Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Minister Says Price Of Rice Could Hit N40,000 in December

Sunday, September 11, 2016

Minister Says Price Of Rice Could Hit N40,000 in December

As the President Muhammadu Buhari administration continues to fight the current recession in Nigeria, Senator Heineken Lokpobiri, the country’s agriculture and rural development minister, has warned that the price of a bag of rice could rise to N40, 000 by December, 2016. 

The minister said except Nigeria was serious with local production of various commodities, it would be difficult to get out of the current economic doldrums.

According to Lokpobiri, who spoke in Yenagoa, the Bayelsa state capital, Nigeria currently spends up to $22 billion a year on importation of food. He also expressed concerns about the projection that by 2050, the population of the country would rise to 450 million. 

He wondered how the country could cope with feeding such massive number of citizens if it does not get serious now. 

The minister said while states in the Niger Delta are still lagging behind in the agricultural revolution, Kebbi, Jigawa, Kano, Lagos, Ebonyi, and Anambra, have made agriculture a priority. 

Illustrating further, he said Anambra state was not owing salary despite not being among one of the oil-producing states in the country. 

As reported by the Punch, Lokpobiri said: “For your information, we spend about $22 billion a year importing food into Nigeria. We know how many more dollars … and that is why you see the price of rice going up. 

“Price of rice was N12,000 some months ago, but it is now about N26,000 and if we don’t start producing, by December it could be N40,000. “Rice matures in three months. So, this is a wake up call for Bayelsa people to take the four farms we have seriously.

“The federal government has four farms in the state in our records. The average land you see in Bayelsa can grow rice, so the colonial masters were not wrong in their assessment when they said Niger Delta could feed not only Nigeria but the entire West Africa sub-region. 

“Unfortunately, agriculture till today, is not a priority of the Niger Delta as far as the state governments are concerned because of oil.” 

Though rice is among the commodities whose import is being frustrated by the government, there are reports that bags are still being smuggled into the country through its various porous boarders.

50 comments:

1. No matter the economy of the jungle, the lion can never eat grass.

1. Na just to dey drink akamu(pap) everyday na!!! Cos recession never too affect that side..

Man shall not live by Rice alone..Aga eme uwaa gini??

@MARTINS ABOY

2. We are rich in nature yet we suffer those things we can produce. Just too bad. Something should be done about the bag of rice issue.

3. Too much negativity.. our leaders be making life difficult and they are happy and mocking the citizens. What rubbish is he saying? See Ajimobi childre making video and laughing and people suffering cuz of their father's wickedness. Na wa ooo

2. We need to encourage our local rice farmers. I mean, we produce healthy grains, from abakaliki to cross river. We are blessed with this.

1. Lord help ur children ooh..my wedding is in February.. How many bags of rice will someone buy dat will be enough now..hian..

2. Thank God say I don join d keto(lchf)life style. Rice and anything carbs bye bye.

3. Cook beans jor.

3. Where are the sai Buhari people? They should come and praise their hero

1. This is really affecting my business, buhari rice mbidiro rewe before iburu president ka ibiara icrumble? Chukwu kpokwa gi okwu!

2. If you weren't dumb,you would know this isn't about Buhari. Extreme hunger is about to start in your country, you are calling Buhari. Look,even if it's one bag of rice in the entire country, the first family will get it.That's the way it is.

3. End time idiot

4. Buhari came n sufferness follow.

4. Ohhhhh no
    I Think the best way to get out of this is to invest greatly in Agriculture
    South Western Nigeria has vast and rich land
    I Wonder why most of them don't farm
    Just my observation though

1. If only the government can just make the provision to give any farmer willing to embark on Agriculture all the help he/she needs;and that includes land and machineries specifically,I would have applied a long time ago..afterall,that is what I am studying in school here and I whole-heartedly applied for this course..

But No,they are all busy wasting their time on "Oil" which can't even provide 50% of the nation's need...

Many abled young men/women are ready to go into farming;but where are the resources??

Many advanced country are already on precision agriculture,and we are still here struggling with hoes and matchet..is that the way forward??

I am tired of talking jare!! If the government really wanna help the people/economy,let them invest in Agriculture..because PEOPLE MUST EAT whether there is money or not!!

@MARTINS ABOY

5. Wait o! Rice has been imported and there was no crappy wahala. Why now with buhari???? Cant he see his plan ain't working and he needs to restratigize. Gpa abeg wake up from your sleep, we all know even if bag of rice becomes 100k you wont care coz you ll eat your meals.
    Or better still power the farmers with recovered loots so far, lets see how it goes.

6. Pls I hope my bank is reading this...they should better buy now in advance for our December packages. I no wan hear excuses

7. It is well, hope it's not a false alarm though. This year Xmas no go sweet

8. Replies
    1. It is even good, it will help some of us eat less rice. My love for rice though.

9. Na CHANGE we dey nah? Where are d ppl dat voted for change, abeg make Una show cilos shoki don land.

1. Dem de sleep.. Dem no fit talk again...foolish people

10. God will provide even in the harshest(if there is anything like that) economy in Jesus Name, Amen

11. Clueless Failed government. Shame on "Ruhari"

12. Clueless Failed government. Shame on "Buharia"

13. If rice like make it be 50,000. I go buy it. Am not operating Vuhari economy. It is God economy I am operating. So thank you Jesus for seeing your children

1. I was on the look out for your pin/number on the S&M post..
      Can we mingle?😊

2. Bless @Jeje. Go and do something , they won't but keep expecting to receive as if the person giving is not working.

14. This isn't good at all.I might afford it but I really feel for those that can't. God help us all.

15. Control population now. Make policies that'll cushion this madness effect and if you are so clueless, resign. Why una wan die there until they stone you?

16. Na God go punish Buhari and his people. Rubbish!

17. This government is dead on arrival.

18. Minster please remember that the immediate trigger that ignited the French Revolution was the price of bread. You guys should keep pushing the masses. One day soon you will realise that you pushed too hard. Hope it won't be too late.

19. I dont understand this government at all. You people should remember that 2019 is approaching. Its becoming very easy for PDP, they dont need to campaign that much because you peope are already campaining for them

20. James and some of you, I have arrived at the sad conclusion that you are really dumb and it is pointless explaining anything to you as your minds are already set.

So even the economic explanation that was given didn't make any sense to you? My goodness!!!!!

A mind is like a parachute really. It can't fly when closed.

21. Lord have mercy on your children, do not let us die in hunger

22. Hahaha senior people, how are you. How many oyoyo u don get for SandM. Tell me before we talk

23. Doomsday speakers,make una wait for 2019 to come campaign again,morons in power.

24. Yoruba how market?