswatchtimesng.com April 27, 2015
Picture credits : Online

62 comments:

1. Pls stella don't spoil my village name o, it is not hiveeie, it is ihievbe, for de record o.

Tanks

2. My mum had always told me about this Fred Ajudua guy. Choi! Baddos

3. Ah this man's story cannot be summarized. In his days the Ikeja axis knew there was a don in town. He was liked by many, a free giver, abi he gave hope to the runz babes. He was the notorious Kenny Duyile's and bayo's man too.. Godwin Anabor and co.. They had a cartel that no one could de-emphasize. He had a huge white house off Allen avenue where all went down. The story no be here.

2. "Owan east local government"

Na only party and women him and he crew use their money for.

1. When 419 was 419. Na brain them take dey operate then unlike our yahoo boys now.

2. Madam don't even go there, we are well responsible people, nd am proud am from der, so don't come here as eve ur own tribe is better off.

3. Anonymous, did i say anything bad about the tribe? That's my LG so shut it

4. The way some of you react to minor things on this blog sha. Did she even say anything bad? From what i can see, Stella wrote owan local government and she wrote owan east. It means shes correcting Stella.

So anon, you don't know lafresh is from edo? She might even be from same local govt.

5. @swag lafresh don't get me wrong, am from der.anno19.15 she said all we know is party nd woman which I find offensive.

3. Hahahahahaha what an interesting character: ade bendel!

1. AS in ehhhhh, I like him already. Lemme visit google and read more about him.

My Man crush Saturday "MCS"

4. chaai.what?i dont blieve this.only one man.ooboy juju alert

5. Mehnnnn see all these monies!! And he was never satisfied!! I doubt I can see such money in my lifetime (lollll!) so I have to work hard some more so my generations can enjoy legal money, so help me God.

6. Chaiiiiiii ibo guys dey learn work for where dis guy dey

1. Sorry for u too sweetie
      And don't tribalise my comment
      It's a mere statement
      I don't care how u see it

7. Wow!!! This man deserves an award in fraud, I like him already

8. Na wa oooo!!

This kind fraud eehh..oriegwu!!

Anything for kudi...

@MARTINS ABOY

9. Na wa!
    So yahoo has been in existence all along... hmmm

10. Na wa ooo Linda, why you come dey open this man chapter wey don go into hiding since!

11. Wow takes me back memory lane! I was doing my NYSC in Owan LGA in 1999 when Ade came to bury I think his grand father,boy I have never seen that number of exotic cars packed in one location at a time. He brought in top musicians from Lagos and at a time they started spraying dollars that would go down memory as one of the biggest display of wealth I had seen, I remember his aide osaro onaiwu running all over the place, I think he was a PA or so, Owan '99. Trust me this dude made stealing look posh

1. You no even know name of lga wey you serve sef

2. @steve hope u enjoy ur stay in my place, bcos we are lovely people.

3. SWAG LAFRESH because he didn't add "east" ur amebo is silly

4. Anon you dwg protect this lg well. For your info, I'm a daughter of the soil. Proper owan east girl.

5. Do u mean Osaro Onaiwu the DG of PDP governors forum? He is a 419ner?

12. Na wa ooo Aunty Stella*

13. They should hire him to teach in Nigerian universities, he is a genius!

14. My father's company went to his house in VGC to plant flowers in the 90s, my papa come back no gree sleep for 1week.Na so e dey read newspapers and magazines dey find work

15. Wow , he must have been so smart .he could have very well been the Nigerian 'mark zuckerberg' had he put his sharp brains to good use . Rather unfortunate

16. Nigeria police and prisons this is a shame to you! How can an individual carry out these things even while he was locked up??? Is this not sad for this country?? prison officials working as assistants and errand boys, president buhari abeg see work wey you go do : sanitizing the system first

17. This guy should found a course already. Something like "The Art of Fraud."
    Wow! One person just chopping people left, right and center.
    I hail o.

18. Ade Bendel and them Tony Kabaka with the other guys always pulling crowd in edo state.

19. So many people that get duped are greedy themselves. Always looking to enrich what they already have, and in d process get duped.
    Which biz oyinbo dey come look for in naija.
    If I have N1b today, believe me I ain't looking for any contract.
    I will first build block of flats in lekki, be getting my rents from those one first.
    I will then take a bulk of the money invest it in the business I am already doing. Take care of my self and my family. Buy the property I will be living comfortably.
    I will invest sum money, buy commercial papers and fix the rest of the money in fixed deposits and be earning the interest.
    Who has the time to carry d money and say I'm looking for contract that smone wld dupe me or tell me bcos I got the contract thru him and I will share 50/50.

1. How much you think 1billion Is. By the time you buy land build those blocks of flats money don finish

20. Baddo.....hehehehehe

21. I remember our sex on the beach with guy . Chei ade ade ,how many times I call you. Sweet Jesus one of my best .

22. I remember our sex on the beach with guy . Chei ade ade ,how many times I call you. Sweet Jesus one of my best .

23. I fear this man fraud. Choiiiiiiiii!!!!! These are the real 419'nrs. But na wa oooio, how did d ppl he defrauded cope? The money is just too much... oga come and tutor me, cos this your own na art abi skill...

24. A very generous guy I must say ,very kind. With goddy bendel now turned junkie extraordinaire, not to mention bayo and Kenny , Chris sogunro and co . These guys used to spray fifty pound notes in parties , no guy man now can beat me these ones now cash wise those days .not to mention the ibo otokoto ones .

1. Goddy Anabor. His sister was in my elder sister's class then. When he show hostel na to display cash like say tomorrow no dey. My sister go xome gist us during hols.

They made good money then sha.

2. You know this... I heard their gist tire.

25. Very nice guy too. Almost saintly in his mien. Maybe that's why he was able to get away with so much

26. This story won't have been complete without Fred Adidua.

Kedu maka Fred Adidua, Ndi ogiriga nwere na nwa. *In Oliver de Coque's voice*

Kai!!! See the Generals and how much was scammed off them,this Corruption no start today.

27. Better for them. Thief thief am, arm robber carry am

28. Ade bendel and fred ajudua remain nigerias baddest guys ever,chai,these guys are legends.

29. You forgot or you don't know of a brazilian man he dupped till the man committed suicide by jumping in an ocean and ade bendel not minding that still continuing dupping the late man's wife.

30. Wow, spell bound read from the beginning to the end. Ade Bendel l wonder where he is now??...

31. Abba kyari? The same man in buhari's cabinet? Issorai